Fred 2/12 +1 354, +2 329 +8 432 I am at a loss

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
I just cannot make heads or tails of what is going on with Fred. Most days, if not all, he seems to have either a camel shaped curve or something that looks more like a reverse curve.

Ever since going up to 4.5u, it seems like he's taken a turn for the worse. His daytime numbers are stupid high, but I also think they may be the result of bounces taken overnight. For instance, though I wasn't able to capture the number, I feel almost certain he must have gone "low" (or so his body thought) in the early morning hours of both the 10th and the 11th. The numbers seem to indicate this. But then there are other days, like today, where he just rises for no reason I can discern. Today, he had absolutely no food for over two hours prior to his +8. So why the rise??

To follow suit, his urination has increased at 4.5, where it was *slightly* better at 4.25. I know that's owing to the higher numbers.

I just don't know anymore. :-(( Any insight would be appreciated.

Thank you!
 
I see you started with a lower test on 2/10 but no follow up tests. I think he likely was lower that day and night.
 
@tiffmaxee Follow up tests in the PM cycle on the 10th? Yes, unfortunately, I was unable to test overnight that night. I was actually very surprised he had gone into the 200s that afternoon (the 10th) because he had a very stressful day that day with a home vet visit. But I do think he was lower that night. So as I mentioned, I think that might account for the higher numbers on the 11th. But any thoughts on what might cause a non-food related spike or a reverse curve?

To add to the fun, I have to travel 3 days next week. I have a vet tech coming to stay each night, but I'm a wreck about it. I do not think it at all wise to up his dose right before I go away, yet I live in fear of ketones. :(
 
Is it possible for you to get a +2 or +3 at night? They can be very indicative of how the night cycle is going. And if you see him dropping a lot then, you could set an alarm for a later test, and/or leave lots of food out for him to keep himself safe.

But any thoughts on what might cause a non-food related spike or a reverse curve?
It's usually a bounce from lower numbers than they are used to, or a fast drop. A reduced dose or fur shot can also cause the number to uptick. Bounces can take 6 cycles to resolve, and the numbers wobble around during that time.

As for travel, unless you are seeing numbers below 100, I wouldn't worry so much about being away. or increasing before you do. You can always post here a day or two before you leave, and ask people for a "petsitter dose". Hopefully the vet tech will at least do preshot tests, but we've had people who have had to travel with a cat that won't allow anyone else to test.

Here is the link to your last post here. We like to see that for continuity and to make it easy for us to go back and see what was discussed before.
 
Is it possible for you to get a +2 or +3 at night? They can be very indicative of how the night cycle is going. And if you see him dropping a lot then, you could set an alarm for a later test, and/or leave lots of food out for him to keep himself safe.

Because we've been gradually setting back Fred's injection time to accommodate the pet sitter, I was able to get a +3 last night...it was 370, 5 points higher than his PMPS of 365. :( So, while I knew I could sleep better, it's disappointing to see. I always leave some food out in a timer overnight, but lately, he hasn't been too interested in it.

Thanks for the info on the bounces; I didn't realize they could take so long to clear. My husband has given Fred his injection for the last 2 mornings, which is why the AMPS test is missing. I'm afraid that Fred currently only allows me to test him. We will see with the pet sitter. She IS a tech, but sometimes, a difference in handling can cause a problem. The last thing I'd want is for him to become fearful of the testing!
 
When you post asking for a petsitter dose, mention that you aren't sure he'll get pretests done, that may influence a petsitter dose.
 
Back
Top