Glucose Curve Interpretation

Maryannb3

Member Since 2025
Hello! My cat Jack (9 y/o male, 13lbs) was diagnosed with diabetes on December 22. We started him on 2 units BID (0600-1800) and his blood sugars never got below 200 mg/dl. His vet advised me to increase his dose to 3 units BID on 1/12. I did a curve 1/19 and 1/25 while he was on 3 units and his numbers ranged in the 300-400s both times with his nadir being 292 and 282 but at 10:00 both times (4 hours after shot). We increased his dose to 4 units BID on 1/27. On 2/1 I did a spot check before his 1800 dose and his sugar was 326. On 2/8 I did a glucose curve and was shocked it looked so good. Here’s the numbers:
05:50 147, 0600 dose 4 units Lantus, 07:50 77, 09:50 89, 11:55 100, 13:50 107, 15:50 105, 17:50 147. Dose 4 units at 1800. Glucose at 21:30 was 91.
I was worried about the drop to 77 and did a recheck around 08:30 and he was at 93.
I thought that was a pretty good curve but decided to start checking before and after his shots to see what he’s at. So on 2/9 his AM sugar was 165 and I gave his 4 units- but his PM sugar was 108 and I didn’t feel comfortable giving him 4 units. So I skipped his dose. 2/10 AM his sugar was 358 so I gave 4 units but ran into the same problem that evening, his sugar was 108 again and I decided to give only 2 units. 2/11 AM he was back up to 305. So that day I decided to change his dose to 3.5 units and his AM/PM 2/13 was better- 205 and 137. I did a curve 2/16 and he started at 135 before 0600 dose of 3.5 units. 0800 he was 129, 10:00 he was 93, 12:00 109, 1600 100, and back up to exactly 135 before his 1800 dose. At 20:00 that night he was 100.

To note, his diet is Wysong Epigen 90 and his food drops at 0600 and 1800 but he grazes throughout the day. He also gets fancy feast 1/2 can at each meal (all he’ll eat of it) and churus for treats. When he was running in the 300s I definitely noticed increased thirst and lots of urination. I’d say over the past few weeks having his at 4-3.5 units his urine has slowed down a lot but he seems hungrier now? His energy has picked up a lot. I don’t notice any signs of hypoglycemia or any concerns about him being too low.

His vet was pretty good at responding quickly at first but she’s not responded to my emails for 2 weeks now. Looking for some guidance on his curve numbers and what you guys think really while I wait to hear from his vet.

Thank you so much for any input.
 
Welcome to the FDMB. We can help. We are very data oriented and will need you to start a spreadsheet and add a signature. If you need help we have people that can help you.

Your vet had you increase in larger amounts than we suggest. Since you are feeding dry food,we would suggest you decrease the dose whenever the bg falls under 90. If you want to follow one of our two methods it would be SLGS. I will link the sticky in his to help us help youl.

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

It’s important to test before every shot to make sure the bg is at a safe number to give insulin. It’s great you are testing and doing curves. Once you have a spreadsheet set up iit will be easier to help you with dosing.

There’s lots of information at the top of the lantus forum including the one that explains our dosing methods. You will see we increase and decrease in .25 increments so we use syringes with half unit markings. Since you seem to be making changes in whole units I wonder if you are using syringes? .
 
Last edited:
Back
Top