(GA) Gypsy's Parent
Member
My cat was peeing and urinating a lot. I figured it was related to worsening kidney disease but a vet visit revealed she is diabetic. The vet did a fructose test after the bloodwork showed diabetic. He prescribed 2 units, told me to get an Alpha Trak meter, gave me some info on paper and shoved me out the door. While he has been my vet for 20 years, I was a bit surprised at the lack of information. Fortunately, I know how to use the internet.
Stabbing the ears for blood is easy. There must not be any nerves there because the cat doesn't complain. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy taking BG measurements is.
I had read about steroid induced diabetes and the vet said it was OK to reduce Gypsy's prednisone dose from 2.5mg/day to every other day. She has been a kidney cat for three years and has high blood pressure and inflammation and hence has been taking amlodipine and prednisone for about a year or so now.
She had been on dry food (Halo grain free and Wellness Complete Health), but miracle of miracles she likes the Hill's m/d pork flavor! I bought a bag of flaked dried bonito at the Asian market (it's dirt cheap!) for treats and she loves it so much I add it to her wet food so that she will eat her entire meal in one sitting instead of having to wait an hour for her to eat enough. Based on calorie count, I think she's getting sufficient calories (162k) from eating one can of food per day.
The diet change and reduction in prednisone may account for the sudden decrease in her BG levels from 350-550 to 80-200. It's like she's in remission! I'm not sure how to dose her; I think I need to do a BG curve taking measurements every couple of hours. When her BG is low, I've been feeding her and then giving her small dose of insulin two hours later. I probably should check BG again to make sure her BG is increasing from food and I'm not sending her into hypoglycemic state.
I would like some advice on how to figure out how to determine dosage. "High is better than low", and I fear the insulin is sending her BG levels too low. Suggestions to get her onto a stable condition?
Overall, the fixed schedule is a royal pain, but I'm tickled pink that insulin is working and wet food has made a huge positive effect in BG levels.
Stabbing the ears for blood is easy. There must not be any nerves there because the cat doesn't complain. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy taking BG measurements is.
I had read about steroid induced diabetes and the vet said it was OK to reduce Gypsy's prednisone dose from 2.5mg/day to every other day. She has been a kidney cat for three years and has high blood pressure and inflammation and hence has been taking amlodipine and prednisone for about a year or so now.
She had been on dry food (Halo grain free and Wellness Complete Health), but miracle of miracles she likes the Hill's m/d pork flavor! I bought a bag of flaked dried bonito at the Asian market (it's dirt cheap!) for treats and she loves it so much I add it to her wet food so that she will eat her entire meal in one sitting instead of having to wait an hour for her to eat enough. Based on calorie count, I think she's getting sufficient calories (162k) from eating one can of food per day.
The diet change and reduction in prednisone may account for the sudden decrease in her BG levels from 350-550 to 80-200. It's like she's in remission! I'm not sure how to dose her; I think I need to do a BG curve taking measurements every couple of hours. When her BG is low, I've been feeding her and then giving her small dose of insulin two hours later. I probably should check BG again to make sure her BG is increasing from food and I'm not sending her into hypoglycemic state.
I would like some advice on how to figure out how to determine dosage. "High is better than low", and I fear the insulin is sending her BG levels too low. Suggestions to get her onto a stable condition?
Overall, the fixed schedule is a royal pain, but I'm tickled pink that insulin is working and wet food has made a huge positive effect in BG levels.