Garland

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh Violet. I'm so sorry to hear of your loss. Although I wasn't around during the years you were dealing with the diabetes, any time any of us lose a friend, it hurts.

You can never blame yourself. You did as much as you could as soon as you could. Sometimes they take it out of our hands, and all we can do is lesson their suffering, and give them the final gift we have to give...a peaceful release from a body that had finally failed them.

Fly free sweet Garland, and land softly. There are many at the Bridge to greet you wings_cat
 
I remember Garland's story well. So sorry to hear that you lost her suddenly, and I feel your pain. My sweet Donovan became sick and was gone within a day of his diagnosis of lymphoma. It's not fair, but you love them the best you can while they are with you. Garland was blessed to have you as her mom.

lighting Butthead's candle to guide Garland to the Bridge to join our other precious angels...

buttheadcandle.jpg


MJ
 
I am so sorry to hear that it was Garland's time to go. I remember your story well, too. Don't you ever doubt yourself...you were the best MamaBean every to sweet little Garland. Your love and dedication are truly inspiring, and because of it, you and Garland had two more wonderful years together. You fought for her when many others would have given up. Garland was the luckiest kitty ever, and now she is a beautiful angel, waiting for you until you can be together again. Our prayers are with you.
 
(((Violet)))

I just read Garland's story, and she was lucky to have you, and you her. My deepest sympathies, it is so scary to have it happen so fast. Sending you hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Jane
 
Violet, I am so sorry to read this. It is never easy... I hope your memories will be of comfort. You did so well by her. Hugs to all. Fly free little one, you will be missed.
 
((((Violet & family))))

I am so sorry for your loss. I remember Garland well. I would occasionally wonder about you and Garland and how she was faring. I saw your post on Health earlier in the week and hoped that Garland's situation wasn't anywhere near as complex as you described. I know how hard you worked on Garland's behalf when you first came here. Garland could not have asked for a more dedicated and loving caregiver.

Fly free Garland and land softly. There are many old friends waiting for you at the Bridge who will keep you company until you are reunited with the one you love best.
 
Dear Violet,
I am so sorry that it was Garland's time. She will carry your love for her to the Bridge, where she will be in the company of many old friends until you meet again.
Fly free, sweet Garland, you are much loved.

In deepest sympathy,
Ella & Edward, Rusty, and Stu (GA)
 
I am so sorry. I too read Garlands story, and you were a wonderful bean and gave her 2 extra years with you. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Fly free Garland and land softly.
 
Oh Violet Im so sorry, you were a great bean don't ever forget it.
Run free little one all your friends are there to show you your way.
 
Thank you for your kind words everyone and for being there for us! This morning has been hard for me and civvie Connick. He keeps wandering around, looking for her. I opened her can of Fancy Feast before I realized she wasnt here.... :YMSIGH: I know I did everything I could, I just hate how she was taken so suddenly after being so healthy. The shock of it all still hasnt gone away. At least she is diabetes free and in a better place now....
 
(((((Violet))))) I am so sorry. Garland was a lucky kitty to have you for her bean. We know how hard it is, when it's their time to go. All of LantusLand is mourning with you.
Liz
 
I'm so sorry Violet. When we lose our loved ones, hopefully, we can take some comfort in knowing that we suffer more than they do. Garland's fight is over and she has crossed the rainbow bridge to be with her furry little friends. wings_cat
 
(((Violet))), I'm so very sorry for your loss. I too, remember Garland. You were a wonderful, loving mamabean to her.
I'm sending my deepest sympathy to you and the children.

Fly free, little Garland. Run and play with all your new friends, and chase squirrels and mousies, at The Bridge. wings_cat
 
((((Violet))))

While every kitty's story touches my heart, you and Garland have always held a very special place in mine. And now it is broken for you. I hope I can write these words through my tears.

You cannot ever let yourself feel one ounce of guilt. You are my hero.....you pulled out all the stops to save Garland then and now. Violet...my gosh....you had your young children and their needs, caring for your family, DHs new job, and still you were tube feeding and medicating Garland, testing, shooting two insulins, posting. Even back then, I thought you were a superwoman. I don't know how you did it all and got any rest. YOU gave Garland two more fantastic years. YOU did it.

I know Garland is with you but just in a different form. Take time to let your mind be still and you will see and feel her.

Lighting a candle for you, sweet Garland, so your way will be full of light. Gentle journey, darling girl.

The Ridge by Carol Notermann

It’s been such a lovely summer, I’ve been napping in the sun.
This morning, other cats and I enjoyed a long long run.
We chased butterflies together. I climbed high into a tree.
And now I think what woke me up was that small bumble bee.

I’ve yawned and stretched, and still I feel that something has begun.
He’s standing there in robes of white, and telling me to come.
I always run to Him you know, when He comes across the bridge
To see if we’re all having fun and if we’ve checked the ridge.

He gives tummy rubs to all of us and pets and cuddles too
I’m glad to see Him every day, when He comes into view.
Each day He takes a different cat, and chats with them a while
Then off that kitty starts to run. I swear they seem to smile.

But now He’s stopped in front of me. He’s said a name I know.
He said to look out towards the ridge. The sun is setting low.
I start to walk out toward the ridge, and then what’s that I see.
IT’S YOU! IT’S YOU! It’s really you. You’ve come to be with me!

My goodness you are running and I am running too!
You stop to bend, but I can jump and now I am with you.
I feel your kisses on my head, as I did in long off days
You’re holding me and hugging me, and into your eyes I gaze.

And now He’s walking with us, as you carry me once more
We’ve crossed Rainbow Bridge together. We’re here at Heaven’s door.
And He has held it open, and told us to walk through
That from now on and forever, I can always be with you.

 
Violet, I am so sorry for your loss of Garland. She passed peacefully in your arms knowing she was loved. We have you and your family in our Prayers.
 
I'm so sorry ((((((Violet))))))) (((((and family)))))). I remember Garland well, and how hard you worked to get her well. It was you that gave her those two good years. Don't feel guilty. Now, she is playing and healthy and happy at The Bridge. She is comfortable and has many friends to keep her company. She knows how much you love her, and she will be waiting for you to reunite with her one day.
Pillar-Burning-Honey-Candles_New.jpg

I will light a candle for your sweet baby. Tears.
Fly Free, Garland. We will miss you.
 
Violet-
I too remember you and Garland's story so well and your devotion to her. I am so sorry that you have lost your sweet girl. It's so very hard and I know how much you, your family and Connick will miss her. My sympathies.

Fly free Garland! wings_cat


Betty & Hank
 
You guys make me feel so much better, its nice to hear from others who get what I am going through (((hugs)))

I wish I could turn my brain off though. I just keep thinking what happened...How did this happen?? Ugh...

Whats bugging me the most is her BG numbers. The last week or so her numbers got really low. To the point I dropped her dose down and even had to skip a few shots.I havent seen a number on the meter over 160 in 2 weeks. 6 hours before I took her to the ER her BG at home was 121....at the ER it was 589!!!! How is that even possible? And DKA means she wasnt getting enough insulin. What if something happened with her meter? What if it suddenly stopped working right and I had no idea. I had just opened a new batch of strips, what if they were defective?? What if for the last 1-2 weeks her numbers were actually 300+ and I was wrongly thinking they were 100-150??...lowering her dose,when maybe I should have been raising it....It just doesnt feel right to me, something is off.... :(
 
Violet, I'm so sorry to hear about Garland. Please don't beat yourself up. I understand. I am doing the same thing over one of my civies. It is so hard to overcome.

Fly free little Garland. ((((((Violet)))))
 
((((Violet)))),
Please don't try to second-guess yourself. You did everything according to protocol. These sudden illnesses happen. You gave Garland so much love and care and she knew it. She is grateful that you have now given her freedom from pain and illness. She was so lucky to have you as her mamabean.

Holding you and your family and Connick close in our thoughts and prayers.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
(((Violet)))
I am so sorry for your sudden loss. I know that Garland meant everything to you, and that there is nothing you would not do for her. It sounds like things just moved so quickly at he end that there was nothing anyone, even you, could do for her, except to release her from her body when it could no longer serve her. I know that the "what-if's" haunt all of us, but take some moments to celebrate the miracles you were able to bring about for her, and the happy extra years that you were able to give her when many others would not have been able to. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this very sad time. Garland is fondly remembered by many of her old friends here. She was one of our special LL kitties, and she will never be forgotten.
With my deepest sympathies,
Linda
 
I'm so sorry for your loss. Kitties are so good at hiding when they aren't feeling good and there's not always a way for us to know. Maybe sometimes that's best because we can truly enjoy our time together. It's obvious Garland had a home filled with lots of love and you were a terrific mom.

BIG hug -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
I'm so sorry for your loss of your sweet baby. It is so hard to lose one of our furbabies. Know that you've got lots of people here that share your pain. (((Violet and family)))

Fly Free Sweet Garland
 

Attachments

  • CC_BurnURCandle1.jpg
    CC_BurnURCandle1.jpg
    1.8 KB · Views: 699
violet, i am so sorry to see this. i have also thought about Garland and wondered how she was doing. you have absolutely nothing to even remotely feel guilty about. in the time i've been on here, i think you have been one of the 2-3 people who have had extraordinarily sick cats that required an unbelievable effort to pull them through. which you did. you were amazing at juggling everything in your own life - as i recall your youngest was a few months old when Garland was so sick. you were open to being taught, you asked questions and learned, and you cared for her around the clock. Garland was SO lucky to have you.

i have no doubt that everything you did for her was done out of love.

i'm celebrating Garland's life and the wonderful amazing love you shared, and i'm grieving with you at her passing. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top