Gandalf 6/8 AMPS 239 ~ 1.3U

Status
Not open for further replies.
+7 was 107, so I will lower to 1.2U tonight. He's outside right now.

If you'll remember back from when I was gone back in April, his resulting number after 30+ hours from last shot was also in the 400s. No doubt he's diabetic.

I'm going to check him again at +9. Remember how last week we had the low PMPS after a decent +7 on 1.3U. Very pleased how quickly he came back down.

Which brings me to Melissa's question about how Sheila & I react with dose changes as if they're taking affect immediately. I guess my response is more because "why wait?" Maybe I don't understand exactly what you're referring to - holding doses or what?

Another thing I'll point out is that waiting the customary days is recommended to newbies because they're not at the right dose and trying to find it. If you don't give Lev enough time to get up to speed, you could surpass the best dose.

Making changes based on today's numbers is possible and necessary when on the right dose. Gandalf's current responses are a good example - he went without insulin for 2 cycles, I knew that 1.3U was a bit much, but I also knew it would bring him down quicker, so I went with it and watched for the nadir to drop, which it has, so tonight I need to get down to the better dose of 1.2U.

Does that help any at all?
 
PMPS 7:45 PM 118 ~ 1.2U

However, I'm concerned he's aggravated his arthritis in his front left leg because he went under the bed several times yesterday, last night and today because I had a friend visiting and he's not used to strange people staying here. It was probably 9 years ago the last time he saw my friend. He laid in the bedroom doorway watching her for a while last night, so I thought he was fine, but he kept going under the bed and then it stormed this morning and he stayed under the bed all morning, except for shot time and when he ate. He went outside a couple times this afternoon and seemed fine. After his shot, he jumped on the window seat and when I showed him his dinner, he paused when getting down off the stool as if he was scared to jump. Then when he did, he stumbled and limped to his feeder.

I gave him a dose of Buprenex I have left over from his last pancreatitis attack. He does not deal well with pain. I may get him in to see the acupuncturist if it's not better by tomorrow night.
 
Paws crossed that he feels better tomorrow. I think the weather (barometric pressure) change was so abrupt today that maybe that was what caused his pain. Plus, it was really chilly here and humid and that cold, moist air could be to blame as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top