General question about TR

Sweet Tango

Member Since 2019
This isn’t a question about my kitty—it’s a general question about TR. After reading the sticky (over and over again), its my understanding that we are supposed to stay at a dose for 3-6 days. If the kitty has a flat curve with good numbers, and the nadir is around where it’s suposed to be, do we stay at the same dose or decrease it by .25 after 3 days? Also, if we are at the correct dose, what is the nadir supposed to be? Just trying to understand this better. Thanks.:)
 
Last edited:
You stick at your current dose for 3 days/6 cycles if nadirs are mostly below 200. You hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles if the nadirs are mostly below 200.

The "correct" dose is when you start seeing a sea of green -- normal numbers (50 - 120 on a human meter). Generally, you want to see more green than blue. In this situation - if a cat is in normal numbers - you hold the dose for 7 days and then reduce.
 
Thanks. I am seeing normal numbers (lots of green), and I’m doing loads of testing. Just wanted to make sure I’m not supposed to reduce.
 
Well.... You not seeing lots of green, yet. You're seeing more green nadirs and there are more blues. But, that's today.

One thing to keep in mind is that if you skip a shot or give a fur shot, the cycle count starts over. I'm also not sure why you reduced from 0.75 to 0.5u. It didn't look like Tango dropped below 50.
 
I had made a few mistakes with doses because that’s something I am still so unclear about. I checked with a resource who told me that since I had changed doses so much, I should go down from .75 to .50 for 3 days. I had skipped a few shots because I was nervous and lacking knowledge so I thought it would be better safe than sotry. If I could just understand dosing, I would have this down pat.
 
Last edited:
Hi. When not sure what to do I suggest you post and ask for help. I posted daily condos and linked them. Doing so helps people watching the board get to know you and your cat better. When you shoot a lower number there’s always someone around to help you deal with lower numbers.
 
I believe it was me that told you to do the .5 for at least 6 cycles so we could see what he was really doing with a stable dose.

It looks like he's actually doing pretty well on this dose. You saw more green today without the crazy high bounces.

Let's see where he's at after the 6 cycles....On TR, if he's still getting those nice green nadirs, we'd probably want you to hold the same dose for 8-10 cycles before deciding about the next dose.

From the TR protocol:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
I believe it was me that told you to do the .5 for at least 6 cycles so we could see what he was really doing with a stable dose.

It looks like he's actually doing pretty well on this dose. You saw more green today without the crazy high bounces.

Let's see where he's at after the 6 cycles....On TR, if he's still getting those nice green nadirs, we'd probably want you to hold the same dose for 8-10 cycles before deciding about the next dose.

From the TR protocol:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Thank you Chris! Yes. He’s definitely doing well at the .5. I will do this! Hoping this is a sign that he’s gettibg regulated. During the week, when I’m at work and dont have the luxury of testing him mid cycle - that worries me a little, bit at least I have an idea on how low he’s dropping. Thanks Sienna, Tiff and Chris! So glad I am following your instructions and not my vet, who wanted me start him at 1 unit and test him every few days.
 
Last edited:
I'm not seeing much green. There was a nadir <100 on 11/24 (0.75u) and yesterday. I would not have suggested reducing the dose. You were at the 0.5u for some time -- granted it wasn't always consistent.

At this point, if you're going to follow TR, hold the current dose for 3 days/6 cycles unless the majority of nadirs are in normal range. If that's the case, hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles.
 
Thanks. I actually gave him his shot for today 4 hours ago and just tested him at +4 and he’s 80. Keeping close eye on him today.
 
Still seeing some nice blue and green numbers with some nadir's in the 70's. I'm following everyone's advice and keeping his dose at .5 Tomorrow I will be at work all day so I cannot check on him and have no one else who can. This is what scares me.
 
Back
Top