? Freckles--AMPS 190 I think I messed up +1 211 +2 182 +5.5 115 PMPS 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeeAnn (Lannie)& Freckles

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-i-shouldnt-shoot-right.189711/#post-2112606

I gave her a full dose. And now I'm reading...

Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.

Well, I already shot her. What do I do now? Just watch and test her? I will be home most of the day, but have a couple of classes to teach.

Trying not to freak out to much...

I'd better print up that guideline and put it in her box of supplies.
 
Last edited:
Don't freak out, many of us regularly shoot that number and you will be too, in the future when you have more data, you're getting a jump start on that data today. ;)

I would absolutely get a +1 and a +2, it will give you an idea of where the cycle is headed.

I would also make sure you have plenty of test strips and some higher carb food or honey or Karo syrup on hand.

Please post your +1 here in an hour and keep your SS up to date. :cat:
 
I have loads of test strips, I still have her dry food that is high carb, honey and Karo syrup. I'll do the +1 and +2 tests and repost and enter the data on the SS. Thank you for your guidance and reassurance!
 
It will only give you more data on what happens when you shoot under 200. :bighug:

Could you add the date when Freckles was diagnosed with diabetes to your signature so we can glance and see how "new" she is?
 
Mandy, I just looked at Rex's spread sheet. You had remission in about a month. That's awesome. (I think I'm supposed to say antijinx! here:))I was just happy to see that you missed a day of dosing here and there because you were out of town and everything was OK. I said to my husband last night that I realized we couldn't go anywhere for a weekend now, because of the necessary shots. You give me hope that that may not be the case. Not that we do it often, but I like to think that our life won't be put on hold because of the diabetes. We have sitters for longer vacations, that will be able to take over testing and dosing duties.
 
Mandy, I just looked at Rex's spread sheet. You had remission in about a month. That's awesome. (I think I'm supposed to say antijinx! here:))I was just happy to see that you missed a day of dosing here and there because you were out of town and everything was OK. I said to my husband last night that I realized we couldn't go anywhere for a weekend now, because of the necessary shots. You give me hope that that may not be the case. Not that we do it often, but I like to think that our life won't be put on hold because of the diabetes. We have sitters for longer vacations, that will be able to take over testing and dosing duties.
I think the biggest impact was the removal of high carb dry kibble. That's when Rex started the race down the racing ladder and off the juice. There have been times where I skipped because I had to keep Rex safe while I worked. If Freckles has never had an episode of DKA, then it may be okay to skip here and there, but if she has had DKA, then you must try not to skip any doses.

Are you still giving dry kibble as part of the diet? Or is it used only as a HC source now?
 
She has been only on wet food since diagnosis. Luckily, she loved the switch. We did give her a few pieces of dry as a "treat" after her first BG test, because we hadn't purchased any other treats yet. Now we have freeze dried turkey and salmon.

+2 is 182
 
As said by others you were safe to shoot provided you could monitor which you are doing. We suggest skipping as a newbie to be extra safe. When you have more data you won’t be nervous shooting. On TR we shoot anything over 50. Onset can be any time but for Max it was between +2-3. So grab tge +4 and post. Looking good after a skipped shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top