Fructosamine testing ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

toreishi

Member Since 2015
My vet wants to do a fructosamine test this afternoon and I’m not getting the point.

Vet and I are having conflicts (and I’m just about to search elsewhere). After a hyperglycemia bout a week + ago,which she attributed to my use of non rx low cho foods (per Dr. Lisa’s chart). I believe that it was due to too high insulin dosage which wasn’t calibrated after 3 weeks (2iu).

She suggested a week of my foods and no insulin. I’ve cheated and done my foods and 1iu.
She wants him in today for bg and fructosamine. Bg I get (because I STILL!!!! cannot get it….Though Idid get a flash of blood after one prick this week). Please explain fructosamine test under these circumstances. Thanks.
 
I've heard that if you can do home BG tests multiple times a day then take an average of those numbers (two weeks worth of numbers), you'll be able to estimate fructosamine without having to take the cat in for the test.

I totally get that you can't test BG at home yet. It does get easier. I know some people test multiple times a day but there's no way my cat would have allowed me to do that. Are you putting a layer of vaseline or neosporin (the clear gel, not the white ointment) on his ear? That really helps it bead up. And are you warming up the ear? I microwave a dry washcloth for 30 seconds then by the time I grab the cat, it has cooled off enough to put on her ears to stimulate blood flow.

If it were me, I'd take him in for a BG test but not waste the money on fructosamine. And I'd start searching for another vet. Why would she want you to take a week off insulin?? I had to switch vets too but now I've found someone who I really like.

Good luck, and post here with an update after your vet appointment with an update of Salt's BG. :)

Shane
 
I agree. One test will tell the vet whether your cat is still diabetic. (Although your home tests will do the same). For reference, we generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the lower to mid 200s at pre shot and in double digits at nadir (but not below 40). A cat is considered to be in remission if they range from 40 - 120, off insulin, for 2 weeks.

Maybe tell him you have been giving one unit plus the food so the bg test makes sense.

Can we help with your hometesting? If you tell us what the issue is, we may have some tips. Something that really helped us was to have a big enough lancet. The 30/31 gauge for humans may be too small for new diabetics; a 25-27 gauge may work best.
 
See my signature link Vet Interview Topics if you decide to go vet hunting.
To find a list of candidate vets, go to Google Maps and search for veterinarian near {your address goes here}
(minus the curly braces!). This will display a list of vets around your area.

For blood testing, if you absolutely must get blood, aim directly for the vein. If pricked, it tends to bleed easily so get the blood on a clean fingernail and start blotting the pricked area to reduce bruising and scabbing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top