FRUSTRATIONS WITH VET

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigHeadTodd

Member Since 2013
Hello and thank you for such an informative group of caring pet owners!

My recent rescue BIG HEAD TODD is not only FIV+ but was just diagnosed FD. I couldn't be more frustrated from the stress and ignorance and lack of current information and compassion my vet had for helping us begin the treatment. I have 6 other fosters and every dime counts in the health and wellbeing of everyone in my home including the humans!

Below is a letter that I just wrote to ---... I'm sure it will not effect his ego in the least bit... but I just felt it necessary and would like to share to see how everyone feels about helping to develop a "general" FD program plan for introducing/education newly diagnosed FD pet owners... this program can be shared on the site but I can also use my professional expertise to print and distribute to any/all vets who should be much more current on treatment and supportive with home care and share some of the economical responsibility through offering a total picture in order to ensure the efficacy of our pets. Not to mention our sanity as a pet owner: who for me, was first scared for my pet and then even more scared for myself in fears of not being able to afford the treatment/give the time/or the devotion necessary for BIG HEAD's recovery and long-term care.

Please let me know, maybe there is already something out there that exists... can't say havent found it in my travels thus far... can say that none of the vets I called had any knowledge of the Roomp/Rand study dated back in 2009 and still use Humulin N as the choice of insulin prescribed in particular for newly diagnosed pets... or the nutritional chart to offer alternative food choices that are from what I can tell not much different from the DM and one third the costs.

I will keep trying to get educated and share what I have learned to help prevent my horrible experience from happening to any other pet and their pet owner... my cat is just as frustrated... we weren't properly sticking him, didn't give him the best insulin, switched his diet to food that has been called "crap" by the majority of you on this board... we are all exhausted and feel defeated in this house currently... BiGs is still 508 and we are a week into this...

Dr ---,
We have had a very long weekend trying to get a true understanding of what type of commitment and lifestyle changes are required to care for our pet with newly diagnosed diabetes.

I have found a free monitor after rebate at Walgreens. The kit is $9.99 (rebate free) and 100 test strips for only $42!!! and it only requires 0.5 microliters of blood (http://www.walgreens.com/store/c/walgre ... 59-product).

I called and spoke with Courtney to make sure I was able to return the AlphaTrak costing $199 +tax. The cost of the test strips for the alphaTrak is $60-80 range for only 50 test strip. It is Sunday and the only day I have to take to drive to your practice to return. So I will leave with Courtney and wait for the refund once your office manager is in on Monday.

This cost makes a huge impact on the longterm care for a pet with FD. Now I don't have to consider re-mortgaging my home!

I am frustrated because we were so overwhelmed on Friday after hearing the news. And more frustrated when there is so much conflicting information between what we learned from your practice and what we were researching and learning from other pet owners and vets who are treating FD. We didn't have the time to research and make educated decisions in treating our sick pet at the eleventh hour on a Friday night… but have found an economical way of being able to maintain the health of our pet. With the right equipment and insulin this process could have been much less frightening for us all here at home especially with the unnecessary added economic stress.

Humulin N is $90-$120 and only has a refrigerated shelf life of only 30 days once opened… Lantus is $120-140 but lasts for up to six months… AND IS PROVEN to be a more successful insulin for cats over the choice of Humulin N. YET AGAIN ANOTHER HUGE SAVINGS… (Lantus also offers free samples and a savings program).

I can not expect you to refund me the $90 of the humulin N (although it would be very kind of you, especially since we did not receive the proper instructions on how to use the vial i.e. injection of air into the vial and releasing air bubbles in the needle, not shaking the vial and how to prevent contamination buy not drawing the insulin in and out to get the proper dosage, everything that we have been doing wrong). It wasn't until I connected with FelineDiabetes.com and was educated by forums and shared videos from pet owners with the right instructions and advise did I learn how to properly treat.

I am requesting that you allow for the full refund of the AlphaTrak that is now only missing a few test strips and a few lancing devices. We just can not afford to maintain this monitor long term and it is such a huge price impact. If it wasn't so significant I wouldn't bother to take my time on a Sunday to drive over the bridge to return.

Hopefully you will share with your patients in the future especially due to the fact that this is a huge economical burden for any pet owner to take on and can be much different and much more manageable if the process/plan for treating FD was put together more like a program to ultimately support the efficacy for both owner and pet. I understand you need to run a business and make money but there is a fine line of how you can help or hinder the economic support needed in order to ensure the efficacy that is so much required for treating a condition such as FD. EXPENSES FOR FD: FOOD/INSULIN/NEEDLES/MONITOR/TEST STRIPS/LANCERS/URIN STRIPS/REGULAR VET VISITS/REGULAR LAB TESTING. This requires an entirely new economic plan for a family on a budget!!! Not to mention the preparation of the TIME/DEVOTION/DEDICATION/and above all PATIENCE required… An introductory program that I have suggested to help develop with the help of FelineDiabetes and hopefully fellow vets that are interested.

If you have anything to add please feel free to share your advise and professional experience is welcomed. At this point it is about sharing, education and informing… knowledge is the key!!!

Warm regards,
Jennifer [redacted personal information]
 
Jennifer,
That's an awesome letter!
Many people, when first discovering that their cat has diabetes, and hearing what it will cost to have it "managed" by a vet clinic are completely overwhelmed. Then they choose to have the cat put down, which is tragic and completely uncalled for.

I understand that a vet can't possibly stay up-to-date on every disease affecting every type of animal they see. And maybe they don't see too many cases of diabetes.

They may not realize that home-testing is an option, using human meters. They may not know that Humulin is a poor choice for cats. They may have been duped by the sales reps that push "prescription" food. And they most likely have no clue that "support groups" such as FDMB even exist, and that there's more good reliable information all over the internet for free than they could ever imagine.

Ignorance is not a crime. However, choosing to remain ignorant is criminal.

I hope his ego doesn't override his common sense and that the next diabetic cat he sees will benefit from your efforts. Perhaps he'll remember why he chose his profession in the first place.

Carl
 
Pretty good letter except I do not agree with the the life of the N insulin in your statement "Humulin N is $90-$120 and only has a refrigerated shelf life of only 30 days once opened…"
The FDA-Approved instructions fro both N and Lantus specify a life of 30 after opening/first use. I have Uses a via of No for over one year after opening with no noticeable loss of potency.
 
If you're actually interested in persuading/instructing the vet, using all caps ins't likely to help. No matter how upset you are, if you can keep it calm, specific, organized, and direct, you are much more likely to have the vet read and understand what you want to communicate.

Breaking up your topics into sections will help with readability, too, furthering your chances of communicating effectively.

My $0.02
 
Ps. Is the Walgreens glucometer one with the name "Tru" or "True" in it? Some folks have found them less useful for cats that brands such as Accuchek, Arkray Glucocard series (from ADW, our shopping partner), WalMart Relion Confirm/Micro/Prime and some others.
 
I'll be interested to see if you can get a refund on the AlphaTrak. Where I live, diabetic supplies like glucometers are non-returnable even if they haven't been opened. because of possible blood contamination (doesn't matter if it's human or animal.). Good luck!
 
Went to Walmart. Purchased the ReliOn Prime... Bigs is 548!!!! I am going to up the Lantus 2u for tonights injection. This is as high as it has been since we started testing on Friday. Any advice?!
 
I see you are posting in Lantus Tight Reg. Please consult with them there, so your responses are all in one thread.
 
Jennifer:

Look in the forum HEALTH LINKS and you will see a link to the AAHA Diabetes Treatment Guidelines. I would suggest you share this with your vet.

Best,
Rebecca
 
Just wanted to reach out and let all of our new friends know that Bigs is doing well at the moment. He has been diagnosed with congenital heart failure and in the emergency room 3 times over the past two weeks so his diabetes has become the secondary focus at the moment. I am increasing his Lantus to 3 units tonight his BG is still in the 500's... once we get a few days on the increased units I will begin building a new curve.

Thank you all for your advice and caring efforts to help Bigs.

I am keeping updates on his BG sheet and the url is in our signature. So please do not think that we have forgotten you all. We just have to get his heart regulated first and then focus on the BG. Good news is that he is showing no signs of Ketones so at least we have that going for us while we take the time to get him strong enough to work on getting him OTJ!!! I just can't wait for the day to enter a number that is in the green on our chart!!

Hugs out to all!!!

-Jen and BIgs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top