Gandalf, possible CP flare

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh boy, here we go again. Last one was January, similar progression this time and oddly enough right before a full moon again. Please see spreadsheet for notes then.

Last night shortly after shot and his raw food meal (about an ounce of raw with dasuquin and salmon oil mixed in) I watched him use the box for a successful and what looked like normal BM. Within an hour after that I heard puking near the boxes - he puked up all his raw about 2' from the box but I'm not sure if he was there because his tummy got upset and he thought he had to use box or what. Occasionally he'll have a BM and puke afterwards, which I guess is a sign of IBD maybe, not sure.

So, wasn't too concerned, but then he wouldn't eat. Didn't look like he ate all night. He seemed comfortable. PMPS was 182 and 1.25U dose. I tested at +10 and he was 281, so he either dropped and bounced or it was up because he felt bad.

This AM he got up and seemed all right. Wanted outside, I don't know if he went for grass or not, possibly, but he has not puked anything up that I noticed. He did have some poop on his butt when I checked at shot time and there was a small bit of loose stool in box. AMPS was 315, I gave 1.1U and 50ml fluids. Tried him on Fancy Feast which he normally loves, wouldn't even smell it.

So here it is noon, no change and now he appears uncomfortable. I gave .3CC Buprenex, left over from last flare, hope it's good 6 months later. Will do it every 8 hours.

I can take him in for bloodwork to see if his Amylase is high, but symptom-wise it appears almost exactly like progress in January, which began with a puke episode and no eating afterwards then progressed to where he acted ill/uncomfortable. Don't know if Pepcid is necessary yet. I'll give the bup a while to work. Not too worried about his BG at this point.

If anyone wonders if it was the raw food, I doubt it, as it was fresh from frozen.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Oh boy, here we go again. Last one was January, similar progression this time and oddly enough right before a full moon again. Please see spreadsheet for notes then.

Last night shortly after shot and his raw food meal (about an ounce of raw with dasuquin and salmon oil mixed in) I watched him use the box for a successful and what looked like normal BM. Within an hour after that I heard puking near the boxes - he puked up all his raw about 2' from the box but I'm not sure if he was there because his tummy got upset and he thought he had to use box or what. Occasionally he'll have a BM and puke afterwards, which I guess is a sign of IBD maybe, not sure.

So, wasn't too concerned, but then he wouldn't eat. Didn't look like he ate all night. He seemed comfortable. PMPS was 182 and 1.25U dose. I tested at +10 and he was 281, so he either dropped and bounced or it was up because he felt bad.

This AM he got up and seemed all right. Wanted outside, I don't know if he went for grass or not, possibly, but he has not puked anything up that I noticed. He did have some poop on his butt when I checked at shot time and there was a small bit of loose stool in box. AMPS was 315, I gave 1.1U and 50ml fluids. Tried him on Fancy Feast which he normally loves, wouldn't even smell it.

So here it is noon, no change and now he appears uncomfortable. I gave .3CC Buprenex, left over from last flare, hope it's good 6 months later. Will do it every 8 hours.

I can take him in for bloodwork to see if his Amylase is high, but symptom-wise it appears almost exactly like progress in January, which began with a puke episode and no eating afterwards then progressed to where he acted ill/uncomfortable. Don't know if Pepcid is necessary yet. I'll give the bup a while to work. Not too worried about his BG at this point.

If anyone wonders if it was the raw food, I doubt it, as it was fresh from frozen.

Aww, I am sorry Vicky. :( Sounds like you are doing all that you should be doing. So he hasn't eaten today at all? If so, then that is a little disconcerting but hopefully with the bup he will feel more like it. I don't have any suggestions, I am sorry. I will send some prayers though that this passes quickly. I know you don't need this added onto your plate now too. (((Vicky))) Poor Gandalf.

Keep us posted okay?
 
+5 BG 260. So not much movement there even though he hasn't eaten anything. I'll leave him be till this evening, then syringe him some raw mixed with Merrick Turducken, which is the lowest fat canned food I have in the house. Some Fancy Feast is 2% in fat. Merrick is about 3%. I'd give him the raw straight but it may not go down well since that's what he puked up last night.
 
sounds like you are doing everything right and as much as can be done.

Sending get better VERY quick vibes....

Let me know if there is anything I can send to help.

((((Gandalf)))) (((Vicky))))
 
PM report

+10.5 BG 122 .75U

I had to shoot because I work in the morning and his shot was way late this AM. The dose is what I used last winter and it seemed to be fine. It's going to take a while to get him back on track anyway, so I'm not too concerned if BGs go higher.

He's about the same. Lying around, not eating. He peed a little while ago and I got a ketone test, negative. I gave 50ml fluids (LRS) again tonight. He walked around a little before and after using box. I decided to wait before giving him more Buprenex. Pepcid I can give him again when I feed around midnight or so, depending on if I wake up promptly. Syringe feeding went well, although it's pretty watery, so I stopped at about 20cc.
 
Feel better, Gandalf!

What FF flavors are only 2% fat? I know they used to make a tuna one that was low fat, but I haven't found it since they changed labels. Did they re-name it? Could you boil some chicken breast meat and blend it with the broth (water it was boiled in) to make a puree? That would be low fat, wouldn't it?

If I remember correctly, he came out of the flare last Jan pretty fast, didn't he? Paws crossed that it will be quick this time.
 
Re: PM report

Vicky & Gandalf said:
+10.5 BG 122 .75U

I had to shoot because I work in the morning and his shot was way late this AM. The dose is what I used last winter and it seemed to be fine. It's going to take a while to get him back on track anyway, so I'm not too concerned if BGs go higher.

He's about the same. Lying around, not eating. He peed a little while ago and I got a ketone test, negative. I gave 50ml fluids (LRS) again tonight. He walked around a little before and after using box. I decided to wait before giving him more Buprenex. Pepcid I can give him again when I feed around midnight or so, depending on if I wake up promptly. Syringe feeding went well, although it's pretty watery, so I stopped at about 20cc.

Hate it so much when they feel crappy like this. I hope there is a turnaround tomorrow.

He will be fine. He always bounces back. Sending good vibes for your boy.

Midnight right now, same time zone. Just wanted you to know I am thinking of you Vicky and your Gandalf.
 
"somewhere" you mentioned the dopeyness from the bup so you left it off the treatment today...you can give less bup for less dopeyness but still be helpful for pain control.

PK gets .1ml for starters and tapers back to .05 then .025 then done...it seems VERY helpful to him and also still makes him sleepy but not zonked.

Also, I was giving every 12 hours then vet advised I can give every 6 to 8hrs if I think he needs it....so .1u every 6 hours ( when you are home) might be helpful to get ahead of the pain and get things turned around pretty fast.

paws crossed for speedy recovery!
 
How's the G-man doing? I know you were at work all day but can you tell if he ate anything?

Thinking about you guys (i remember how bad it was the last time). Send an update when you can. Hugs to you both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top