Freaking out here! AMPS: 432 PMPS: 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Peeps

Active Member
Any ideas? Tomorrow is 6 weeks since her last steroid booster. When she wasn't back on insulin yet, I did NOT see a drop in her BG in the weeks leading up to the booster shot. All tests were higher than the previous ones, except when she was feeling very ill. I have seen no recent instances of her not feeling well, she was just playing with a leaf on the floor not 10 minutes before her PMPS.

I did decide to take her down from 2 units to 1 unit tonight.
 
Good call on dropping to 1 unit. Can you get any mid cycle tests in?

I hate to say this but I have read here that cancer feeds on the sugar in their blood and lowers their bg's.

I think it was Tucker and a few others that have had hypo incidents since their cancer dx.

Maybe you can search their posts for some info.

Scritches to Peeps.
 
I have been having the opposite effect, especially since the steroids. She kept going up and up and I waited until after the 2nd shot (about 8-9 weeks between them) to re-introduce insulin to her as she was only on an upward pattern. I wanted to see if her bg numbers were an indicator that she needed more steroids. My tests proved that my theory was wrong. Then again, this is her first booster time coming up with her on insulin. I was going to get her a booster a week from tomorrow. I will still do a search. Maybe I'm missing something, and it wouldn't be the first time.

I am going to try to get a +1 in... Maybe a +2, but I'm struggling to stay awake as it is right now. If I wake up early enough, she'll get pre-amps checks, but I am gone most of the day tomorrow.
 
+1 & +2 are usually food spike. If you're tired go to bed. You're better off getting a +10 or +11 in the morning to see when it peters out.

She's been high enough that I don't think you have to worry. BUT the 272 is new so if you can set the alarm to get a +4 or 5 to make sure she is safe (I say that but I could never do that, I wouldn't wake up) but that is the protocol.

Maybe post in health to get more input.
 
hi MIchele! are you still freaked out? I'm around for a little bit, though I haven't really been following the saga, so not sure how much advice I can give.... but at least it's some company, right? :)
 
I am slightly less freaked out right now. I did end up seeing her eat a few pebbles, and then she ran for the basement to hide, but came right back up. +1 was 302 so I'm a little less worried that her PMPS was her body failing. I'm not sure I should take my nightly sleep aid though.
 
hi Michele,
frequently when I get a strange number, I recheck, and it may easily be something 100 points different. This has happened to me sporadically, on at least 3 different brand meters, so in our case, it just happens...,
and maybe you just need to test the other ear or a new spot :-D

oops I see you just posted and the number was in the same ballpark, but it is something to keep in a back brain cell for the future ;-)
 
You said she was playing earlier, right? Does she seem to be feeling ok? Bix's #s can be really variable - sometimes they freak me out, but then they'll be fine the next day, then wacky again in a few days. It's a puzzle, but hopefully just a blip on the screen for her, no big deal. Paws crossed. :)
 
and I don't remember your details either, but 272 is not a dangerous number, its 200+ points higher than a normal blood glucose, so she has a long way to fall before she could be in trouble.
 
Nancy - by the time I thought of your suggestion it was her +1, but I was thinking on seeing what MY numbers read, if the meter suddenly decided to be off by 160 points - it should read me as dead right?! It's been one of those hectic days from hell for me today, so Peeps must have thought it was a good time to check to see that my heart still functions correctly.

Joanna - OTHER than her playing - yes she seems fine. She's been playing a lot recently (a lot is more than a 15 second burst once a week), but I see that as a good sign. Her increased play is what I saw the last time she went on insulin, and when she first went on the steroids. I believe she is feeling good. I just can't recall if she at at all today! A 160 point from AMPS to PMPS just seemed too much - I was assuming her 272 is up from something, and of course I haven't been doing spot checks because I bruised both of her ears really badly again and wanted to give her some relief.

I am kicking myself in the behind for not being more attentive to her today. And yes, everyone here is correct to assume that I'm just jumping to the worst conclusion ever - because not being a worry wart when it comes to Peeps has not played out so well. AND there are plenty of times being over sensitive to her needs have been in her best interest.

Nancy - No to the pancreatitis, she's never been formally diagnosed if it has been a problem. She's never received pepcid ac in her entire career as a cat. I also don't think she got into anything either - unless eating spider webs (I've recently seen her revisiting this kittenhood past time of hers) drops bgs?
 
Could be she didn't eat as much as normal & that accounts for the lower #? I wouldn't worry too much that she might have gone low or anything during the day. Of course it's possible, but her #s are high enough overall it seems unlikely - and clearly no rebound & she's playing, so doesn't sound like she had a bad day. Hopefully it's just a nice #, yay! :) I'm signing off. Hope you sleep well!
 
do you press firmly on the bleed spot as soon as you collect the drop? It helps a lot to hold firm pressure for 5 sec or so.

night and sweet dreams :mrgreen:
 
I do hold on to it, but most when we started re-treating diabetes, she won't let me near my 'favorite' ear. So I've been having to bleed her less than easy ear, and on the rare occasions I do get to the good ear, the non favorite ear has made my skills so poorly that I still stab her too many times!

So her +2 was 329 and her +10 was 452. Did I make the right call dropping that one dose? Unless she gives me another 200 when it's insulin time, I'm bumping her right back up to 2 units.
 
And now she's playing with the darn leaf again. I just don't know what to make of her. Am I insane because of the kitty, or is the kitty insane because of me?!
 
Good morning,

I think you did exactly the right thing dropping the dose on that number. And going back to regular dose too.

She's hanging in the higher numbers most of the time, you could up the dose a little to see if you can get her down a little lower. What is you goal for her?
 
My goal for her is to have her pre shots in the 200's. I had been playing around with the idea of upping her dose prior to yesterday night. Maybe I should get a good curve in there before she goes to a 2.5?

I might ask if I can bring home some raw venison for her. She goes nuts after I've been gutting deer, and has had a thing in the past for venison jerky when I could get my hands on it. I'm going to have to look into parasites if I do decide to feed her raw, but it can't be too hard to just boil it in water and give her cooked. Another new diet change might do her good and help with these obscene numbers.
 
I'd agree with getting a curve befor a dose increase to find out what her nadir is, how far she drops on 1.5u and when.

It's best to base dose on both PS & nadir IMHO. Will you have time this weekend?
 
I hope to be working at full power tomorrow. I didn't sleep well last night, and I was abused fully today. I swear, I didn't work this hard when I was getting paid to do the work!

And if this beautiful Minnesotan weather continues, Peeps will be glued to her window and poking her will be such a minor inconvenience to her existence, she might not even notice me.
 
Hi Michele,
I have no idea if this might help, but I dug out an old post about my testing technique which might possibly help you or somebody out there. Do you use a lancet pen?
Have you heard of or tried the warm rice sock in the MW trick? I never did it, but it supposedly really helps. And I prefer the CLEAR top lancet pens, so I can see the spot before and after the poke. My absolute favorite is the one that came with the Freestyle meter.

My technique:
I rub ears vigorously. fold his ear over my finger, hold the clear cap lancet pen on for a good 3-5 sec waiting for the spot to turn pink, then "pop" it, CONTINUING to hold it on the spot until enough blood oozes out, carefully lift it off, test, then immediately press firmly on the bleed and hold for 3-5 sec to stop future bruising. then he eats- YAY! reward!

Also lancets come in different needle sizes, the ones that are 26 or 28 gauge will make a bigger hole and bleed better. avoid the 31 gauge lancets
 
No, I don't use lancet pens. I couldn't even get the stupid thing to work on myself, and I don't have one anymore.

It just seems to me that her veins have gotten smaller in the last two years. When she first went back on insulin I tried the flashlight trick and that was just a joke for me. Her ear hair is so dark that it's hard to see the vein unless she is in a sunny window. For a few days I was having good luck poking on the back of her ear, but she seems to dislike it. I am using 30 gauge lancets now. I have absolutely no idea what gauge I was using previously. Maybe I'll go grab some 28 gauges and see if that helps.

Thanks for your suggestions Nancy!
 
Morning,

I switched from 30 guage to the Target brand Up and Up 28 guage and have good luck with them.

They make a bigger poke, so we have many more "one and done" attempts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top