Glucose Has Big Fluctuations

Mojo the Terrible’s Mom

Member Since 2024
I was wonder if an admin could give me some advice on my Lantus dosage for Mojo. My vet recently lowered him to .75s, but I’m still seeing big fluctuations. I feel like maybe I should cut back a tiny bit? My vet isn’t very supportive and I had to call several times before I’ll get any kind of response, and they try to avoid bringing Mojo in because he is extremely fractious. I appreciate any help you can give me.

Mojo’s BG Spreadsheet (Libre 3)
 
Here’s your last post I could find for continuity.
Should I Skip?
Your signature says you are following SLGS. Is that still the case? If so you need to reduce the following cycle if the bg is under 90. I have t yet read through the thread but your cat is definitely bouncing from being n bg lower than used to. I’ll read now
 
I was wonder if an admin could give me some advice on my Lantus dosage for Mojo. My vet recently lowered him to .75s, but I’m still seeing big fluctuations. I feel like maybe I should cut back a tiny bit? My vet isn’t very supportive and I had to call several times before I’ll get any kind of response, and they try to avoid bringing Mojo in because he is extremely fractious. I appreciate any help you can give me.

Mojo’s BG Spreadsheet (Libre 3)
While you're waiting for a more experienced person to drop by, I'll post the guidelines for dosing increases/decreases under SLGS: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Notice that dose reduction is earned on SLGS anytime your kitty falls below 90. Here is the excerpt from the above-linked sticky:


Screenshot 2025-11-28 at 2.13.17 PM.png
 
He’s earned a reduction to .50.
Thank you! Yes, I’m still following SLGS. I really wanted to try Tight Regulation, but it still was confusing to me even after my discussion on here and I was afraid I would hurt my cat.
I will reduce to .50 like you recommended.

What’s interesting is as soon as I started a new bottle of Lantus his numbers got much better. ???
 
It can be confusing but many post daily updates and ask for help. That’s what I did! How old was your bottle? I had 2 that lasted about 5-6 months and then switched to pens that lasted until the last drop because there’s less in each pen so less time to go bad before using it up. I threw away over half of each bottle.
 
It can be confusing but many post daily updates and ask for help. That’s what I did! How old was your bottle? I had 2 that lasted about 5-6 months and then switched to pens that lasted until the last drop because there’s less in each pen so less time to go bad before using it up. I threw away over half of each bottle.
My bottle was five months old. I marked in my calendar to change at four months instead.
 
Back
Top