Gizzy....Immediate Dosing Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
Hello!! I am finally back on a +12 dosing schedule (was trying to get it back to a 8:30 dosing time). Gizzy is due to be dosed right now, but was wondering if you could look at his SS? He has been staying quite low, but then bounces quite high. It's been that way for a couple of days now....should I reduce the dose? My plan was to keep dosing him at 2u for a few more days and then curve him. But I'm seeing this bounce pattern and I wanted to ask you guys what you thought....
 
There are a couple of considerations. First, you don't want to reduce the dose in a situation like you're seeing. All that will do is leave the numbers high. You also don't want to increase until the bounce clears. I think your initial reaction of holding the dose for a few days is a good one. The best way to get rid of the bounces is to increase the dose.

Also, I think you are holding on to doses longer than is necessary.

Tight Regulation Protocol Sticky said:
"General" Guidelines:

* Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

* Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction
(See: Reducing the dose...).

* Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Thanks! I haven't moved the dose because I was still changing his dosing times and he still has the sniffles and sneezes...
So, if I'm reading this correctly, I should leave him at 2u for a couple more days at +12 dosing and then curve him?
Should I dose him now since he's only at 145 or wait to see if this # rises (he's been at this # since +8)? I'm guessing dose now since Lantus won't kick in for awhile??
 
OK - I dosed him... I didn't want to get too off track again. Hope I did the right thing.
I will post again when I curve him a few days....and then we can talk game plan!! :)
 
You're not shifting times by a huge amount. If you can get in multiple checks per day, that would be great. A curve tells you certain things -- onset, nadir, and duration. Getting spot checks will give you a better feels for how Gizzy is responding to Lantus. Keep getting data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top