Fred's BG is usually low lately

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fred didn't have to have an insulin shot for 9 days; his BG was under 200 and the vet said don't give him a shot if it's under 200. Then, 2 days in a row, he needed one shot (under 100 in the morning, no shot, then close to 300 at night, gave him a shot). Is this common? Does the need for insulin vary on a day-to-day basis? Lately he's been eating Wellness, Authority and Fancy Feast Classic and I let him eat as much as wants.

Thanks,

Ginger & Fred
 
I would suggest you add Lantus to your subject line so you will get replies from people using your insulin.

I don't use Lantus so can't advise, but in general, you want a dose that will give you shootable numbers twice a day.
 
Re: Fred's BG is usually low lately Lantus

Thanks,Sue, I'll repost with Lantus in the subject line.

Fred didn't have to have an insulin shot for 9 days; his BG was under 200 and the vet said don't give him a shot if it's under 200. Then, 2 days in a row, he needed one shot (under 100 in the morning, no shot, then close to 300 at night, gave him a shot). Is this common? Does the need for insulin vary on a day-to-day basis? Lately he's been eating Wellness, Authority and Fancy Feast Classic and I let him eat as much as wants.

Thanks,
 
If you skip a shot, then the insulin wears out, and he will be higher in the pm. Lantus, particularly, as it builds up a shed. Have you read the stickies (below the grey line on this page viewforum.php?f=9). There is great info there on how Lantus works, what and how to shoot, what to do with a low number, etc.

So you may need to shoot less than one unit every 12 hours to keep him in good numbers. Lantus users can advise you on this.

Also, the midcycle numbers are very important to this whole picture. You can see exactly how the insulin is working during the cycle - whether he dips low and how soon and whether he stays fairly flat. That kind of info is important to help with dosing. Are you home today? Could you get some numbers every couple of hours during the day?
 
Sue is correct -- Lantus is a depot-type of insulin. This means that there is a reservoir of insulin that builds up under the skin and it is this depot that gives Lantus its duration and makes it a gentle insulin. It's also why you need to be giving Lantus twice a day. The advantage of Lantus is its overlap between doses and if you keep skipping shots, you keep depleting the depot (we refer to it as a "shed") and you will see less than ideal numbers.

I also agree with Sue that you may need to reduce Fred's dose. This may be the best way for you to be able to give Lantus twice a day on a consistent basis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top