StefO
Member Since 2017
I wanted to change Garth's vet shortly after he was diagnosed but the new vet recommended that we come after his first curve with old vet. I scheduled an appointment for his next curve with new vet, but there must have been some confusion and it was just an exam.
He was open mouth panting and breathing rapidly in the exam room. This has happened a few times at home but not since the appt. I assumed the panting was from heat/humidity/stress but the vet suggested a chest x-ray to see if there was any fluid or check if his sternum was close to the heart. No fluid, but she suggested there was something abnormal with his abdomen and they only way to find out what could possibly be wrong would to run diagnostics for $600. Not sure I want to sedate him, so when I asked if I could give new vet my decision in a few weeks, she said there may not be enough time.
I was having so many complications testing him at home (too squirmy for a poke, not enough blood, use a different test strip) but the day before his appointment from his 10amBG was 360, then 2pm 363. The new vet suggested that if it stayed high like that to up his Lantus from 3U to 4U. She also implied that she wouldn't have given him Lantus. I just checked his BG and it was at 506. He doesn't get his shot for another 1.5 hours.
I am feeding him 1 full can of FF at 8am/8pm and a half can at 2pm/2am (I work nights). He normally starts his incessant crying around 5:30am and I try to give him some freeze dried salmon, but this AM I was desperate and gave him a handful of Purina DM Dry. Now I feel really terrible that I did that ! Also today, I started him on sublingual methyl b-12 to aid his neuropathy. (Thank you so much JanetNJ!!)
This week has got me feeling disheartened and frustrated. ;/ Not sure I will stick with the new vet and am considering just going back to the old one since they know him so well.
Is there anything I can be doing differently? Any and all suggestions appreciated! Thank you so much!
He was open mouth panting and breathing rapidly in the exam room. This has happened a few times at home but not since the appt. I assumed the panting was from heat/humidity/stress but the vet suggested a chest x-ray to see if there was any fluid or check if his sternum was close to the heart. No fluid, but she suggested there was something abnormal with his abdomen and they only way to find out what could possibly be wrong would to run diagnostics for $600. Not sure I want to sedate him, so when I asked if I could give new vet my decision in a few weeks, she said there may not be enough time.
I was having so many complications testing him at home (too squirmy for a poke, not enough blood, use a different test strip) but the day before his appointment from his 10amBG was 360, then 2pm 363. The new vet suggested that if it stayed high like that to up his Lantus from 3U to 4U. She also implied that she wouldn't have given him Lantus. I just checked his BG and it was at 506. He doesn't get his shot for another 1.5 hours.
I am feeding him 1 full can of FF at 8am/8pm and a half can at 2pm/2am (I work nights). He normally starts his incessant crying around 5:30am and I try to give him some freeze dried salmon, but this AM I was desperate and gave him a handful of Purina DM Dry. Now I feel really terrible that I did that ! Also today, I started him on sublingual methyl b-12 to aid his neuropathy. (Thank you so much JanetNJ!!)
This week has got me feeling disheartened and frustrated. ;/ Not sure I will stick with the new vet and am considering just going back to the old one since they know him so well.
Is there anything I can be doing differently? Any and all suggestions appreciated! Thank you so much!
. Did Vet give any hints to what abnormal was in his abdomen? I would not increase his dose by a whole unit. 3.0U is kind of high for a newer diabetic kitty. Did she say why she would not have given Lantus? It's one of the better insulins if dosed properly for the kitty
). 