George 6/27

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS 108 - no insulin

+2 AMPS 265

My husband took care of the morning feeding and AMPS so I'm just now posting his numbers - just did his +2 knowing he would jump due to no insulin. At this point should I give him .5 units or even 1.0 to compensate for no insulin earlier and get him through to tonight?
 
Going ahead and giving .5 units - will be home for a while and can check until the new +6 - concerned this will mess up his PMPS though but I don't want to risk him jumping like he used to.
 
I think you made a good choice with the .5u. It will probably fizzle out. But better to be safe. Looks like the 2u is too much insulin Have you thought about starting back over at 1u and go back up slowly to see what the best dose is for him? Just a thought!

good Luck!

lori
 
Agree with the .5 Better too high than too low if you won't be home. This is very encouraging. It looks like he is responding to the insulin.

So next full shot at regular number should probably be reduced - maybe down to 1.5? or 1.8 if you have the U100 needles?
 
+4 AMPS/+2 insulin 315

Lori, he just got over a UTI and it does seem like the insulin is working better now that the infection is gone; we dropped the dose to 2.0 a couple days ago and it seemed like this amount was working....until this morning. I don't know if the farther out we get from the UTI if his body is using the insulin better so he might now need less, or if this morning was just a fluke?

Guess we'll have to see what his PMPS is, will the .5 units I gave at +2 AMPS have worn off and we'll get a good number or will the pre-shot number still be slightly influenced by the later shot?
 
I'm with Sue on this one, dropping down the dose. Yes, getting over any type of illness can drop BGs. With George going long, having a lower AMPS, I'd be tempted to drop to 1u or 1.5u and go from there. If you can't be home to monitor, I'd go the lesser. Better to be too high when not home than too low. :smile:
 
PMPS 378 - 1.75 units insulin

I'm not home and I was going to have my husband give 1.5 but since his number was in the upper 300s I wasn't comfortable going down a full .5 unit so I had him split the difference.
 
+8 PMPS 125 - fed remaining 1/2 of 5.5oz can of food

Looks like maybe I should have let my husband do 1.5 instead of 1.75, I just keep assuming he's going to jump like he used to but I guess now that the infection is gone maybe he's responding how he's supposed to. Interested to see if he'll be high enough for a shot in 4 hours. I have a vet appt. this afternoon for his post-UTI checkup, wonder what the vet will think about his numbers?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top