Glucose goal

Status
Not open for further replies.

CAROLYN K

Member Since 2020
When Milo was diagnosed as diabetic, I was never given a goal glucose. With 120 being the high normal, is that what I should working toward? He started out in the 400's but we are down to the 230-250 range. Has anyone been given goals?
 
Here are the different regulation definitions copied from the general information post:
  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin
I have also found the pet diabetes fandom site useful for this because they have a nice table.

Sounds like Milo is getting regulated! Congrats :cat:
 
Also, your current goal BG levels will depend on the insulin type, the dosing protocol you are using, and how long you have been testing.

You can add this information into your signature so that we know what methods you are following! Here is the info on how to set up your signature (copied from the general new member post):
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Thanks for that great chart. It really gives guidance. Luckily, we have had no hypoglycemia episodes. I went through the database on low carb foods and transitioned him off dry completely with wet foods of 10 carb or lower. His treats also changed to freeze dried chicken/shrimp and bonito flakes (which he loves). We have another cat (non-diabetic) that is on the same diet so there is no food dish changing. My big challenge- my husband!! We still have some dry food in the house and he feels it is ok to give him just "a little" at times. I have repeatedly told him a little is still no good so the dry food will be leaving.
 
Thanks for that great chart. It really gives guidance. Luckily, we have had no hypoglycemia episodes. I went through the database on low carb foods and transitioned him off dry completely with wet foods of 10 carb or lower. His treats also changed to freeze dried chicken/shrimp and bonito flakes (which he loves). We have another cat (non-diabetic) that is on the same diet so there is no food dish changing.
Awesome! Sounds like you have it all under control. I bet your non-diabetic cat will also benefit from the new diet!

My big challenge- my husband!! We still have some dry food in the house and he feels it is ok to give him just "a little" at times. I have repeatedly told him a little is still no good so the dry food will be leaving.
It's funny how we think that we are doing things for the cats, but it is actually for us! I kept Dixie on a spoonful of her original dry food when I was transitioning to the wet-food only diet because I thought it was the only way to get her to finish her meal and take the insulin shot. Turns out, I can give her an extra spoonful of wet food and she reacts the same! It was all in my head. You've already got the freeze dried treats, so just swap those for the old dry food and tell your husband that they are even tastier :smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top