FREEZING FOOD FOR AUTO FEEDER

Irish Pat

Active Member
Is there any precautions needed when starting a new bottle of insulin? We are very close to starting a new bottle and I was just curious if there is anything I need to be aware of. Do we have to watch him more closely to see if the new bottle reacts differently is my main concern?
 
Just took Brady's sugar, he was down to 62 got exremely hungry with a little twitching going on, now @ 65 +6...fed a little more Medium carb food to have him start going up
 
On his way back up at 75 +6.5....not going to lie, we got scared.....waiting on some updates on how to handle in the future...the twitching scared us quite a bit......

Is a dose reduction called for tonight?
 
No difference unless the old bottle hasn't been working, which this vial seems to be fine! Brady's definitely earned a reduction tonight, congrats! You're doing okay. Once you get him above 90 stall feeding and check in a half hour to see if he's holding his own.
 
Is there any precautions needed when starting a new bottle of insulin? We are very close to starting a new bottle and I was just curious if there is anything I need to be aware of. Do we have to watch him more closely to see if the new bottle reacts differently is my main concern?
You might see a little drop in numbers when you start a fresh bottle. Just monitor.


On his way back up at 75 +6.5....not going to lie, we got scared.....waiting on some updates on how to handle in the future...the twitching scared us quite a bit......

Is a dose reduction called for tonight?
I believe you started doing the Modified PZ dosing? If so, then no reduction. If you are doing SLGS, then yes, a reduction. I’m hoping you stuck with the MPZ because he’s just starting to see some better cycles.

A few things to remember:
  • It takes about 30 mins after feeding to see a change to the BG so unless he’s in the 30s, I’d be careful about testing and feeding every 15 minutes or you will overdo the carbs and send him skyrocketing;
  • Once you stop a drop and he flattens, stick with LC and see if you can get him to “surf” green numbers
  • Look at where he is in the cycle and how much the drop is before you decide on carbs; often, mid to late cycle green numbers require less carbs than early in the cycle
  • He started out in pink and dropped to blue in three hours. That’s when I would have taken “action” (fed a good helping of LC) to try and keep him from dropping into the 60s and I definitely would have tested one hour after I got the blue number.
It’s very common when they drop that fast to see them starving. Not sure about the twitching but he was in very safe numbers so it might have been his response to dropping fast more than any issue about low numbers.
 
No difference unless the old bottle hasn't been working, which this vial seems to be fine! Brady's definitely earned a reduction tonight, congrats! You're doing okay. Once you get him above 90 stall feeding and check in a half hour to see if he's holding his own.


Thank you for checking in on me Elizabeth.....very much appreciated.....He started to rise so we waited a little bit...rechecked at +7.5 and he was fine at 140
 
You might see a little drop in numbers when you start a fresh bottle. Just monitor.



I believe you started doing the Modified PZ dosing? If so, then no reduction. If you are doing SLGS, then yes, a reduction. I’m hoping you stuck with the MPZ because he’s just starting to see some better cycles.

A few things to remember:
  • It takes about 30 mins after feeding to see a change to the BG so unless he’s in the 30s, I’d be careful about testing and feeding every 15 minutes or you will overdo the carbs and send him skyrocketing;
  • Once you stop a drop and he flattens, stick with LC and see if you can get him to “surf” green numbers
  • Look at where he is in the cycle and how much the drop is before you decide on carbs; often, mid to late cycle green numbers require less carbs than early in the cycle
  • He started out in pink and dropped to blue in three hours. That’s when I would have taken “action” (fed a good helping of LC) to try and keep him from dropping into the 60s and I definitely would have tested one hour after I got the blue number.
It’s very common when they drop that fast to see them starving. Not sure about the twitching but he was in very safe numbers so it might have been his response to dropping fast more than any issue about low numbers.


Thank you for checking in on me as well Marje......Couple things...

He is still always fed a 1/4 can at +4 so LC food was given to him a little early today because my plans were to mow today before the heat rose to much...well that went out the window......So he was fed LC at +3.5 today, I was going to actually let him go without checking him because of his past numbers he hasnt fallen that fast in quite some time.....im so glad I checked, honestly he is the one that made me check just by the way he was acting, really pressing us for food....guess i know why....So he was fed LC at +3.5 and went clean down to 62 after that feeding...with him starving and then that twitching while he was laying down after eating made me think i better give him some more MC food...In the future I will keep an eye on him and let the first MC or LC food I give him time to raise his numbers a little......When things happen you havent seen before in your cat, it makes you a little scared, thats the reason I went right to MC food......I didnt know what was happening.....

As far as dosing methods, we have been staying pretty much at 3U unless we got some low PS numbers....With everything going on and being back to work for a bit it was a decision we had to make....It may not be the best decision but it is one that we had to make due to circumstances....So I will see what his PS number is this eveing and make a decision based on that number....

Curious on your thoughts about him dropping so fast to 62 after his LC feeding at +3.5??? To me Brady is the classic ECID definition, he makes you sit back and go hmmmm...I thought for sure after that +3.5 feeding he was going to flatten out, maybe drop a little bit but not to 62......

One other thing, he is off Cerenia for two days now...doubt that had anything to do with it.....
 
Last edited:
No difference unless the old bottle hasn't been working, which this vial seems to be fine! Brady's definitely earned a reduction tonight, congrats! You're doing okay. Once you get him above 90 stall feeding and check in a half hour to see if he's holding his own.


He rose clean up to 437 for PMPS, I think it was because of the MC food we gave him.....Going to still reduce to 2.5 tonight we are exhausted, it was a very late night and not much sleep....we also have to take care of us......
 
Curious on your thoughts about him dropping so fast to 62 after his LC feeding at +3.5??? To me Brady is the classic ECID definition, he makes you sit back and go hmmmm...I thought for sure after that +3.5 feeding he was going to flatten out, maybe drop a little bit but not to 62......
Every cat is classic ECID :p It’s pretty typical that LC isn’t going to stop a fast drop like that.


One other thing, he is off Cerenia for two days now...doubt that had anything to do with it.....
Correct. That wouldn’t affect it.
 
Lowered insulin to 2.75 U and he dropped below 90 again today....Gave 1/4 can of LC food at +3.5 AM today, did not slow him down again....Just gave a bit of MC food since he is at 77 to try to slow him down....Guess another dose decrease today...thoughts anyone else??

@Panic
 
I might have already asked and forgotten, but is he getting earlier meals at +1 or +2? A meal at onset helps keep that drop from happening too fast.
Were you doing SLGS or MPM protocol? If SLGS he's earned another reduction. :)
 
I might have already asked and forgotten, but is he getting earlier meals at +1 or +2? A meal at onset helps keep that drop from happening too fast.
Were you doing SLGS or MPM protocol? If SLGS he's earned another reduction. :)


He gets his 1/4 can at +3.5 or +4 everyday....We switched back to SLGS because of my work situation...we have new people and I may have to go in to work at any given moment, so that is actually what works best for us and feeding wise at +4...My wife can home at that time to feed the cats...I have been home due to the virus but we are starting to open up, I am home today and hopefully I stay home in the next couple weeks but they could ask me to go in...I dont want to start something that I cant commit to feeding wise....Im already trying to decide what to do dosage wise due to going back to work....a little panic mode going thru my mind deciding what to do there.....Uggggh....
 
No worries. Part of the problem may be you're feeding him too late though. Feeding earlier would slow that drop and help you out. Have you considered getting a Petsafe 5 Feeder so he can get his snacks when you're not home?

Okay, since you're back on SLGS he's down to 2.5u. :)
 
No worries. Part of the problem may be you're feeding him too late though. Feeding earlier would slow that drop and help you out. Have you considered getting a Petsafe 5 Feeder so he can get his snacks when you're not home?

Okay, since you're back on SLGS he's down to 2.5u. :)

We have two cats that compete for food so I really dont think it would work, if the food was available Im not sure which one would get the food...they go at each other now as it is at feeding time, lol....

Im not trying to jinx myself but im hoping something good is happening since reductions are called for.....not sure what that means....

I am a little worried about one thing he is losing some weight, going to talk to the vet next week about that, she is on vacation.....
 
You could get two feeders if that's the only issue, they have them fairly cheap on Ebay. He does need to be fed earlier to save him from those drops.

Is he getting enough calories? Diabetic kitties need more than the average cat so he may not be getting enough meals.
 
You could get two feeders if that's the only issue, they have them fairly cheap on Ebay. He does need to be fed earlier to save him from those drops.

Is he getting enough calories? Diabetic kitties need more than the average cat so he may not be getting enough meals.


So, the feeders look like they are for dry food, we only feed wet food now...He gets 2 full cans throughout the day, 5.5 ounce Friskies LC pate cans...he is a big cat before being diagnosed in March he was 18-19 lbs...he is down to 15.5 lbs now....but he lost most of the weight when he was sick in the beginning....He dropped a little weight the last time we had him at the vet and she was happy about that, now he lost a little more.....just things run through my mind now that he has this disease, im always worried something else is wrong.....
 
So, the feeders look like they are for dry food, we only feed wet food now...He gets 2 full cans throughout the day, 5.5 ounce Friskies LC pate cans...he is a big cat before being diagnosed in March he was 18-19 lbs...he is down to 15.5 lbs now....but he lost most of the weight when he was sick in the beginning....He dropped a little weight the last time we had him at the vet and she was happy about that, now he lost a little more.....just things run through my mind now that he has this disease, im always worried something else is wrong.....

I am also in the market for an automatic feeder for when school starts in August and I won't be home during the day. I saw on Amazon they have some that come with an ice pack that you put under the tray so that you can use it with wet food. They are not expensive, around $25. I also read on here where people will freeze wet food in ice cube trays and put them in the food bowl when they leave and they melt throughout the day.
 
I am also in the market for an automatic feeder for when school starts in August and I won't be home during the day. I saw on Amazon they have some that come with an ice pack that you put under the tray so that you can use it with wet food. They are not expensive, around $25. I also read on here where people will freeze wet food in ice cube trays and put them in the food bowl when they leave and they melt throughout the day.


Im dreading the day I go back full time....I worry alot now, I cant imagine how im going to be when I go back to work....UGGGGHHH.....This disease sucks!!
 
Brady is holding in the 80's, trying to let him ride out the greens from prior advice...will check on him periodically to make sure he is good.....only gave him a little MC food to slow him down....

@Marje and Gracie

Great news! When I’m able to go back to work (teleworking now) I’m going to have to get an automatic feeder or have my college daughter feed the crew.
 
Those automatic feeders work fine with canned/wet food also. Adding a bit of water to the food, before you put it in the feeder compartments, helps to keep it from drying out.
 
How’s Brady doing today?

So so day....you are alot braver than I.....We reduced his units the other night due to low PS number, its something I just cant force myself to do when he is low....so now back on track and hopefully the 2.5 U starts to work on him better......You my friend are very brave indeed, lol....Max looks like he is doing very well.
 
So so day....you are alot braver than I.....We reduced his units the other night due to low PS number, its something I just cant force myself to do when he is low....so now back on track and hopefully the 2.5 U starts to work on him better......You my friend are very brave indeed, lol....Max looks like he is doing very well.

I’m just worried if I don’t do too much insulin he’s going to become a bouncing ball again. I have gotten better at slowing the quick decrease with food. Thankfully these lows he hasn’t shown clinical signs of hypo. Last night was a bit low for me though. Hope Brady has a good day. It’s going to be a plus up on caffeine kind of day for me.
 
I’m just worried if I don’t do too much insulin he’s going to become a bouncing ball again. I have gotten better at slowing the quick decrease with food. Thankfully these lows he hasn’t shown clinical signs of hypo. Last night was a bit low for me though. Hope Brady has a good day. It’s going to be a plus up on caffeine kind of day for me.


I saw your SS....you are going to be a tired woman today
 
I am thinking about getting an auto feeder, I have a question though, is it safe for the cats to freeze Friskies moist food? Im probably going to use it for Emma whenever we get the chance to go away but I want to make sure its ok to freeze the food and its safe for her?
 
Eikes, I would have to get 3. I wonder if one cat will try to eat all 3??

Thats my problem with two...But when we go away on a camping trip here in August I only have to worry about Emma...Brady is going to have to go to the vet to be boarded, I dont trust anyone else with him plus I know there isnt anyone that would be able to give him his insulin, he wouldnt take to kindly to someone else trying to give him a shot.
 
I was wondering the same with my two. I should have tested the feeder out before I went to work.. doh!

LOL...yes you might want to test it out to see what happens....I know if I set the feeder up with both cats here Brady would be the one eating everything.
 
I loaded the feeder this morning for the day. Katie smelled the food and was trying to break into it. I might have to buy some suction cups to stick it to the floor, or some sort of device to keep the feeder from flipping over. I have a feeling I'm going to get home tonight with a flipped over feeder and wet food all over the floor.
 
Back
Top