suwannee79 said:
+6 AMPS 137 - fed 1/2 of 5.5oz can at 5p, waiting to see numbers impacted
I feel like this has probably already been answered somewhere but I'm still a bit confused - if George started on a low dose and it has to be continuously raised to get him into better numbers, how does he then start doing well enough that the dosage can be lowered back down and the numbers don't go back up? I know the feline pancreas can start working again (sometimes), is that what's happening when the numbers get better, is the higher dosage basically jump starting the pancreas allowing us to then decrease how much insulin they need added into their systems?
OK, this is probably an oversimplified explanation, but here's what basically happens.
Diabetes is caused by a couple of things. Either the pancreas isn't producing insulin correctly, or the cells that need glucose for energy are unable to absorb the glucose and turn in into energy. So, the glucose remains in the bloodstream, and eventually shows up on your meter as higher than normal BG values.
So, you get your insulin and your needles and you add insulin to his system so that his body can get the glucose into the cells, and the cells can function more normally. This causes the BG to do down.
When you first start treatment, you start at a low dose, see how it works, and if needed, you increase the dose. What you are trying to do is to lower the BG to numbers closer to normal (say in the 250 or lower range) for most of the day. By doing that, you are giving his pancreas and his other organs the chance to heal, so that they can start to work like they are supposed to. High BGs for a length of time can make the problem worse, because it causes insulin resistance, making it that much harder for the cells to absorb the glucose.
You will get to a point where the body is taking care of at least some of the problem by itself. At that point, you won't need to "shoot" as much insulin into the system, the numbers will stay lower more often, and things will continue to heal. What we are all trying for is to get to the point where everything is "back to normal", and the body self-regulates blood glucose. When that happens, insulin is no longer required from you, and kitty goes "off the juice".
Most cats go through this process. Doses start small, they increase over time, and at some point you'll see blue and greens more often. That's when you start on the way back down the dosing ladder slowly as he continues to heal and improve.
Bob started at 1u twice a day. He went up to 4u twice a day until he got to the point where his numbers began to improve noticeably. He then went down pretty quickly to "zero". In his case, it was around 6 weeks "up in dose" and 4 weeks "down to zero". In this aspect, the "ECID" (every cat is different) thing is really true. Some cats take less time than Bob did. Most cats take longer. Some might never get there, but they can live for years with numbers just above normal, requiring two shots of insulin a day for the rest of their lives. And they can live healthy happy lives for years as diabetics (just like people do). Some cats go off the juice, and then end up needing to go back on for whatever reason. Once a diabetic, always a diabetic. Bob is one bag of dry food away from possible relapse. That's why he'll eat low carb canned forever.
Carl