getting back on track??

Status
Not open for further replies.

jillmerg

Member Since 2015
I've started always doing AM & PMPS's on Princess along with her nadir & spot checks. About a week ago she got off her schedule, as you can see in her SS. Due to her low amps & a family emergency during pm, she missed 1 day of insulin. It was late at night when I finally was home & thought to just wait until her regular morning routine (2u of Novolin) Since then she's been high. I really dont know if she is always high as its wearing off. Her nadirs were alway ok. Im going to try to get as much info this week before I make any changes, but I was wondering how long it could take for her body to recover from missing a whole day of insulin? Thanks~Jill
 
Novolin is an in and out insulin, so no time needed to recover, per se.
A nadir of 105 mg/dL is not bad for using Novolin.
 
Thank you BJM, but her PS's have been 200/300+'s. Isn't that too high, even though her nadirs look good?
 
I wouldn't want to up her dose and end up with a dangerously low nadir, maybe an insulin change altogether.
 
That is what you're going to get with the Novolin. Short of shooting every 8 hours, pre-shots in the mid-200s to 300s Re pretty respectable.
ProZinc or BCP PZI are 2 in and out insulins that would last closer to 12 hours and have a less severe drop and rise. I mention these 2 because your vet obviously hasn't worked with a depot insulin, so what he has learned about feline diabetes and insulin wouldn't transfer well to using Lantus or Levemir. Some of what he understands would transfer to using ProZinc or BCP PZI.

My Gracie routinely starts her day up near 300 mg/dL and she is on ProZinc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top