George 6/25

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow don't know your history or how much data you have collected but generally most people would not give insulin on a 145 AMPS.
For newbies w/o a lot of data collected on their kitty, generally you would not shoot under 180-200 range with many using 200 as cut off, anything under no shot. And around 150 is cut off for shooting with experience and lots of data to back up that choice.
I hope you will be around later to check George around nadir or earlier to make sure hes not dropping too low.
You know what to do if hes getting down in the 50's or showing any hypo signs right?
Feed a little higher carb food or higher carb food gravy, not too much at a time because he could continue dropping and you don't want him to get too full and not eat again if hes continuing to drop. Test about every 10-15 minutes until you see his numbers rising and staying steady. If still low, continue giving a little high carb food or gravy and continuing testing every 10-15 min. If he gets down around 50 or under you may need to give a little Karo, honey or syrup.
If you don't have any high carb wet food, give a little dry food or treats.
See sticky at top of page for hypoglycemia links also for more info.
 
+3 AMPS 260

I totally get what you're saying Angela but my cat has a history of skyrocketing after having low insulin at shot time. I was on vacation last week and did a ton of testing on my little guy, with the help of Sue and Carl we've been trying to understand what type of doses to give to my cat, if you check out the spreadsheet you'll see he's been everywhere :? When he's in the 100s at shot times we've tried no shot, .5 units and 1 unit and he typically ends up in the 500s at the next shot time.
 
Poor ole George seems to be imitating a yo-yo. Psst~ George! Yo-yo's are a no-no, honey boy! :smile:

Carl and Sue - what would you think about George doing 2.0 units per day for a few days to hopefully settle down a bit? Now that the UTI is hopefully cleared up, and he's not getting into Stinky's food, it just might be what he needs to level out. Thoughts?
 
Hope you can get George regulated soon! I know it can be frustrating! Hang in there!

lori
 
Oh good to know.
Hope George starts stabilizing soon and stops bouncing and zooming up.
Your'e in good hands with Carl and Sue...lets see what they think.
 
+4 AMPS 237 - fed remaining 1/2 of 5.5oz can of food

The people on these boards have definitely been a huge help! Hopefully once my little man gets sorted out I can start helping people with their fur children :smile:

Unfortunately my vacation week has ended and I'm heading back to work so my data will be a little more sparse now, hopefully we can still see his trends!
 
Wonder what his pmps will look like? The blue this am is certainly a nice surprise. I agree with Teresa that you probably need to reduce by a smidgen and see if this trend reflects his feeling and eating better, or just a reaction (finally) to the insulin.

It has been great that you have gotten all the data. Once you are back at work, just get a test whenever you can - as you go out the door, in the door, a couple +6 whenever you can manage them.
 
George is getting great action from the 2.25 dose, dropping 250 points or more. But it looks like even the mid-blues are causing bounces. I don't think it is that the doses are not lasting long enough, but that he's dropping either too much or too fast and his liver is reacting (as it is designed to do). Today, I don't think it's that the 1.0 wasn't enough. I'm thinking he may have dropped quick not too long after the shot, and by the time you got those two tests in, he'd already bounced into the yellows.

I think I'm with Teresa and Sue on this, at least until you can see proof that it isn't so? Reduce to 2.0, try for a drop, but not one that causes a bounce. Your other option is to ignore the bounces, but the worry there is what happens if his liver doesn't react to the low like it has been? If you're going back to work (vacations never last long enough, do they?) and won't be home to test mid-cycle, maybe cutting back to 2.0 for a couple days is worth trying?

Carl
 
I totally dropped the ball....I'm working 5p to 3a and my husband also works later hours. He's usually home in time for George's evening feeding and shot (11:30p and 12a) but he had to work late tonight and won't be able to feed George and give him insulin until over an hour past his normal time. We work at the same place and I had down time and if I'd looked at the clock at 11p and realized he'd be working late I could have left, fed George, given him his shot, and come back to work. I'm freaking out that I've messed up all our progress, especially just getting the small dose this AM....I can't believe I lost track of time :sad:
 
PMPS 462 - not nearly as bad as I was expecting considering we were an hour late and he had a small dose this morning!

Trying out the 2.0 units since it wasn't as bad as I was expecting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top