Gandalf 4/11 AMPS +10.5 352 ~ 1.2U

Status
Not open for further replies.
I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place. All these split doses make it hard to know what's going on, but the rock is that he's too high constantly - he should not be mid 300s at +10.5!

I almost raised the dose to his old, best dose, this 1.2U is actually .2U less in name than what I now call 1.4U - so 1.2U is his old 1U. But I was afraid that might be too much all at once on +10.5, given what happened last Sunday.
 
I know all the schedule changes and dosing to accommodate them is tough, but do you know how low he went overnight? I really try to not make dosing decisions on preshots. It's just been hammered into me that the long acting insulins need to be changed based on nadir.
 
I don't think he had any kind of low last night, if he's +300 at +10, he didn't drop. His drop is normally +8 to +9. Sure he could have thrown a steep curve at +4 or something, but doubtful.

Tonight he had 289 at +10, then at PMPS , +11.5, he was only 250. I stayed with the 1.2U. Made sure he ate. His appetite is fine now. In fact, I'm breaking my own rules of giving food with by-products. He LOVES 9-Lives and some are 4.5% or 4% fat, so I think they're OK for his pancreatitis sensitivity. No problems yet. So that's what I've begun buying for my crew.

It's such a Catch-22. Good food isn't any good if they won't eat it or it makes them sick because they're sensitive to the fat content.
 
"good" food is different for different cats. And on a scale of total crap (cheap dry food) to totally wonderful (raw), there is "acceptable" and "ok" and "good enough". And you are right, if they won't eat it, it doesn't matter what it is. If it makes them sick, it is "bad" food for them.

I feed by-products food (Friskies) because they like it and I can afford it, but I give them white meat chicken as treats to up the protein quantity and quality wihtout adding fat. Sometimes it's raw, sometimes it's lightly boiled. Will Gandalf eat chicken?
 
Yes, he loves cooked chicken, although the leg quarters I was slow cooking for my elderly civie, Tigget, he won't touch. Let's just say he likes the people variety of cooked chicken!
 
Mmm, i like people chicken too :-D

Sorry G's numbers have been a bit wonky lately. I find it interesting that his pmps number (11.5) was lower than his +10. Does seem his nadir is shifting. Feeding times haven't changed so i wonder what's attributing to it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top