Galaxy (GA)
Member
We hit 40 at +10! Yes, that's right, 40. I didn't even know numbers can go this high.
So there's clearly a trend visible on the SS, the more I give the higher the numbers go. Yet we haven't even approached the dose that could POSSIBLY work and last a good 12 hours, but I'm not allowed to raise dose for a full week or two (well, 1 or 2? cos that's not clear either) on the same dose, as per vet's instructions.
I've read article after article on feline diabetes and they all agree on this:
"To control BG to <14 mmol/l (252 mg/dl) for as much of a 24 h period as possible; and
To avoid clinically significant hypoglycaemia at all times.
Where more intensive monitoring is feasible, aiming to maintain BG ⩽11 mmol/l (198 mg/dl) may be helpful in further minimising metabolic derangements associated with DM and in encouraging diabetic remission"
one such article and this quote from here.
So, it seems to me that the goal is to maintain a low enough BGL, and the 12 hour intervals is for the owner's convenience. At the moment, the 3 units of Prozinc is nowhere near enough, that's obvious. Yet I don't want to raise just yet, for the above reason (in bold). However, what I could do, is give the 3 units every time his sugar hits the unwanted range, regardless of how many hours have passed. I can do this, I am willing to wake up in the middle of the night and test and shoot. The question there however, is how much to give then? and where do we draw the line, at what number do we shoot again?
An easier question is when would I raise. I would raise the dose IN ORDER TO extend the periods of time between shots. So this is kind of the other way around. Rather than give one dose every 12 hours, we adjust the dose in order to achieve the 12 hour interval.
I am going to throw this out there and see what everyone thinks. Of course I am not going to do this without hearing some opinion first. Has anyone thought of doing this? Or am I being crazy?
So there's clearly a trend visible on the SS, the more I give the higher the numbers go. Yet we haven't even approached the dose that could POSSIBLY work and last a good 12 hours, but I'm not allowed to raise dose for a full week or two (well, 1 or 2? cos that's not clear either) on the same dose, as per vet's instructions.
I've read article after article on feline diabetes and they all agree on this:
"To control BG to <14 mmol/l (252 mg/dl) for as much of a 24 h period as possible; and
To avoid clinically significant hypoglycaemia at all times.
Where more intensive monitoring is feasible, aiming to maintain BG ⩽11 mmol/l (198 mg/dl) may be helpful in further minimising metabolic derangements associated with DM and in encouraging diabetic remission"
one such article and this quote from here.
So, it seems to me that the goal is to maintain a low enough BGL, and the 12 hour intervals is for the owner's convenience. At the moment, the 3 units of Prozinc is nowhere near enough, that's obvious. Yet I don't want to raise just yet, for the above reason (in bold). However, what I could do, is give the 3 units every time his sugar hits the unwanted range, regardless of how many hours have passed. I can do this, I am willing to wake up in the middle of the night and test and shoot. The question there however, is how much to give then? and where do we draw the line, at what number do we shoot again?
An easier question is when would I raise. I would raise the dose IN ORDER TO extend the periods of time between shots. So this is kind of the other way around. Rather than give one dose every 12 hours, we adjust the dose in order to achieve the 12 hour interval.
I am going to throw this out there and see what everyone thinks. Of course I am not going to do this without hearing some opinion first. Has anyone thought of doing this? Or am I being crazy?