Getting used to lower numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Morning. How long does it take a cat to get used to being in lower numbers? In the last 10 days, Frankie has had several trips to yellow or blue numbers and bounced every time. The bounces seem to be shortening, but how long until they stop completely? Bearing in mind he has seen continuous high numbers usually in the 400's for over a year, so this is a very recent occurrence.
 
Some cats bounce all the way to OTJ...the key is that the bounces don't go as high, and clear faster

One of the first things I was told when I came here was "Cats bounce until they don't" ;)
 
Good to know that Frankie will bounce until he stops. Cats eh? I've just given his morning shot so will increase tonight. Only trouble is my new syringes only come in full units!! A bit of guesswork needed methinks.
 
Where do you live Sue?

What you can do until you find some with half unit markings is use one of your old syringes and fill it up with something like grape juice (something you can see easily) and decide where that .25 or .75 "line" is going to be ....then use the "template" to compare the real dose to so at least you're being consistent in dosing
 
Since you are in the UK, I think you are using the BD Ultrafine syringes. In Canada, it's pretty much the only ones available and I think that's true for Europe too. If you look at the Tight Regulation Protocol Sticky note, at the bottom is a document attached called Management of Diabetic Cats. On page 255 of that document is a section on administering small doses of insulin, and there is a link to a chart you can print (only for BD Ultrafine syringes), that shows rulers for various small doses. The other option is that some of us use digital calipers to measure a dose. Here is a post on Dosing with Calipers.
 
I was using the BD Ultrafine until I ordered a new batch from the vet and I got ones with just 1 unit markings. They are called Insomed. I will try the juice thing, so I can measure more accurately and in the meantime order some more BD Ultrafine!!!
 
@Chris & China Seeing as Frankie had a good day on the 3rd on 5 units, do you think I should increase to 4.5 rather than 4.25 seeing as he is still so high all the time?
 
I'd rather see him go up .25 for now since he has started to see some blue...we can re-evaluate in 3 days

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top