Gandalf ~ March 7th - 13th

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone else a little creeped out by putting dates in the subject line?

I made a dose reduction last night and it seems to have worked well, but I'm also rolling back his shot times as usual after the weekend so it's a double edged affect.

AMPS +11 284 1.2U
+9.5 151
PMPS in a few.
 
No, not creeped out by the dates... maybe if you had years in there too....

Vicky, my hat is off to you for the constant adjustments you have to make to keep him as steady as possible given the changing schedules. Darn job! I can't even keep Jedie on schedule and I have NO excuses.

How is Gandalf feeling these days? Any spring fever yet? I opened the door to my balcony so I could step out and sweep off my kitchen rug and immediately have four of the five of them pouring out after me. It wasn't even warm OR sunny today.
 
I really need to start putting dates on my Molly threads.

I'm with Sheila, i'm crazy impressed by your ability to not only make adjustments but that you make such successful adjustments.

Can i wage a guess on the pmps? I'm going with 241. Let me know how I (i meant he :-D ) does.
 
I forgot to add...with the weather being so nice, your little girl will be out there in no time torturing the gophers. Can't wait for more videos : )
 
Nice surprise this AM

Sorry I didn't post last night's PMPS, which was 125. I shot 1.2U. This AM he was 107!! So I dropped it to 1.1U. He's 235 tonight, which isn't too bad. Just like you guys, I'm reluctant to give the prior dose on such a low preshot when I can't be here, but he's also bounced badly when I have, so I thought it best to decrease by a drop.

Thanks for the kudos. I don't know that I have the same confidence. I truly wish I did not have to change his shot times constantly. The split doses have helped better than anything previously. And Levemir at least makes it possible to give him earlier shots without too much trouble. Reducing the dose then seems a viable option.
 
I wonder if the 235 is a bounce from a low overnight - that caused the 107 this am?

I know you wish you could keep him on a firm schedule, but given that you can't I think you are doing a great job anticipating his dose decreases/increases. It means you have a good handle on how he reacts, the fact that earlier = increase and late = decrease AND you are seeing reactions from 1-2 cycles ago, not the last one. I find it hard, still, to keep all that in my head. I tend to react like I am still dealing with vetsulin - immediate cause/effect.
 
I tend to see the 235 tonight as more of a dose change/time change reaction than a bounce, but yes, he could have had a below 50 prior to or after the 107. More likely last night as he was headed down when I gave him the shot, which is why I decreased to 1.2U then.

A bounce for Gandalf is more like a spike! That 470 the other day is a clear bounce and why I am reducing his dose to 1.1U for a while. He can be 235 on a good day.
 
Shot times and split dosing

Vicky & Gandalf said:
Thanks for the kudos. I don't know that I have the same confidence. I truly wish I did not have to change his shot times constantly. The split doses have helped better than anything previously. And Levemir at least makes it possible to give him earlier shots without too much trouble. Reducing the dose then seems a viable option.

Well, you have become a master at handling those different shot times and the split doses. It still does get confusing to me at times, but you explain it well.

How is his appetite these days. Is he back to liking his raw fed in the syringe?
 
Re: Shot times and split dosing

pamela and tigger said:
How is his appetite these days. Is he back to liking his raw fed in the syringe?

He took some off the syringe tonight. But he stops after 10ml and I have to administer the rest. He never really protests but if there's a little piece of bone he doesn't swallow he'll spit it out, along with the mouthful of food.

He eats pretty well on his own otherwise. I don't really like giving him the tuna and egg all the time, but I am putting the Wellness Healthy Indulgence with it and the other cats are helping him with it. I have about 40 cans of Wellness grain free just sitting now because they won't eat it when they can get to his food.

We have an ultrasound scheduled on the 19th now. I asked for the day off from work because it's such a hassle to take him in and have to wait to pick him up until 5pm, but I'll probably have to wait anyway because she said they will do him last so he is further away from the last time he ate. They prefer an empty stomach for abdomenal US.
 
Re: Shot times and split dosing

pamela and tigger said:
How is his appetite these days. Is he back to liking his raw fed in the syringe?

He took some off the syringe tonight. But he stops after 10ml and I have to administer the rest. He never really protests but if there's a little piece of bone he doesn't swallow he'll spit it out, along with the mouthful of food.

I guess that kind of makes sense. I haven't noticed those little pieces in Tigger's raw food bowl from FP, but since Gandalf is used to the syringe feeding of the raw maybe then that little piece of bone seems odd to him?

He eats pretty well on his own otherwise. I don't really like giving him the tuna and egg all the time, but I am putting the Wellness Healthy Indulgence with it and the other cats are helping him with it. I have about 40 cans of Wellness grain free just sitting now because they won't eat it when they can get to his food.

Yes, those pouches are tasty (Tigger told me that), but like we discussed before, they are expensive and pretty low carb wise even though they have a lot of gravy (lots of water for the $). I use them for those non-eating times...to spice up Tigger's raw food. Can you just squeeze out some gravy to entice the other cats to the Wellness grain free stuff?

We have an ultrasound scheduled on the 19th now. I asked for the day off from work because it's such a hassle to take him in and have to wait to pick him up until 5pm, but I'll probably have to wait anyway because she said they will do him last so he is further away from the last time he ate. They prefer an empty stomach for abdomenal US.

So, a week from this Friday. I am sure you will be on pins and needles just waiting...I would for sure. So what are you looking for here with the US...an update and comparison from before?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top