Shirley and Ragnar
Member Since 2010
Ragnar has been getting wide swings in his numbers on Lantus this time around. On 3/4u, his preshot gradually rises to 400 or so, then drops into the 100s. The doctors say his pancreas is making some of his own insulin, but exhausts itself, then rests and kicks in. We tried 1u but he wasn't high enough to shoot again after 18 hours (otherwise he might have gotten 1u every 18 hours - he did have a nice, flat curve with many hours in the 100s, just didn't come up soon enough). I am trying a skinny 1u now, but have trouble getting it "skinny" without going down to his inadequate 3/4u. Dr. Jen has talked about switching him to Prozinc.
I don't know much about Prozinc - is it the same as PZI? Otherwise there doesn't seem to be a support forum here for it.
Reading about Levemir, it looks as if that might work for Ragnar; I will ask Dr. Jen about it. This seems to give a flat curve and doesn't require such high numbers in order to shoot.
I'm not sure Dr. Jen and I were taking into account the overlap effect, however. She considered it too low to shoot 1u when he was 244 at +18 (because the previous shot - his first whole unit - had dropped him by 200 points at +6), but by the time the new shot was working, the previous shot might be gone.
I am sorry the spreadsheet still isn't up to date. I should probably send my friend some of the latest numbers and skip those in between. Otherwise we will never get caught up - there is just too much data to enter!
Blessings,
Shirley and Mr. Beautiful
I don't know much about Prozinc - is it the same as PZI? Otherwise there doesn't seem to be a support forum here for it.
Reading about Levemir, it looks as if that might work for Ragnar; I will ask Dr. Jen about it. This seems to give a flat curve and doesn't require such high numbers in order to shoot.
I'm not sure Dr. Jen and I were taking into account the overlap effect, however. She considered it too low to shoot 1u when he was 244 at +18 (because the previous shot - his first whole unit - had dropped him by 200 points at +6), but by the time the new shot was working, the previous shot might be gone.
I am sorry the spreadsheet still isn't up to date. I should probably send my friend some of the latest numbers and skip those in between. Otherwise we will never get caught up - there is just too much data to enter!
Blessings,
Shirley and Mr. Beautiful