Fructosamine Results for Pinky-POOR

Status
Not open for further replies.

DEF

Member Since 2011
Vet called: Fructosamine results were POOR (452) Refers to last 2 weeks prior to test. Test taken Nov 4, 2011.

+450 POOR
400-449 FAIR
350-399 GOOD
below 350 EXCELLENT

I asked for the test as I was getting much lower numbers with Freestyle Lite Meter compared to Relion Confirm and Vet's meter. And yet she didn't seem to be improving over last 2 months. Luckily, the fructosamine test didn't include time I reduced dose (only once for vacation) nor the latest possible fur shot numbers.

Over and above meter issues though the test said Poor so I am naturally disppointed. According to article by RAND when you reach 5u to 6u 'difficult to control' cats supposedly see better regulation so I really am hoping an effective dose is coming soon.

I do wonder about the viability of the Lantus but I am on the 3rd pen in only 2 months --kept trying a new pen hoping for better results. I don't shoot air into pen or shake, etc. I am thinking about getting a brand new vial instead but will probably wait for a week or 2 and hope for better numbers.
 
Hi guys .. I'm sorry the fructosamine test showed such high numbers for pinky .. I hope you find the right dose soon .. I know it's hard increasing up and up without seeing much results, but they will come .. it's just a matter of finding the right dose and being patient in the mean time .. hang in there!
 
Thanks Peter.

Does anyone have a spreadsheet where they are shooting 5u to 6u BUT not for an acromegaly kittycat? I looked for one but just see lower doses. I would like to look at them . Thanks.
 
punkin had a fructosamine test that was in the poor range before we headed off to Colorado State for his treatment. But in the same testing i had them check absolutely everything, and he's in decent shape. i don't think i'd put too much weight in it, elaine. you could make yourself crazy trying to figure all of this out - just tackle what you can control and do what you can to improve pinky from this point on. i think there were some suggestions in your last condo for you to try.

i don't think the fructosamine numbers correspond to the BG numbers either - not sure about that but they don't seem to be the same - ie, a 452 doesn't mean that pinky's average BG is 452.

if you look up stephanie & willy (not sure if he's a willie or willy) in the membership list he was on about 5units and not acro, or at least not tested - you could look at his ss. they stopped posting a while ago, maybe in june.
 
Julie,

you are right, that 452 is not a BG number average . As you can see , the chart says anything less than 350 is excellent so definately not referring to BG #.

But it is considered Poor for regulation according to their assessment and that is, if anything, probably on the conservative high side. (probably 150 BG averages would be considered excellent but I am guessing).

I explained to the vet that according to research Lantus is superior insulin. He said maybe it is not the right one for her. :YMSIGH: I think I have a line on a vet who is familar with Lantus though she is further away. I can't defend or feel I have to try to convince my vet that Lantus is better. I know he 'works' for me but he simply can't help me make any decisions and I am tired of that.

Elaine and Pinky
 
I don't know that you're looking at the big picture. Take a look at Gabby's SS. She is a challenge to keep regulated. If you check on the tabs at the bottom of the SS, her labs are included. Her fructosamine was checked in June. It was 364 which according to the reference ranges my vet uses, it puts her in the "good" range. My estimate of where her BG was at that time was in the 200s. I'm not sure I'd consider that "good."

Because the average caregiver doesn't test, vets use a different rule of thumb to define regulation. I also don't think that 5.0u is indicative of a high dose. Randi's Max was on a higher dose and is now OTJ. I think if you take Libby's recommendations to heart, you will get there.
 
Moonie is also a challenge like Gabby, but I dont do fructosamine tests anymore--The vets we use luckily were More openminded than most, and accepted our protocol...They know we home test..Fructosamine test is an average...
Being here we learn patience is the most important
thing to learn..Most of our cats had FD a long time before we even knew, so it may take some time to find the right dose..I get a month + using the vials, but it is good to change them when you feel numbers are being affected---You are trying very hard, and doing a great job...Pinky is lucky to have a bean like you!

Just please remember, to Look at The Whole Cat.. how he is acting, doing old good behaviors, cuddling,being more the cat he was before he got sick..This is so important, almost as important as the numbers-
 
Sienne,

That is what worries me abou the Fruct. Test.

You got a 'good' and the numbers weren't even that desirable or good.

Pinky got 'poor' (on 5u's) so they must REALLY be lousy as vets don't have a particularly low target BG . I am worried she has something else wrong with her.

I thought 5u was considered an 'abnormally' high dose compared to the 'norm'

but I realize there is nothing to be done anyway but just to keep plodding along.

I was able to see a spreadsheet (thanks Barbara) where the dose was very high and over a long, long time finally normalized. So there is hope for Pinky yet. I just wish she would perk up a bit.

Appreciate all the comments. Elaine and Pinky
 
there is MUCH hope for pinky! although it probably seems like you've been doing this a long time, it really hasn't been very long. there's a lot of truth to the FDMB saying that this is a marathon, not a sprint. what we all hope for is for our kitties to have many good days, feeling well and being happy.

for me, in real life, i'm a results-oriented person. give me the challenge, let me tackle and solve it. there are some things that don't fit into that box, however, and this is one of them. it's frustrating - and until i did this with punkin i didn't understand how people had trouble managing their diabetes. now i sure do - especially with the bounces and the new dose wonkiness - all things that seem so very illogical.

the best you can do is educate yourself as much as possible (which i know you are doing) and test often to gather data that can be analyzed. try getting some tests that you don't usually get - like a +2 or +3 in the evenings, to fill in the overall picture. think of that spreadsheet as being like a jigsaw puzzle. the more bits of data you add, the clearer the picture will become.

roni is absolutely right about looking at all of pinky. she doesn't know her numbers, and she is still the sweet kitter that you've always loved.
 
You know Binks looks alot like Pinky but Pinky has a pink nose. I will have to figure out how to post avatar (?) pic.

Julie and everyone , thanks for support.
 
Hi there!

My Black Kitty was a tough case - he didn't see green for 6 months and I believe it was 1 year before he got his first taste of HC.

He was diagnosed with IAA, a high dose condition which fortunately is self limiting. There was next to nothing known about it back then and It was the last thing we tested for. . .

Take a look at BKs ss. It was a battle. I know first hand the hope that the next dose will be "the" dose and the disappointment when it's not.
I know the frustration of yet another increase, and still the ss is a relentless sea of pink.
BK was the LAST cat anyone expected might go OTJ. After 21 months on insulin he did just that - went OTJ - it's been 2yrs now.

I would not start worrying about a high dose condition just yet. Take a look at Ollies ss - he got up to 5.25u and then turned right around.
Focus on taking the best care of Pinky that you can.
Keep plugging along and follow the guidance of those here who are more experienced.

And don't wast your money on fructosamine tests. . . it's better spent on plenty of test strips ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top