Frankie PMPS 218; +2 291 +4 313 Done for the nite

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Frankie AMPS 321

Good morning,Jay!
Yes,You are allowed only one condo per day! if you have questions You just click 'reply' ,type question and 'post'
You can do how many times You want.
Good luck and have a fun day!
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321

Good morning Jay.
You can also click on the little question mark in the circle (see the selection under Post icon:) to your Subject line.
And you can edit the Subject line of your first post by adding the word Question to it, and then if you do a reply to that post, the word Question will appear in the Subject line again and you can write your question in the text.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321

The older board was much more user friendly...ohwell, by the time I find a dose for Frankie, I'll have this board figured out
:roll:
Dyana said:
Good morning Jay.
You can also click on the little question mark in the circle (see the selection under Post icon:) to your Subject line.
And you can edit the Subject line of your first post by adding the word Question to it, and then if you do a reply to that post, the word Question will appear in the Subject line again and you can write your question in the text.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 (wrong way)

Again, the +1 and +2 the bg rises, +3 is when the action starts--Please ask for dosing advice from the dosing helpers here before you do any increases Please!--We increase dose by 0.25U--Believe me it IS enough-You could do a fat 2.0U, but I would ask one of the dosing helpers here-before going it on my own..they will advise what they know will work--OK?
Frankie is doing great!
You are a great Dad bean!!
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 (wrong way)

Good morning Jay and Frankie! Hey, Jay, I know it's very hard to sit on your hands when you don't like what the numbers look like. I don't know if you checked out Spot's ss, but it took almost a whole month for us to see much of anything. You are doing a great job and Frankie is doing good! I'm not a dosing person and don't feel comfortable saying yes or no or anything like that, but I'm sure that if a dosecrease is warrented, it will only increase by .25.
You guys have a great day....and Frankie....let's see some nice yellows, maybe blues today, eh!!
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 (wrong way)

I'm not a gunslinger with a syringe.

I'm collecting data, so as to be able to make an informed call on this.

Jay
Deb & Spot said:
Good morning Jay and Frankie! Hey, Jay, I know it's very hard to sit on your hands when you don't like what the numbers look like. I don't know if you checked out Spot's ss, but it took almost a whole month for us to see much of anything. You are doing a great job and Frankie is doing good! I'm not a dosing person and don't feel comfortable saying yes or no or anything like that, but I'm sure that if a dosecrease is warrented, it will only increase by .25.
You guys have a great day....and Frankie....let's see some nice yellows, maybe blues today, eh!!
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 (wrong way)

Good morning Jay and Frankie,

I condo per day per cat is easier to keep everything about Frankie in one place, you'll get used to it. As Deb pointed out if you have questions, add the little ? button.

I hear your frustration regarding Frankie..... from my looking at your SS, I do see green action from this dose..... unless that's when you were shooting TID. Perhaps if it is the case, you could add a note to your SS to say that.... my memory isn't as good as it used to be and with the number of cats on this board.....it gets worse! :lol:

If my memory serves me right (this time), I'll ignore that green. BUT I see some blue -> high blue but blue nonetheless.

All this to say that IMO, this morning's numbers look like RBC (from the blues yesterday's AM or potential PM ones too). As you probably already know rebound hormones can last up to 72 hours.

I'll also echo what others have said, lantus increases are typically done by 0.25U and as for your proposed timing of your increase, I can't advise you. My current opinion is sit tight and wait for others to have a better look.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 (wrong way)

Yep..The Green was TID

I have a hard time keeping track as well with all the post's and even harder time finding my own after a few hours of not being on the board or leaving my condo open on my desktop.

Its not frustration you hear, it's more about my PZI thinking (its hard to teach an old dog new tricks, 5 years of PZI is a tough habit to break)

I have been tracking and looking at the data since we went from TID to BID. I can collect and anaylze data for years, sooner or later one has to act one it or not as the case maybe. Someone here mentioned that I should hold at BID 2.0 for at least 6 to 8 cycles. Sat will make 8. Having collected data over that time (6 to 8 cycles), is that enough data to see a trend and then make an imformed decision?

I have read the protocol and am aware the .25 increases are the way to approach increases, for the moment, its only Thursday, we are going to be holding steady at 2.0

Jay
Helene & Tizon said:
Good morning Jay and Frankie,

I condo per day per cat is easier to keep everything about Frankie in one place, you'll get used to it. As Deb pointed out if you have questions, add the little ? button.

I hear your frustration regarding Frankie..... from my looking at your SS, I do see green action from this dose..... unless that's when you were shooting TID. Perhaps if it is the case, you could add a note to your SS to say that.... my memory isn't as good as it used to be and with the number of cats on this board.....it gets worse! :lol:

If my memory serves me right (this time), I'll ignore that green. BUT I see some blue -> high blue but blue nonetheless.

All this to say that IMO, this morning's numbers look like RBC (from the blues yesterday's AM or potential PM ones too). As you probably already know rebound hormones can last up to 72 hours.

I'll also echo what others have said, lantus increases are typically done by 0.25U and as for your proposed timing of your increase, I can't advise you. My current opinion is sit tight and wait for others to have a better look.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 +4 264

The early blue (yesterday morning) is concerning enough to me that I would recommend holding 10 cycles. With a new lantus kitty the recommended dose hold is 8-10 cycles. The first two cycles you were a combination of rebound, carb food and a skipped dose, so they don't count in my eyes. 6 cycle increases are reserved for resistant cats, which Frankie clearly is not, I'm so happy to see all this movement for him! I know he's not where you'd like to see him but he's gonna get there. I am seeing lots of changes on every cycle so far with him and I think he's not remotely close to showing us how he's gonna do on this dose. I think it's entirely possible he went blue again last night judging by your AMPS. Go look at Cindy and Mousie's SS.. Cindy is still in transition mode from PZI too, you'd be surprised how fast a dose can take hold and surprising numbers can show up.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 +4 264

But he looks so go in blue!!! Just kidding.

thanks by the way.
A few questions..maybe a PM from you ould be better (your call)

Why would that drop yesterday be of concern? (now I can figure out how this insulin works, almost real time as opposed to reading about it)

A few questions.

We all crashed out last nite at +2, at 260, although there are no stats beyond that, even if he did go Blue somewhere in the PM cycle, why then back up at the end of the cycle to over 300. I was told that Lantus can give us some duration, which as I interpret that to mean that he can hang at a lower number, late in the cycle, until that dose peters out.

Also I noticed that very late in his PM Cycles the past 2 days he dropped overnite. Do you attribute that to HC, and possible over dosing on Monday and Tuesday?

Typcially the questions I have are asked in the comment section of the ss, so that I dont have to remember each of them.

I'm not going anywhere with the dose yet, just my thinking on paper.

Jay


Carolyn and Spot said:
The early blue (yesterday morning) is concerning enough to me that I would recommend holding 10 cycles. With a new lantus kitty the recommended dose hold is 8-10 cycles. The first two cycles you were a combination of rebound, carb food and a skipped dose, so they don't count in my eyes. 6 cycle increases are reserved for resistant cats, which Frankie clearly is not, I'm so happy to see all this movement for him! I know he's not where you'd like to see him but he's gonna get there. I am seeing lots of changes on every cycle so far with him and I think he's not remotely close to showing us how he's gonna do on this dose. I think it's entirely possible he went blue again last night judging by your AMPS. Go look at Cindy and Mousie's SS.. Cindy is still in transition mode from PZI too, you'd be surprised how fast a dose can take hold and surprising numbers can show up.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 +4 264

Jay said:
But he looks so go in blue!!! Just kidding.

thanks by the way.
A few questions..maybe a PM from you ould be better (your call)

Why would that drop yesterday be of concern? (now I can figure out how this insulin works, almost real time as opposed to reading about it)

A few questions.

We all crashed out last nite at +2, at 260, although there are no stats beyond that, even if he did go Blue somewhere in the PM cycle, why then back up at the end of the cycle to over 300. I was told that Lantus can give us some duration, which as I interpret that to mean that he can hang at a lower number, late in the cycle, until that dose peters out.

Also I noticed that very late in his PM Cycles the past 2 days he dropped overnite. Do you attribute that to HC, and possible over dosing on Monday and Tuesday?

The high numbers appear to be rebound and dose settling to me. Late drops are indications that it's taking a whole cycle to clear rebound, which is totally normal in the beginning.

There's no way to analyze what's happening right now. The only thing we can see in early days of lantus use is whether the cat is beginning to respond to Lantus, and he very clearly is responding. When dosing with lantus *in the beginning* you have to always remember the liver is in play. With pzi the liver response is almost instant, with lantus, the liver response is a bit slower.. and lasts longer. As soon as his liver stops overreacting, you'll have much flatter cycles, but the mere fact that he went into blue AT ALL on your first dose is your clue that when rebound starts clearing, you could already be very close to your maintenance (ie: good) dose.

You don't have dose peter with lantus like you do pzi. Think about it like this: at every point during his cycle, including +12, Lantus is still working. With PZI, when it was done, it was done. There was no "layering" of doses. Rebound numbers put big strain on Lantus, so that's why it's so hard to hold your dose when you see numbers like that, but even though it is straining the insulin, it is not totally eradicating it, as would happen with PZI, so since it *is* layering, you must be extremely careful with your increases. It often takes days to see a full response to a dose increase.

As the dose settles, and Frankie learns how to use the lantus, you will find strange things like later nadirs, earlier nadirs, and sometimes no nadir. Periodically you might even see an inverted curve. The trick is to not look at the individual numbers. You look at the whole group of cycles together. "You can't see the forest for the tree" is exactly what happens with Lantus. Don't look at the tree, look at the forest. Your forest is still growing, so you can't quite see it yet, but it's coming :) Short story: don't try to overanalyze right now, your head will explode. There's nothing you can make sense of when they are in the beginning days as the changing cycles are only a reflection of the cat learning to use the insulin provided.

Hope that helps, I'm bad at explaining what's in my head. Gotta run, but I hope others can take up where I left off :)
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 +4 264

I'm outta here too.

Wont be back till his PM PS

Thanks
Jay
Carolyn and Spot said:
Jay said:
But he looks so go in blue!!! Just kidding.

thanks by the way.
A few questions..maybe a PM from you ould be better (your call)

Why would that drop yesterday be of concern? (now I can figure out how this insulin works, almost real time as opposed to reading about it)

A few questions.

We all crashed out last nite at +2, at 260, although there are no stats beyond that, even if he did go Blue somewhere in the PM cycle, why then back up at the end of the cycle to over 300. I was told that Lantus can give us some duration, which as I interpret that to mean that he can hang at a lower number, late in the cycle, until that dose peters out.

Also I noticed that very late in his PM Cycles the past 2 days he dropped overnite. Do you attribute that to HC, and possible over dosing on Monday and Tuesday?

The high numbers appear to be rebound and dose settling to me. Late drops are indications that it's taking a whole cycle to clear rebound, which is totally normal in the beginning.

There's no way to analyze what's happening right now. The only thing we can see in early days of lantus use is whether the cat is beginning to respond to Lantus, and he very clearly is responding. When dosing with lantus *in the beginning* you have to always remember the liver is in play. With pzi the liver response is almost instant, with lantus, the liver response is a bit slower.. and lasts longer. As soon as his liver stops overreacting, you'll have much flatter cycles, but the mere fact that he went into blue AT ALL on your first dose is your clue that when rebound starts clearing, you could already be very close to your maintenance (ie: good) dose.

You don't have dose peter with lantus like you do pzi. Think about it like this: at every point during his cycle, including +12, Lantus is still working. With PZI, when it was done, it was done. There was no "layering" of doses. Rebound numbers put big strain on Lantus, so that's why it's so hard to hold your dose when you see numbers like that, but even though it is straining the insulin, it is not totally eradicating it, as would happen with PZI, so since it *is* layering, you must be extremely careful with your increases. It often takes days to see a full response to a dose increase.

As the dose settles, and Frankie learns how to use the lantus, you will find strange things like later nadirs, earlier nadirs, and sometimes no nadir. Periodically you might even see an inverted curve. The trick is to not look at the individual numbers. You look at the whole group of cycles together. "You can't see the forest for the tree" is exactly what happens with Lantus. Don't look at the tree, look at the forest. Your forest is still growing, so you can't quite see it yet, but it's coming :) Short story: don't try to overanalyze right now, your head will explode. There's nothing you can make sense of when they are in the beginning days as the changing cycles are only a reflection of the cat learning to use the insulin provided.

Hope that helps, I'm bad at explaining what's in my head. Gotta run, but I hope others can take up where I left off :)
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 +4 264 +6 301 +7 181??

A few questions..maybe a PM from you ould be better (your call)

Actually it is preferred to hold all conversations and questions in your condo in public not via private PM. The reason for this is so there is peer review, everyone can see the questions being asked and answers given and can jump in if there is something incorrect or inconsistent.

Additionally, you don't want someone sending you private advice who may not have the knowledge to being giving that advice. If it's sent privately, then nobody else will see it and if you are given incorrect information and follow it and something happens - well nobody will know what's going on and why.

So, please keep everything public.

It does not mean you cannot use PM. :mrgreen:

Make sense?
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 321 +2 350 +4 264 +6 301 +7 181??

Caryl and Alex said:
Hey look at that! Frankie is in blue! He can feel confident going out now :mrgreen:

Don't you think that blue is a good color for him

Jay
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top