08/23 Jack AMPS 109 PMPS 117

Rubyslens

Member Since 2021
So I'm thinking my cat might be in remission. Since he was diagnosed a few months ago and started Lantus and we changed his diet, he's regained all the weight he lost. His AMPS was 109 but he didn't have his usual appetite so the vet said don't dose him. He ate like normal tonight and his PMPS is 117. I'm thinking maybe I shouldn't give the PM shot and call the vet again tomorrow? I certainly don't want to send him into hypo conditions. He has an appointment on Friday for a fructosamine test and check-up. He only gets 1u twice/day.

Sorry the chart is only today's info plus the May curve. I only recently got the meter and test strips. When we did a glucose curve a few weeks into Lantus treatment, his numbers were all around 200-250. His diabetes diagnosis was steroid induced (lifelong asthma).
 
Do you have any test results for the last week or two? We don’t go from 1.0 to no insulin. We would reduce in .25 increments if the bg is under 68 on an AT if following TR or 90 if following SLGS. To go off insulin we like the cat to have bg under 100.
 
Do you have any test results for the last week or two? We don’t go from 1.0 to no insulin. We would reduce in .25 increments if the bg is under 68 on an AT if following TR or 90 if following SLGS. To go off insulin we like the cat to have bg under 100.

Ok, thanks. I gave him his PM dose and will keep up the regimen and get more testing numbers this week before the vet visit.
 
On the forum we decided doses based on how low the insulin gets our kitties, i would suggest if you could test +1 and +2 to see how Jack is doing. The +1 usually will be a food bump but considering the low AMPS we would like to see where are they headed. The +2 is an indication of if this cycle will be an active or bounce one. If active we decide how to test based on that value.

Do you think it would be possible for you to test more often?
When we test our kitties at home a fructosamine test is not very useful, actually it is only useful when diagnosing diabetes otherwise it will not tell you how low or how high the cat gets during each cycle but only tell you an average value which can seem normal but might as well mask extremely low values “compensated” by higher values.
Jack seems to be doing very well, nonetheless i would advise to not take him off insulin immediately, but gradually and make sure to keep him safe by testing.
Good luck in your FD path :bighug:
 
We would appreciate it if you would change the subject title as required in the Posting Guidelines. Every time you post, it should follow these guidelines. We have a lot of kitties here and that is how we best track them. Thank you.
 
We would appreciate it if you would change the subject title as required in the Posting Guidelines. Every time you post, it should follow these guidelines. We have a lot of kitties here and that is how we best track them. Thank you.
Ok, I think I fixed it. He's in remission now, so if I need to delete this I can.
 
Back
Top