Frutosamine at 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Casanova is currently at 6 units but after going to the vet last week and finding out his fructosamine level is 285, down from 345 last year, I'm rethinking his dosage. I was able to start a curve today and here are the numbers so far. I really didn't think that the 285 was too low, but my vet thinks it is too low. I'm going to show her my numbers from today tomorrow but wanted to hear any thoughts from the minds on this board before talking to her. He has had some pretty low numbers today but is acting normal so I'm not overly concerned. Any thoughts are welcome.

Thanks,
Laura

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... EdWc#gid=0
 
Hi there,

That 285 is quite a low frutosamine. I would be thinking about lowering the dose. Given the low BGs you got today, I would wonder if your cat is heading toward remission.

The scale for the frutosamine is not the same as BG numbers. You may want to ask your vet for the scale the lab is using. A 285 from my lab would be considered non-diabetic. All lab scales vary.

Best of luck

Claudia
 
285 is in the normal range for a non diabetic cat. That's the question though, how much should the dosage be lowered without him going back up to high numbers again? I just tested again at +10 and his BG was 70.

Thanks,
Laura
 
That's a question best posed over in Lantus TR forum. Busier and more eyes over there.

If a dose reduction fails, then you simply take it back up again.

He's at 6U now. IMHO, I think with some of those numbers you got today, drop to 5.5U.

Do you have plenty of test strips? HC food? can stay up to monitor tonight? You don't want to skip tonight, and with those low numbers you have gotten today, you might need to test more tonight.

Can you backfill your SS with the last weeks worth of data? Please.
 
I haven't been testing very frequently so I don't have any numbers other than the ones posted today. I think I will go down to 5.5 tonight and see how that goes. I do have plenty of strips and some HC food. Thanks for the advice.

Laura
 
Hi again,

If it were my cat, I would cut the dose in half and test frequently. Do you have ketone strips to test his urine? You probably should keep an eye out for ketones if you cut the dose in half. Don't think you will see them given the numbers, but just be safe.

If you cut the dose in half, it will take a day or two to see a difference.

Hope this helps,

Claudia
 
Really important to get mid-cycle and before bed tests - if he goes too low and you don't catch it ...
 
Hi Laura,

It's me again:( When did you open the insulin you are using? It occurred to me that no one had asked that question.

Hope tests are going well today.

Claudia
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top