Frankie ate an oven mitt & BS is wacky!

Status
Not open for further replies.

WickedSteppMom

Member Since 2011
I know I haven't posted in forever & I don't have a current SS up on Frankie, but I need some help/advice, please! Frankie thinks he's part goat & decided to chew the top 1/4 off the thumb of one of my really thick oven mitts in the wee hours this morning (Maybe around midnight, EST) He's chewed things up before, like his YEOWW! catnip toys (and I'll find pieces of them in his vomit) though I try to take the toys away as soon as I notice a hole.

Anyway, I've been keeping an eye on him & he's not in any distress, but his blood sugar levels seem wacky today:
11/13 (Yesterday)
5:15am 205 0.5u
11:00pm 235 0.75u
~Midnight~ ate part of oven mitt

11/14 (Today)
10:44am 52 no shot
4:40pm 56 no shot

He's 5 years old, on B-PZI, and eats canned food every 6 hours. I do have a binder w/all of his readings if you need more info. I'm wondering if somehow the oven mitt is causing an issue, like preventing him from absorbing enough food? Should I give him a little bit of Laxatone to help him pass it? I know if I call the vet's office, they will tell me to bring him in, which I'm happy to do if it's necessary, but if it's something that will "pass" with time & I'm just being being an anxious kitty-mom...well, I'd rather just deal with that at home! nailbite_smile
 
A vet visit is strongly suggested before it moves too deeply into the intestines, blocks them, and requires major surgery to remove.
An X-ray may determine where the material is and if it poses any danger of obstruction.
 
I agree, I think you need to better understand where this oven mitt is. He may easily pass it, then again, it could get stuck and create an emergency situation. I'd get an xray or even an ultrasound to find out what is going on and if he can pass this on his own or not.

Scary stuff.... (pardon the pun).
 
Hi Alyssa,
I agree. Vet visit. In the last week, are the BG numbers you listed for the 13th what you've been seeing? The sudden drop to normal numbers, while awesome to see, don't seem like a good thing in this case. Not if the only variable is 1u of "oven mitt".

Keep us posted,
Carl
 
I'm so sorry to take SO long to post an update! My laptop is on life-support and our ISP has been having issues, and the combination has made getting online extremely difficult lately...I know how to do some things through my phone, but haven't figure out this site yet.

Anyway, I called the vet's office the same evening as the original post & they asked me many, many in-depth questions about when the oven mitt part was eaten, if I know for a fact he ate it (or possibly chewed on it & then left the bits somewhere), what his blood sugars had been like for the past several days, what his activity was like, etc. The vet said that since he had still been eating all day & showing normal activity, with no tenderness when I pressed lightly/medium on his belly, that he was likely just fine. He said that normally when an animal has a blockage, they show decreased appetite, diarrhea, vomiting, and abdominal pain...he said obviously we'd want to catch him BEFORE he gets a blockage, but normally appetite will at least slow down if they've eaten something large enough to cause a potential blockage. He told me I could bring him in for an xray if I wanted to, just for peace of mind, but he was fairly certain that it wasn't needed & I trust this vet when he says that (since he has a cranky diabetic kitty!) He also said that eating the oven mitt shouldn't have caused the sugar to drop & stay low all day...in any case, it started coming back up by late that night.
 
I'm also very happy to hear he's doing okay. So what did we learn from all of this? Oven mitts are low carb. :lol:
 
KPassa said:
So what did we learn from all of this? Oven mitts are low carb. :lol:
I shouldn't be laughing, but this was funny! :)

Glad to hear that Frankie is okay!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top