Fur Shot BG now 494

Scdal

Member Since 2020
Please help, Phoenix BG has been great since I increased his insulin dose. This morning, I gave a fur shot. I just checked his BG before feeding him his lunch. It is 494. I know you say not to, but would it be possible for me to give him at least a partial dose of insulin? His BG has never been this high.
Phoenix is very food sensitive. His BG always goes up at least 100 points after he eats. The 494 reading was before eating. I have already fed him a small amount but I am considering withholding the rest of his lunch to try and keep his BG down. Please advise me what I should do. I am scared with this 494 reading.
 
You don't know how much went in so given more would just not be safe. I would not withhold food, feed the lowest carb food you have.

Unfortunately, the best thing to do is just ride this out.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would not give another shot because you have no idea how much might have made it in. I have thought I gave fur shots on numerous occasions but then Ruby's BGs came down. 494 is high but Phoenix can tolerate it much better than being very low. He will recover once you resume the shots.
 
Thank you, I am so scared. I will continue to monitor his BG hourly and I am hoping it will drop but it usually gets higher later in the day. This is what is scaring me.
 
No matter how high never shoot again after a suspected fur shot. Too much insulin can lead to a symptomatic hypo. Way too risky. :bighug:
 
Thank you, I am so scared. I will continue to monitor his BG hourly and I am hoping it will drop but it usually gets higher later in the day. This is what is scaring me.
Nothing to be scared of at all. It would be more worrisome if he were in red numbers all day long for a few days. Let it ride out until his evening shot. He will come down.
 
Nothing to be scared of at all. It would be more worrisome if he were in red numbers all day long for a few days. Let it ride out until his evening shot. He will come down.
Nothing to be scared of at all. It would be more worrisome if he were in red numbers all day long for a few days. Let it ride out until his evening shot. He will come down.
Phoenix's BG is now 516 at +7 after fur shot.
 
It's ok. You don't need to test him until PMPS. He will be safe. Cats can tolerate high glucose levels for brief periods of time but not very low (below 50) numbers. :bighug:
Thank you, I am trying not to panic. I don't know what I would do without all of you. Phoenix has never had a reading this high. I can't wait for his evening shot. Even then, his BG doesn't start falling until +8 after his insulin injection.
 
Back
Top