Fred 5/9/15 PMPS 388/2U/+5 @ 82 !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
Hi. Hope y'all are doing well.
I've been at Riviera Maya Mexico (Play del Carmun/Cancun) this week and a friend/ sitter who works at the vet's was gonna stay here with Fred but this went terribly wrong and Fred didn't get insulin/ tested except when she had him boarded at the animal hospital/ vet's on Wed/Thu/Fri. His BS was over 500 when she took him in on Wed. They gave 2 u. Not eating.They gave him another 2 units 4 hours later when he tested at 350. Not eating.Thu am test 180. IDK if they gave insulin because he wasn't eating. Thu pm 118. Fri am 436 he finally ate and got 2 u. He got 2 units last night/ Fri ...my petsitter/friend brought him home as I was supposed to get in last night but my flight from HOU to Lubbock was cx so I spent the night in HOU and just got home. Fred and I are so happy to see each other. He's purring nonstop. He's at 374 now. IDK what time he got his shot last night....so my question is , do I shoot now, or wait til tonight? He ate when I got home a little while ago.His schedule is all jacked up. He and I have had a stressful week. I'm working tomorrow, so I can't do a curve. I'm off Monday and can do a curve. Advice please.
 
Next question : I just tested him and he's at 269 and since I am starting a new schedule do I stick with the 2 u he's been getting this week? Trace ketones.
 
If you have no mid-cycle data at that dose, you may want to stick with 2 units. His dosing was erratic while you were gone, so you are trying to re-stabilize him and get back on schedule. Add water to his canned food and track some of the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature - food and water intake and output, dehydration checks, and breath odor checks.

Get as many mid-cycle tests as you can. I know you've indicated SLGS, but if you can bump up to TR for just this week, you may outpace the ketone issue. If you can do that, please post in the Lantus forum to get timely feedback on that protocol.

If he seems ill, won't eat, has trace ketones, and his glucose is high, go to the vet.
 
PMPS 388 @ 8:30 pm , 2.0 u...he ate 2 cans of FF classics today, one at bkfst, one at dinner with his shot.
+ 3.5 @ 57, gave FF turkey and giblets feast, he ate a bit of it...he's cleaning himself now. Will test again in 20-30. What's up with him?
 
Sounds like his body got out of whack with the lack of usual routine and shots which may have set off his levels??? I'm sure one of the more senior and experienced members will chime in soon. Do test again as sometimes, those lows can be faulty testing/strips and sometimes, just off kilter readings. I'm hoping his numbers have come up by the time you're reading this.
 
If he dropped from 388 to 57 in 3 1/2 hours, then my first thought is that the 2 units may be too much.....Let's see if he drops below 50.....if he does, he will definitely earn a reduction and I'd probably say to go back to 1 unit and start over.....and if you're up to try TR for awhile, he won't stay at 1U for more than 3 days if he's still not getting into some green nadirs....we'd increase him slowly until we hit the dose that works best for Fred
 
So glad y'all are here. Such a blessing.There's no telling how low he got while he was boarded at the vet/ hospital. They gave him 2 u twice in just a few hours and didn't test until the next day. His intake of water is normal/ output seems normal. I've got 6 SoftClix (lancets) left for the night!
 
So glad y'all are here. Such a blessing.There's no telling how low he got while he was boarded at the vet/ hospital. They gave him 2 u twice in just a few hours and didn't test until the next day. His intake of water is normal/ output seems normal. I've got 6 SoftClix (lancets) left for the night!

If you're in a real jam with the lancets...you might want to alcohol off one and use it again (just one more time) or....take a syringe and do a puncture, milking (rubbing up towards the tip of the ear to get a sample). It might not be optimal but, I'd say that dunking a couple of your lancets in alcohol for a few minutes then, rinsing off the alcohol with water might work too. Just my 2 cents worth and others might have better ideas...or you might not need them tonight. Hoping the next test works out. :)
 
He ate 1/2 can of FF with his shot. Also ate 1/2 can in the wee hours of the night. Input and output seem normal. BM was a bit loose this AM. He's on the balcony, sunning, chatting with birds. I will be gone from 12 - 7. Considering TR.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top