Gemma - Newly diagnosed and still not doing well

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ali and Gem

Member Since 2021
Hello all,

I need some support. My cat Gemma (Gem) was diagnosed with diabetes and started on 1U of Prozinc on 5/12. Her numbers are all over the place. She goes up after her insulin shot and either stays high or gets low right before dinner. Isn't that when her numbers should be the highest? I'm feeding her Tiki cat wet food and a little Dr.Elsey's sprinkled on top, twice a day, no snacks in between except a few Pure Bites at test time. She has usually two days a week she is vomiting and has diarrhea. Then her poop looks great for a few days. We just started her on pancreatic enzymes on Friday. She threw up a huge hairball today, then was throwing up clear liquid the rest of the day. Fed her dinner, she tested low, and skipped insulin. She threw up her dinner. Now I weighed her (I've been keeping sort of track on her weight by weighing her at home) and she's down .4 lbs since 6/10. Granted I weighed her on an empty stomach, but I'm getting so worried. She used to weigh 11 lbs. I'm starting to wonder, is she going to make it??? Has anyone else had experiences like this they can share with me? I've tried to stay so hopeful through this but I'm starting to lose hope.

Thank you,

Alison
 
Last edited:
Oh dear! I’m so sorry your baby is going through this.

Did you change the food to TikiCat/Dr. Elsey’s when she was diagnosed? I wonder if maybe she’s allergic to any of the ingredients. When my Chloe was on prescription food, she would throw up or have hairballs almost daily. As soon as I switched, that cleared up.
 
Hi thank you! Yes we switched to that food at diagnosis. I've seen the big food list floating around on here before, maybe I could try a different brand? Or are you thinking different ingredients, chicken vs shrimp, etc.?
 
Hi thank you! Yes we switched to that food at diagnosis. I've seen the big food list floating around on here before, maybe I could try a different brand? Or are you thinking different ingredients, chicken vs shrimp, etc.?
Maybe a little bit of both? Definitely check out the spreadsheet. I think that fish allergies are not uncommon in cats, but don’t quote me on that.

We only switched to all wet in the last few weeks and I have bought at least 10 different flavors across 4 or 5 brands to see what sticks with my girl.
 
Maybe a little bit of both? Definitely check out the spreadsheet. I think that fish allergies are not uncommon in cats, but don’t quote me on that.

We only switched to all wet in the last few weeks and I have bought at least 10 different flavors across 4 or 5 brands to see what sticks with my girl.
Thank you. Your cats numbers look great. I’m jealous! We’ll try some other brands/proteins, that’s a good place to start.
 
Hi Alison,
Am wondering why you are only feeding twice a day? Did the vet tell you that?
Diabetic cats do better with several meals spread throughout the day. It is better for the pancreas.
I would give a main meal before the insulin doses and then two snacks in the first half of all the cycles (+1 to +6)
Is Gemma asking for food? If she is hungry and has lost weight, you could feed her more than I have suggested. Just hold of the food for the 2 hours preshot.

Was it the vet who started her on pancreatic enzymes? Did he do any tests before hand?
If she is continuing to vomit and have diarrhoea you may need to look at another food.

Looking at the SS you are following SLGS. With that method you need to be reducing the dose if Gemma drops under 90. I would drop the dose to 0.75 units now and hopefully you will be able to shoot both cycles. I would also try and get a few more tests in during the pm cycle if you can. At least a before bed test in every night, as a lot of cats drop lower at night.
 
When you get a lower than expected number, like that weird 63 amps a few days ago, right away take a second test to make sure it's correct.

Your cat may just peek a little later in the cycle like what we see yesterday with it high all day then suddenly 108 for the preshot.

I agree with Bron to try 0.75 for several days and let's see what happens, but also of you get a preshot in the 100's, stall without feeding for an hour and see if the number is going up. If it is, then give insulin.
 
Hi Alison,
Am wondering why you are only feeding twice a day? Did the vet tell you that?
Diabetic cats do better with several meals spread throughout the day. It is better for the pancreas.
I would give a main meal before the insulin doses and then two snacks in the first half of all the cycles (+1 to +6)
Is Gemma asking for food? If she is hungry and has lost weight, you could feed her more than I have suggested. Just hold of the food for the 2 hours preshot.

Was it the vet who started her on pancreatic enzymes? Did he do any tests before hand?
If she is continuing to vomit and have diarrhoea you may need to look at another food.

Looking at the SS you are following SLGS. With that method you need to be reducing the dose if Gemma drops under 90. I would drop the dose to 0.75 units now and hopefully you will be able to shoot both cycles. I would also try and get a few more tests in during the pm cycle if you can. At least a before bed test in every night, as a lot of cats drop lower at night.

Thank you so much for responding, I can't tell you how good it feels to have some support like this. She is hungry, she was used to being free fed and loves food so she is really wanting food all day long. When she was first diagnosed I was feeding her in between meals (sorry my spreadsheet at that time isn't very detailed) and it seemed to be keeping her blood sugar high, or it seemed that the insulin wasn't taking effect or something like that. She does need to gain weight so it's hard not to just feed her whenever she wants to eat. I think the goal was to just keep things consistent, so as long as I start feeding snacks at the same time everyday and the same kind of food, that will keep the consistency and not introduce too many "variables".

So you're thinking still shoot if she's under 90? I sort of freak out when she gets low like that and I'm not sure whether to shoot or not shoot, especially at night, so I opt for "better safe than sorry" or ... "better safe than hypo!". This is all great advice. I didn't read this until after her AM shot, so she got one unit this morning, she was at 370 AMPS. I'll try feeding her some snacks today (Tiki cat) and see how things are looking and maybe just do a .75 U tonight.

THANK YOU
 
Thank you so much for responding, I can't tell you how good it feels to have some support like this. She is hungry, she was used to being free fed and loves food so she is really wanting food all day long. When she was first diagnosed I was feeding her in between meals (sorry my spreadsheet at that time isn't very detailed) and it seemed to be keeping her blood sugar high, or it seemed that the insulin wasn't taking effect or something like that. She does need to gain weight so it's hard not to just feed her whenever she wants to eat. I think the goal was to just keep things consistent, so as long as I start feeding snacks at the same time everyday and the same kind of food, that will keep the consistency and not introduce too many "variables".

So you're thinking still shoot if she's under 90? I sort of freak out when she gets low like that and I'm not sure whether to shoot or not shoot, especially at night, so I opt for "better safe than sorry" or ... "better safe than hypo!". This is all great advice. I didn't read this until after her AM shot, so she got one unit this morning, she was at 370 AMPS. I'll try feeding her some snacks today (Tiki cat) and see how things are looking and maybe just do a .75 U tonight.

THANK YOU
He's not saying to shoot a preshot under 90, he's talking about reducing the dose if mid cycle drops below 90. New people we advise not to shoot of the preshot test is under 200 until you have more data.

I feed my cats 4 times a day. Just no food 2 hours prior to the preshot test so the number is not food influenced.
 
He's not saying to shoot a preshot under 90, he's talking about reducing the dose if mid cycle drops below 90. New people we advise not to shoot of the preshot test is under 200 until you have more data.

I feed my cats 4 times a day. Just no food 2 hours prior to the preshot test so the number is not food influenced.
Ahh okay. That makes more sense. I'm very nervous to shoot when she's low, just want to make sure it's okay to skip a dose. Thank you Janet! If mid-cycle is low, reduce dose. That makes a lot of sense. I'm getting the feeling 1 U is too high for my girl.
 
Ahh okay. That makes more sense. I'm very nervous to shoot when she's low, just want to make sure it's okay to skip a dose. Thank you Janet! If mid-cycle is low, reduce dose. That makes a lot of sense. I'm getting the feeling 1 U is too high for my girl.
That's why we both suggested dropping it to 0.75.
 
Some cats will experience an acid stomach and vomit, as a result. Giving multiple small meals a day can help with that. Glad to hear Gemma is doing better.

I'd also encourage you to get a before bed test every PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night and without at least one evening cycle test, you're missing half of your data.
 
It is a good idea to set up your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

Click on your name upper right hand corner , a drop down will appear , tap in signature , fill out info
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
It is a good idea to set up your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

Click on your name upper right hand corner , a drop down will appear , tap in signature , fill out info
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
Just updated my signature, thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top