Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin
Member Since 2009
I updated spreadsheet this AM. He's having some odd cycles lately, so Sheila, Pamela & Melissa*, take a look please and give me your thoughts. Anyone else reading this - post and thread will contain speculations. Please do not assume these for your own cats.
Here are mine - new pen started on the 24th. The really wonky stuff didn't start until I did 2 splits on the 28th which resulted in a 50 PMPS at +12/+14 to each split. My conclusion there was that my measurement was off, so he got too much insulin on either 1 or both doses. So dropped the dose and left it there because his numbers weren't too bad. Then on the 3rd he dropped in to the 50s after having 300s after having a 78 preshot on the 2nd. But new pen makes me wonder, as 4 days after starting it this happened, just about right amount of time for shed to overspill.
Now, that was also right after our monster blizzard and it got down to -10 below zero on the 3rd. I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but when it's going to get real cold, none of my cats seem to eat much! I was home and noticed they all seemed to sleep a lot, so he may just not have eaten enough, but he ate fine when I encouraged him and he came up nicely after that 50.
I dropped the dose to 1.1U, which is 15% less than 1.3U which seemed to be a pretty good dose. The on the 4th he dropped pretty rapidly on the .9U and I dropped again to .75U, but I doubt that's enough, so I brought it back to .9U last night.
What gives? Do we have a wonky pen? Less calories? I started giving pepcid again in case he's getting a flare. I also started up his Clindamycin therapy yesterday. He had an acceptable preshot this morning at 261, so I'll probably stay at .9U through Thursday because I'm off then and can get checks, but he has acupuncture that AM and that usually throws him off. It is also supposed to be bitterly cold ALL WEEK after tomorrow. Highs in the teens is all, lows around or below zero. Ugh. I tracked cold weather last year and he seemed to run higher than not lower but I noticed dose was only 1U.
*edited to add Melissa. If you see this, Melissa, you're always good at pointing out alternative aspects, so I would like to see your ideas as well.
Here are mine - new pen started on the 24th. The really wonky stuff didn't start until I did 2 splits on the 28th which resulted in a 50 PMPS at +12/+14 to each split. My conclusion there was that my measurement was off, so he got too much insulin on either 1 or both doses. So dropped the dose and left it there because his numbers weren't too bad. Then on the 3rd he dropped in to the 50s after having 300s after having a 78 preshot on the 2nd. But new pen makes me wonder, as 4 days after starting it this happened, just about right amount of time for shed to overspill.
Now, that was also right after our monster blizzard and it got down to -10 below zero on the 3rd. I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but when it's going to get real cold, none of my cats seem to eat much! I was home and noticed they all seemed to sleep a lot, so he may just not have eaten enough, but he ate fine when I encouraged him and he came up nicely after that 50.
I dropped the dose to 1.1U, which is 15% less than 1.3U which seemed to be a pretty good dose. The on the 4th he dropped pretty rapidly on the .9U and I dropped again to .75U, but I doubt that's enough, so I brought it back to .9U last night.
What gives? Do we have a wonky pen? Less calories? I started giving pepcid again in case he's getting a flare. I also started up his Clindamycin therapy yesterday. He had an acceptable preshot this morning at 261, so I'll probably stay at .9U through Thursday because I'm off then and can get checks, but he has acupuncture that AM and that usually throws him off. It is also supposed to be bitterly cold ALL WEEK after tomorrow. Highs in the teens is all, lows around or below zero. Ugh. I tracked cold weather last year and he seemed to run higher than not lower but I noticed dose was only 1U.
*edited to add Melissa. If you see this, Melissa, you're always good at pointing out alternative aspects, so I would like to see your ideas as well.