Fred +6.5 57 on Alpha Trak

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
I'm sorry to 911 this, but Fred has been hypo since +4.5. (2:15 AM EST) His numbers are not coming up in any substantial way even after high carb food.

I immediately gave him about 1.5 Tablespoons of 18% dry food (he does not eat any commercial wet, and I feed him a very low carb raw diet for his wet food) He woke me up; at that time he was very purry and hungry. We've been up now for nearly 3 hours, and while I don't think he is not traditionally symptomatic for hypo, the purring has stopped, and he is all swishy tailed and a little agitated.

I have been feeding him about a teaspoon of his HC food about every half hour. He'd eat more, but I'm afraid he'd get bloated and God forbid vomit. As happens when he is in lower numbers, he is also thirsty.

Here are his numbers:

2:15 am- 61 (+4.75)

2:30 am- 74 (+5)

3:00 am- 65 (+5.5)

3:30 am- 65 (+6)

4:00 am- 57 (+6.5)

4:30 AM- 63 (+7)

Thank you!!
 
Please give him a couple of drops of honey or Karo in a teaspoon of food or if he won’t eat that, rub some honey or Karo on his gums now.
 
I tried...I'm not sure if any hit its mark.

To top it off, my security alarm just went off due to a faulty sensor, sending him racing under the bed. Now I cannot get him out.
 
I tried...I'm not sure if any hit its mark.

To top it off, my security alarm just went off due to a faulty sensor, sending him racing under the bed. Now I cannot get him out.
Please try and get him out and make sure that some of the honey or Karo gets onto him gums or even his lips where he can lick it off.
If you can’t get him out try pushing a broom under the bed. Not ideal but you need to get to him.
Can you tempt him with a favourite food or treat to come out?
Poor boy he’s probably freaking out.
 
+8 61

I was able to lure him out with his treats. I tested, thinking for sure at least the shock of the alarm would have raised his BG. I was able to get a bit of Karo in him...it kind of smeared around his mouth, but he did then lick it. It's my first time doing all of this...I am so worried. :-(((

I can't believe he's staying down so long.

He is freaking...my poor boy.
 
+8 61

I was able to lure him out with his treats. I tested, thinking for sure at least the shock of the alarm would have raised his BG. I was able to get a bit of Karo in him...it kind of smeared around his mouth, but he did then lick it. It's my first time doing all of this...I am so worried. :-(((

I can't believe he's staying down so long.

He is freaking...my poor boy.
You are doing a good job! Well done getting him out from under the bed. I’m sure he is freaking out.
Keep testing every 20 mins and giving some honey or Karo onto his gums until the BG is up over 68.
The dry food takes longer to take effect than high carb wet food. But if that is all he will eat, give him some.
We need to get his BG up over 68 and keep it there.
I will stay with you until he is safe.
 
Thank you! He's back under the bed now. :(

He's been eating the food in increments since 2:15 AM, so I'm really surprised it has not boosted him more. Good to know for future reference. Where is his panicky liver now that we need it?!

Praying we get through this, I know we'll pay for it with numbers in the squillions. He would be due for his injection in 4 hours. Thinking ahead, what would be a safe number to shoot? Now I'm paranoid! I shot last night at 134, which is not the lowest I've ever done (but close) He's never come CLOSE to these current numbers before!
 
Thank you! He's back under the bed now. :(

He's been eating the food in increments since 2:15 AM, so I'm really surprised it has not boosted him more. Good to know for future reference. Where is his panicky liver now that we need it?!

Praying we get through this, I know we'll pay for it with numbers in the squillions. He would be due for his injection in 4 hours. Thinking ahead, what would be a safe number to shoot? Now I'm paranoid! I shot last night at 134, which is not the lowest I've ever done (but close) He's never come CLOSE to these current numbers before!
I would say the depot is very full. He has earned a reduction in dose back down to 7 units.
You have not filled the number of units given for the pm dose today...did you give the 7.5?
If you could keep to the SS up to date that would be helpful, thanks.
Let’s wait and see where he is up to close to AMPS before we decide what to do. We don’t know yet how long he will stay in the greens.
 
I'm sorry...I was so focused on entering the low numbers that I forgot PMPS. I just updated-I did give 7.5 last night.

I'm definitely reducing him. I had to reduce him once before from 7.5 down to 7, but it didn't hold.
 
Just about +9...69!

Were this the AM cycle, this would be around his nadir. He always seems to nadir earlier in the PM cycle, so I hope its up from here. He seems basically fine if weirded out by the low numbers. His ears are done..took me about 5 hits with the lancet before I could draw any blood. :-(

I will take off the 911, and try to catch a couple of hours of sleep. I'm so tired that I'm not even seeing straight at this point. I'll see where he is at PMPS, and likely post for dosing advice.

Thank you SO much for staying with me!!
 
Fred is only up to 69 because we have been giving him Honey or Karo and high carb dry.
The honey/Karo will wear off in an hour and he could drop again.
69 is only just up into the safe numbers. There is no margin for error.
You have to keep testing him for 2 hours to see he can keep up on his own, otherwise he could drop into dangerous numbers again.
 
OK...I will do my best! Will set the alarm.
Give him something to eat and put a drop of honey on his gums before you go to sleep and put the alarm away from the bed so you have to get up. Don’t leave it more than an hour at the most to get up and test again. Remember there is no guarantee he will stay up on his own yet.
 
I gave him another small helping of food, and gave the Karo. He gagged on it this time, so I became fearful of vomiting.

My house is with us as well....the damn sensor for the alarm keeps beeping an alert!
 
I gave him another small helping of food, and gave the Karo. He gagged on it this time, so I became fearful of vomiting.

My house is with us as well....the damn sensor for the alarm keeps beeping an alert!
We don’t want him to vomit.
Can you turn the alarm sensor off?
Definitely post and ask for advice for the AMPS.
I’ll watch for the next test result.
 
We don’t want him to vomit.
Definitely not.

Can you turn the alarm sensor off?
I did manage to turn it off, after a dive in the instruction manual.

Definitely post and ask for advice for the AMPS.
I’ll watch for the next test result.
I will post for advice. This is not something to be repeated!

+9.5- 93.

I really do think he's on his way, now. Last time, the Karo only raised him about 8 points. Fingers crossed!

Thank you again!
 
Definitely not.


I did manage to turn it off, after a dive in the instruction manual.


I will post for advice. This is not something to be repeated!

+9.5- 93.

I really do think he's on his way, now. Last time, the Karo only raised him about 8 points. Fingers crossed!

Thank you again!
Yes it does look as if he is on the way up, but member he’s had Karo and high carb dry
Not sure I’ll be around for the AMPS as I live in Australia and it’s getting late. But I’ll ask a couple of people to keep an eye out for your post.
 
You did a great job, Kathleen. I know it was an exhausting and scary night for you. I recently went through something somewhat similar but Susie did not go as low as Fred and she pulled it on me during the am cycle. I probably should not have reduced because I set my SLGS up to reduce at 60 and never went that low (68) but I did reduce. It happened too fast and suddenly for me and was stressful. Good luck with the reduction and, again, good job taking care of your boy. I hope you can get some sleep today. Bron did a great job walking you through the whole event.
 
Wow. I am just reading through what happened over the night for you, Kathleen. My kitty is like that too... he doesn't respond that much to the high carb food. Anymore I go straight to Karo syrup and water mixture and syringe it in his mouth and on his gums. I only get about an 8 point increase too! So I keep having to do this every hour at least. Well done. You deserve a rest. I hope he won't do this to you again. You are very brave. After that I would have chickened out and skipped a dose to drain the depot. I tried a half shot one time and Darcy just did it again (low). Your numbers were very scary for an Alpha Trak, too!

So happy that gorgeous grey Fred is safe. Sorry about your security alarm!
 
Back
Top