George 6/29

Status
Not open for further replies.
240 looks nice for a AMPS. Are you able to get a +6 or +7?

On your notes you stated you aren't sure why George can't hold weight. Diabetes takes nutrients from the body. If a cat is unregulated like George it will be difficult to keep the nutrients for the body. ;-)
 
I looked but couldn't find it.... down to 10.14 lbs. Where was it last time, and how long ago was that?

Carl
 
+4 AMPS 220 - fed remaining 1/4 of 5.5oz can of BFF Tuna & Salmon

When George got diagnosed with the UTI he was at 10.4 lbs - now the infection is gone, his numbers are better, and we've been feeding him more for 2 weeks and he lost weight :sad: When I first switched vets and started keeping track of his BG he weighed almost 12 lbs so he's lost at least a pound and a half in the last 2 months.

Also, if George continues surfing with his numbers does that mean I went down too much with dose and need to raise it back a little? Since he's been going too low at shot time I've lowered the shots a bit but now he doesn't dip as much.
 
Finding the right dose for George has certainly been a challenge, and I know you've been knocking yourself out trying. What do you think about trying 1.5 and holding that for a few cycles (unless he continues to throw you numbers you can't shoot at shot time)?

Carl
 
I'm good with 1.5 - out of curiosity, is there an ideal pre-shot number to eventually aim for or is it different for every cat?
 
Definitely different for every cat! Everything is, unfortunately. But in general, you want one in the mid to low yellows, with a nadir in the low blues or high greens.
What you are after is a preshot number that is fairly similar day and night, so that you can continue to dose the same day and night. The trick is finding a dose that gives you enough action in the middle of the cycle, but doesn't make the cycle last too long, or too short, and doesn't cause a drop so low that kitty bounces higher by the end of the cycle. It sure isn't easy to find that dose, as you well know.

The theory (mine) is - get the preshots around 250 or less, and the nadirs about half that. So that the cat is below the renal threshold all day long. When that happens, healing can happen. One of two things happens then. A) You either up the dose just a bit to make the nadir a little bit lower and still not cause bouncing. Or, B) as the healing happens, the numbers at preshot and nadir will come down together on the same dose. If option B happens, then you are able to reduce the dose just a little bit, and the numbers still stay all below 250. You might see a slightly higher and flatter curve, but still all good numbers. Healing continues, and you repeat the process. If all the numbers come down together, you continue to reduce in small increments.

We all say we like to see a nice "smiley faced" curve. But the closer you get to OTJ, the more you want the curve to get flatter, as long as all the numbers keep coming down together. Eventually, you end up with all the numbers under, or close to "normal", at which point you try an OTJ trial.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top