George 6/21

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS 520 :sad:

Just when I thought maybe he was getting into better numbers we're right back in the 500s. I know there isn't that huge of a difference between 2.5 and 2.25 but it's a lot harder to determine what 2.25 is - is it possible I gave closer to 2.0 than 2.25 last night and if so would that cause this type of difference in numbers?

The worst part is I'll probably be gone for most of the day and unable to see where he curves down to :?
 
We actually were using the U100 needles for a while as we'd had them leftover from a different insulin and didn't want them to go to waste - we still have a few left but the conversion comes out to 5.625 and I can't decide if that's any easier to figure out than 2.25 on the U40s?
 
Maybe a fat 2.25 would do it. You draw up more than 2.25 and then squeeze out enough that it is just a little more than 2.25. You might mark the syringe so you could find the same amount again. You can also do a fat dose on the U100 needles.
 
+7 AMPS 320 - late feeding of 1/2 of 5.5oz can of food due to being gone too long

What is a fat dose of 2.25? I've seen that term on other threads but wasn't sure what it meant. Also, don't know why I didn't think to mark the syringe at 2.25, duh :?

I was gone longer than I meant to be this afternoon so I fed him the rest of his food late which I'm sure will mess him up tonight, yippee.
 
Fat and skinny are just terms we use to mean just under or just over a line. So just a smidge more than 2.25 we call a fat 2.25 In a u100 syringe, it'd be maybe 5.75 instead of 5.625.
Carl
 
+9 AMPS 499

Trying to get our other cat on wet food but she eats slower than my diabetic so when I had to leave this afternoon I put her wet food on the kitchen counter thinking she could get up there but George couldn't but based on his numbers I'm starting to think he's the one that ate the extra wet food :sad:
 
George, we need some cooperation here....Don't like these high preshots.

No chance he is getting into dry, right? Are you sure testing for ketones?

I asked Carl to chime in also. I am thinking go back up to 2.5. If he throws a lower preshot number and a longer cycle, maybe shoot a little more into it than we did that last time. Interesting that he had long cycles with 2.5 and short cycles with 2.25.

Let's see what Carl says.....
 
Not liking the high preshots either, but he's dropped 300 points in four hours on this dose. Some of the ps numbers might be bounces. You can increase, and you may get lower nadirs, but he may still bounce until he decides to stop. Absolutely sure he doesn't have a junk food stash hidden somewhere?
Carl
 
I've only been giving the other cat wet food this week so he's not gotten into any dry. Been having trouble checking for ketones, he's not the easiest cat when it comes to doing things that will help him :roll: Interested to see what his number will be in a few minutes!
 
Interesting...last cycle, this dose dropped him far and fast, but no bounce the morning. Same dose into a lowered number, and less drop, later drop, and a surf. I wonder if there's a pattern to this, not just with George, but with prozinc in general?
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top