Giving .25 went back in records and this is how I did it before. I do have to step out for about an hour or so be he will be fine
So it's 2am August 4 just did a poke he was 96. Afraid he would drop to low after I went back to bed so I gave him a small snack of fancy feast pate plus he was hungry. I'm doing the go slow method it says do not shoot below 8.3. So if his number is not safely suitable zone then what I have to leave for work at 730am his shoot time is 6am. I'm thinking lower dose to .01 ??? Some is better then none
Suggestions please I know hard cause don't have amps but had to post now to have time for help
Stalled now 150 full dose or decrease to .01 like before
Went on safe side and gave .1
Retest +1 before I left went up to 201
And to think he went 4 days on .25 starting over
Was he eating dry food originally? Some people have taken their cats off Dry food & kitty has gone into remission in a short time. I've been here for 6 months & recently switched to Levemir insulin.
Ravan's BG has dropped from the new insulin. I don't give dose advice. I leave that to the experts.
You can look at Ravan's SS & see the difference in readings.
Best of Luck !
Amps 148= 8.2 Go slow says don't shoot below 8.3 don't wanna keep skipping. He gets .25 units now should I decrease to .1 like I did before as I won't be here to monitor full dose I leave at 730am for work
Sorry no one replied. I see you did shoot 0.1U. At least he got something. Is there no one that can test when you are at work? If that is the case, then better safe than sorry (better a day too high, than a moment too low). Since you work outside the home and, assuming there is not anyone else that can test, you will just have to skip/low dose until you have more data so we know what his patterns are. The 150 "no-shot" cut off is mostly until there is data to know how Garfie is responding. Eventually you will sneak that number down until you are comfortable shooting a lower number.
It is so hard when you work outside the house and do this dance. I know. It probably would have been ok to shoot 0.25U because he will likely bounce from the green last night but unless you (or someone) can monitor I think you did the right thing.
Hi, Rebecca. I'm not sure if I've posted in Garfie's condo before.
With SLGS, if you get a number lower than you're comfortable shooting, you have a few options. You can:
Stall for 15-20 minutes and re-test. Do NOT feed your cat, though. If numbers haven't risen, repeat the process until numbers are rising and then shoot.
Shoot a reduced dose like you did today.
Skip the shot.
Each of these options has it's pros and cons. Ultimately, you want to get comfortable shooting low numbers. You want to gradually work your way down from shooting 150 to shooting progressively lower.
Looking at Garfie's spreadsheet, with SLGS, you need to remember that if his numbers fall below 90, you reduce the dose. It looks like on 7/30, Garfie dropped into the 40s. His dose should have been reduced to 0.1u.
One other thought is that Lantus does best with consistency. If you can be consistent with dose and shot time, there's a good chance you'll see the curve flatten out a bit more. I know that's hard if you're working and numbers are running a bit low at shot time. Just do your best to keep getting data so you have a feel for how Garfie responds when you are shooting lower numbers.
If I didn't have to go to work I probably would of done his .25 cause I would of been here but didn't feel right doing that then leaving. So I did decrease better some then none.
You did the right thing......but need to try to keep the same dose continually if you can. Try to give him a bit more then .1.....like a couple drops from .25.
Ok will make note of that now do I keep him on that or go back to .25 at pmps depending on his numbers. I just poked him and he's 116 (6.4) I left work had feeling to come home early
I had to decrease this morning from .25 to .1 due to numbers low and wasn't gonna be home to monitor. He is now 258 safe to go back to his .25 ????
Looked back in records and yes I resumed normal dosage when number were in better range so giving .25.