Gandalf cautious update

Status
Not open for further replies.
BGs have been doing better. I raised to 1U Monday night after a whole day in the 200s.

We may have something else going on and some of you will probably connect his lessening need for insulin to the possibility. I know I thought about it and with what's been happening, the dots are connecting.

I scheduled an Ultrasound for next Thursday. That's the earliest I could get it with our regular vet. To my elation, my vet clinic got their own US machine! No more having to wait on the roving radiologist! Our vet just completed her training course, a whole week's worth, I assume at either Univ. of Missouri where she graduated from or U of IL. It could have also been in St. Louis as that's where the roving radiologist was from.

I decided not to go through the whole work-up routine for this. I could have taken him in Monday but since he didn't seem in immediate distress, I decided to wait to speak to our acupuncture vet today. I'm sorry I didn't write about it sooner, especially with a couple of you with whom I'm in off board contact. I'm trying to come to grips with what it may mean for him.

Late Sunday because I'd been outside off and on all day I changed the boxes and discovered bloody poo. Not a little either. I did not know who had it, but I could guess. I checked him out and although he had stuff in his hair, there was no discharge. It was hard to tell how fresh it was, as it had obviously been there for hours, but it was still red. No BM on Monday, then yesterday there was some, and today as well. It seems to be on the outsides though, I know we read about tarry stools and the stool itself is not made of blood.

So. He had been diagnosed with IBD by the radiologist quite some time ago and I had originally taken him to the vet in 2005 for only blood in his stool when he was discovered diabetic. He's never really shown outward symptoms of IBD though, such as diarrhea or constipation. I think he may have been somewhat constipated though on Sunday - because of his lower BGs I had not been giving sub-Q fluids very often. I had also stopped feeding his raw food supplementation, frankly because it's a hassle. He won't eat it on his own if I put it down for him and if I leave it either the others eat it or it goes bad. So I syringe feed it to him.

I started that back up Monday and gave him more fluids last night and today too. Everything I read about constipation & IBD emphasizes hydration and I already believe in raw food for IBD issues.

But I know it's probably beyond that, especially to continue for 4 days. I have not seen him in the box to know if he is stressed by going or straining. I had to clean him off last night though, so it seems caused by the colon action. The acu vet mentioned a polyp. I don't know if they would be able to see that on US or not. For those who aren't aware, there are certain types of tumors which eat glucose. Occasionally when long term diabetics suddenly have less need for insulin, it's because of a tumor.

I know it could merely be colitis or some other cause, a foreign object, he does eat grass. They did a parasite exam of the sample today and it was negative. He's not acting different, other than being mad because I had to clean him last night and then this morning he had wet litter in his paw. He hates that! And he did it again after we came home from the acu treatment, so I had to put a towel over him to clean him this time. He forgave me a while later. This morning he came to the bathroom for shot time like usual. Jumped on the toilet, then on the sink counter. He doesn't know there may be something wrong. And I hope I can keep him that way.
 
It is possible it's something minor--Buddy had bloody stool and constipation last year-went away on its own after a week
(and after an expensive vet visit, of course). Just in case, you both will be in my prayers tonight.
Please le us know as soon as you know anything.
 
Oh really? Was it bad? I mean bad enough that you were scared for him? What did they think caused it?
That's why I want to jump right to the ultrasound unless vet suggests something else. I know only a scope or exploratory surgery are conclusive, but at least the US is non-evasive. And I don't see the point in doing UA or even bloodwork unless they want to check his blood levels, which makes sense at least. If he has blood loss you want to know what his counts are.

I read some things online last night that make me think it's often not explored well enough when it happens so I'd like to at least rule out the worst, ya know?

Thanks for the prayers. And I appreciate you telling me about Buddy having it too and that it resolved. Makes me feel better.
 
So sorry to hear about this new complication for Gandalf. Let's hope it is a passing thing.. fingers and paws crossed.

Ilkka and Tommie
 
Can't go by me --i'm always scared for Buddy, every little thing.
Don't know what caused it, but after bloody stool and then none for 6days (the vet had to yank it out..ughh!) he was fine .i think you are smart to go for the US first.
hard to believe that the newest, biggest, most expensive vet in Manhattan doesnt have one -they roll it in 2 x a week-you're lucky. I know you're scared but try to wait until you have he facts before freaking out,thats what i try to do now. Your taking quick action so that's good -it can only help. you're going tomorw, right? i'll watch for your post.
 
I will certainly keep good thoughts for Gandalf. I hope it's "nothing". You take such good care of him, so whatever it is, please don't blame yourself.

I think that bright red blood comes from something close to the anus, so maybe it's something with the anal glands? Or a polyp that has a burst blood vessel, also in the last section of colon. The farther up whatever is bleeding is, the darker the blood is and the more incorporated into the stool it is.

I think that Beau had a couple of stools with bright red blood in it over a weeks time last year and then once again about 2-3 months ago. I am not positive it is him, so I didn't take any action other than to watch for more of it, which hasn't happened.

Try not to worry until you have to, OK?

(((hugs))) (((pats))) (that's for you and Gandalf, in that order :roll: )
 
I'm so sorry to hear that Gandalf's not feeling well. I believe Sheila is correct - that the brighter the blood the closer to the anus, which is a better thing than having dark red blood. It could be an internal hermroid that was aggrevated when his food was changed - causing his IB to flair, causing the internal hemroid to bleed.
Keeping you and Gandalf in my thoughts and prayers.
 
Thanks for all the well wishes! Gandalf would purr for you - or growl, I'm not sure. He's so grumpy now because I've had to clean his butt, clean litter out of his paws and tonight he had a bad mat, so I had to try to comb it out. His resulting PMPS was 362! I should have tested first.

I didn't find any stool in the box that I thought might be his today, so maybe he didn't go. I would be freaked out if he had bloody stool and then didn't go for 6 days like Buddy! That whole enema thing just sounds like yuck!

If you're wondering how I can tell stools apart with 4 cats in the house, usually the dominant cat won't cover theirs, unless it ends up covered from another cat in the house. Gandalf is the only male and is dominant so he doesn't cover. He's a large cat also, so size matters :roll:
 
Lana & Yoyo said:
Vicky, I was wondering what Gandolf gets acupuncture for?

Lana

Thanks for asking. He's been getting acupuncture treatments for almost 2 years now! It is for arthritis mainly but when other things are going on, like when he had pancreatitis, the acu vet changes some of the needle spots. He also gets B12 shots and Adequan shots from her in aqua points, which are specific points you can put fluids.

It is not to cure anything, merely to help with discomfort. My aim with the treatments is to maintain his level of activity as well as possible. He does not respond to standard pain meds well and there really are no safe NSAIDS for cats, although I know there are advancements in NSAIDS for cats being made, I am very leery of any of them because Metacam has such a bad reputation.

I know it does something for him because he's not a good cat at the vets not mean, he just growls and does not want to be there. But he lays there with his eyes half closed while the needles are in.

It is also helpful for other things, but make sure if you ever consider it that the acupuncturist is also a trained veterinarian because I think they understand cats and dogs anatomy better than someone who just does acupuncture. Gandalf's is excellent - because she's a vet I can discuss other things with her. That's the other reason I would recommend an acupuncture vet.
 
Marci and Buddy said:
thanks for that reccomendation Vicky.
When did you schedule the US for?

Next Thursday. Our regular vet only has office visits on Thursdays. She just completed her training course so this will be a good real life experience for her!! They can send it off for a certified radiologist to read also.

I can't believe a vet in Manhattan does not have an US machine! You should tell them there's a clinic in podunk Quincy Il which is on the cutting edge! They are an AAHA accredited hospital though so they kind of have to be. They also pioneered laser surgery in the area. The owner/lead vet trains other vets how to use it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top