Frodo - wild swings in numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
OK, still trying to get Frodo set on some fairly steady dosing. The last few days have had some really strange results. We were getting somewhat near the end of the first vial of ProZinc, when on 3/18 we discovered that the syringe that had sat filled overnight in the refrigerator had a “blob” in it that would not dissolve. I thought that the insulin had probably gone bad. So we went to the vet and got a new vial. Vet advised that we could likely just go on with trying to use 3U bid, but I’m cautious and decided to run a couple of days of each lower dose before stepping it up. Good thing, too - look what happened 3/23 after 2 doses of 3U bid. And good thing we tested that morning - we’ve never gotten any numbers anywhere near that low- not hypo but low enough to scare me. We delayed the am shot and did only 1U. And I cut the evening shot back to 2U.
He stayed high that evening and for 3 hours post-shot, and was high the next morning and am + 6 and pm and pm +3.
So for right now we are trying 2.5/2.0, and numbers seem to be running high. 3/3 was likely a little too high. So how to zero in on a dosage?
The morning of 3/23 I was so startled by the low number (yes, we retested immediately to make sure it was real) that my main thought was to get some food into him in case it was headed down - didn’t think to not feed and retest in 15-20 minutes.
Any thoughts/comments? If we can’t get things steadied down in another month or so will seriously consider switching insulins.
Ruth Ann
 
I don't know that I have any advice, but I can understand your frustration. There was no rhyme or reason to that low AMPS. Are you dosing with U40 syringes or U100s? With the U100s you can micro dose as each half unit mark is 0.2 units of U40 ProZinc. That might help in finding that right dose between 2 and 3 units.
 
I have just started using the Prozinc a few weeks ago and feel like we are all over the map with my kitties numbers. I am getting ready to start using the u-100 syringes to see if a micro-change will help the lows and highs. I don't know if it is posted anywhere but if you do decide to change syringes and purchase from Wal-Mart be sure to ask for the 3/10 ml syringes. My first round I purchased the wrong ones and now have to figure out how to dispose of 100 needles that will not work.
 
Hmmm....those are some strange numbers. I'm not entirely sure what's going on. That green number came out of nowhere. Honestly I don't know what to tell you. Could you get a curve some day soon? Maybe that will help clear things up.
 
Maybe snag some tests in the +9 to +11 period; I'm wondering if there is a duration issue. If there is, you'll see the numbers go up sometime in that time span.
 
Gee, no wonder you're frustrated! I'm not sure I could offer any great ideas, either, except to concur with Rachel on getting a curve over the weekend. BJ may have a very good point on the duration issue, too. If you look at Bat's SS, you'll see we've had some trouble with getting her dose right ... all I can say is that she seems to be pretty sensitive to making dose changes too quickly and/or more than just a slight adjustment, also tends to hold onto the insulin longer than 12 hrs. Takes her awhile to settle into a dose, too. Of course, every cat is different in how the body metabolizes the insulin.

What about the current feeding situation in your multi-cat household? Does Frodo have access to the other cats' food when you're not around to keep an eye on him, and is everybody on low-carb? (I'm not familiar w/ "supreme supper" noted on your SS.)

I only ask because factors like grazing/ getting into your other kitties' food could affect Frodos numbers. (Just a thought.)
 
Maybe snag some tests in the +9 to +11 period; I'm wondering if there is a duration issue. If there is, you'll see the numbers go up sometime in that time span.
OK, will see if I can get some more tests in in the next 2-3 days, including at least a curve for daytime. Not sure about trying overnight - last time I tried I was so groggy that I didn't remember the morning insulin until a couple hours late!
 
[
What about the current feeding situation in your multi-cat household? Does Frodo have access to the other cats' food when you're not around to keep an eye on him, and is everybody on low-carb? (I'm not familiar w/ "supreme supper" noted on your SS.)

I only ask because factors like grazing/ getting into your other kitties' food could affect Frodos numbers. (Just a thought.)[/QUOTE]

Other cats get some amount of Orijen kibble, although I try to restrict amount. And stand and watch them eat and cover any they leave. Frodo did get maybe 2-3 tonight when somebody else didn't finish up and I wasn't watching for a moment, but that's only happened a couple of times. I usually give him some Fancy Feast to eat while the others get some kibble. The Supreme Supper is a Friskies Pate - the food tables linked to from this website rate it at 11% carbs, a little higher than the other Friskies pates. But one that he will usually eat. All the cats get raw pork, beef, and chicken, and that's left out "on ice" overnight - I don't know if Frodo has been eating it overnight or not - somebody does.
 
If you want to test between naps, it helps to make the duration of the nap a multiple of 45 minutes. This is because the average human sleep cycle is 45 minutes and it is easier to wake up towards the end of a cycle, rather than in the middle.
45 minutes
1 hour 30 minutes
2 hours 15 minutes
3 hours
3 hours 45 minutes
4 hours 30 minutes
5 hours 15 minutes
6 hours
 
If you want to test between naps, it helps to make the duration of the nap a multiple of 45 minutes. This is because the average human sleep cycle is 45 minutes and it is easier to wake up towards the end of a cycle, rather than in the middle.
Brilliant tip, BJ! :D You should post that whole comment again on the main forum, as a handy guide for all members who walk around in a daze from those middle-of-the-night BG checks!
 
OK, we got up every 2 hours to test during the night. Numbers look reasonable, if too high. However today's daytime numbers were another story. Frodo probably didn't eat last night from pm shot + 2 through to morning, and he wasn't very hungry most of the day, eating only small amounts. However, around am shot + 9 he was rather suddenly hungry and ate quite a bit. Which appears to be reflected in the numbers. Poor little guy has lost quite a bit of weight and gotten really skinny (He was never fat) and I just feel like I want to feed him as much as he will eat. He isn't always hungry, and I just don't know if it would be possible to get him on a more regular eating pattern.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top