? Fred 6/16 PMPS 91 +2 @80 setting my alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
today's deep water exploration ...numbers are at bottom of thread.

Ok , so Fred is doing good. It's been a week since he was diagnosed with pancreatitis. His meds are all gone: cerenia tablets for nausea,barf prevention and pain relief, Buprenorphine oral for pain, and Metronidazole ...antibiotic oral. I called the vet's yesterday and she is out all week, but I was thinking he should have a check up. The recep asked another vet and they said if he's doing good, he doesn't need to come back in. I'm not a fan of this "if he ain't broke, we ain't gonna fix him" attitude and the vet has never said anything about refilling his meds. Several people here have said he should be taking cerenia. But if this was just a one time pancreatitis attack.... are we good? As you were, soldier?
I'm seriously thinking we need a new vet. Your thoughts?
Also...I've switched Fred to Whiskas and Friskies pates and I cannot find cal/carb info on the 3.5 container of Whiskas pate. Does anyone know? I know the Whiskas pates are 10 carb in 5.5 can, so he gets 1/2 can.
Hope y'all have a great day. God be with our state, as TS Bill comes ashore.
 
Last edited:
Here are my thoughts based on Max having chronic pancreatitis for many years. There is no need to run another SfPL BUT if you want to see if you want to see if things are back to normal since it could be one acute attack never to happen again it's not a bad idea. We did get Max back to normal after his first time but now we don't bother running them to see. It's a good idea to have cerenia around in case he becomes inappetent again. The sooner he gets it IF it happens the better chance you can prevent another acute or prolonged episode. I have found feeding several small meals helps a lot rather than all at once.

As for carb counts tanyascrforg has has the most recent numbers and she has included carbs for the ones she received. Otherwise Lisa Pierson has the counts but they are a few years old now and might have changed.
 
Thank you Elise. I do want to have another fPL test run just to ease my mind. And I agree with having cerenia on hand. I heard that genuine pumpkin added to food can help also, with nausea, appetite....and also with any diarrhea that may be occurring. He is normal now as far as appetite, no nausea, normal bowel, urine etc. And I typically feed smaller, more frequent meals when I'm home, but free feed low carb canned while I'm at work. When I do that....a couple of times I've come home to find that he's been dumpster diving. I'm thinking I will freeze some food to leave out. Thank you for the link to tanyas page.
 
My understanding is that after he's had pancreatitis, his test could remain high for a while even if he isn't having an active flare-up. Punkin's never went down after his initial episode, but he only had the one time where it was obvious he had pancreatitis. So I"d pass on the test and save my money, if I were you.

Pumpkin helps with both diarrhea and constipation because it has lots of fiber, and fiber helps to regulate the consistency of his stool.

I don't know what you mean by having found him dumpster diving? getting into someone else's food?

Your vet's response sounds ok to me, although I agree with Elise that it's not a bad idea to have some cerenia at home, just in case. But you may never need it again, so . . . if your vet will give you some asap if you have another need, then maybe you don't need it at hand. Hard to say.
 
He is bathing under my bed. He knows I need to retest.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 48
Hi Jamye.

So glad to hear Fred is feeling better. It's never a bad idea to have nausea meds on hand, just in case. With my luck, one of my kitties feels sick at 9 pm on a Friday, or some other time I can't call the vet.

I see Fred got into the 40s today. Unless there's something I don't know about his history, I'd say you need to reduce again - especially since he's hanging in the 50s without seeming to want to come up. Hopefully a more experienced member will chime in on this before it's time for his PMPS. He is eating okay, correct?

Regarding the carb/cal levels of Whiskas, I'd either call the company (800) 525-5273 or e-mail them and ask for the info for the flavors you use. Using a carb calculator can give you a rough idea, but since you only have the guaranteed analysis, it's an inexact method. When you contact them, ask for the "as fed" values. You might want to ask for Phosphorus, too, since it's not on the label or the website. I just filled out their feedback form on their website and asked for that info. I'll let you know if I hear back. Wouldn't hurt for you to try to contact them, anyway, though.

Sending continued feel good and good appy vines for Fred!
 
Here is the link to Fred's last post.

He is eating very well. Has good energy. Seems to be healing.
Awesome update on Fred!

And yes, he did earn a reduction today.:D:) Did you give insulin yesterday morning? If not, could you put something like NS (no shot) or skip in the units column, so we know he missed insulin then. It helps us know if you skipped or just forgot to enter something.
 
Thanks for posting the link. Just updated SS. No, I ran out of test strips yesterday morning and had to be at work early so he did not get insulin yesterday morning. So I'm kinda shocked at his numbers today.
 
Man he's really likin it out there today. Should I be concerned? He's staying in the green almost 3 hours now. I even tested myself to make sure the damn meter was working. My sugar is fine!
AMPS 292, +2 @95,+4 @50, +4.5 @ 46,+5 @59 ,+5.5@59,+6 @59 ,6.5@58....next test in an hour
 
Last edited:
If you shoot, take the reduction now. He's not very high - I'd be likely to give a chicken dose so I could sleep without being concerned for him.
 
What a beautiful day for Fred - and a reduction too! :D All those lovely green healing numbers look great on his spreadsheet!

Surf safe tonight Fred - no keeping your mama up all night please!
 
My understanding is that after he's had pancreatitis, his test could remain high for a while even if he isn't having an active flare-up. Punkin's never went down after his initial episode, but he only had the one time where it was obvious he had pancreatitis. So I"d pass on the test and save my money, if I were you.

Pumpkin helps with both diarrhea and constipation because it has lots of fiber, and fiber helps to regulate the consistency of his stool.

I don't know what you mean by having found him dumpster diving? getting into someone else's food?

Your vet's response sounds ok to me, although I agree with Elise that it's not a bad idea to have some cerenia at home, just in case. But you may never need it again, so . . . if your vet will give you some asap if you have another need, then maybe you don't need it at hand. Hard to say.

I guess I've found myself with the weekend, my vet not working, and needing meds. I always have a supply on hand now just in case. I'm happy if I never need to use it.

As for whether and when to run another SfPL, I disagree a little. You have to let enough time to go by and think it is definitely over if the point is to see if the results return to normal. Max was pretty sick by the time of his first test and it was Christmas Eve. I had some meds and fluids left over from Tiffany so I treated him myself. I was lucky to have all the meds and able to get him to eat enough and avoid the ER and fatty liver. He did have one normal test but I don't remember how long after he was feeling good. Then when he had repeat episodes it was obvious he had a chronic condition and we never ran a recheck to see if it returned to normal again. You can also get a normal reading just before a flare. Max more than once was doing well and went to the vet for a recheck of other issues only to come home and have a flare a day or two later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top