? Frankie 07/14 AMBG 59 +5 137 PMPS 283 +4 342

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well . . . I don't think it's a clearcut situation. Because Frankie is a long-term diabetic, he would normally not get a reduction unless he went below 40 on a human meter. As you know, we don't have an exact equivalent for the AT2. I'd guess that because the 40 is 10 points less than the usual 50, you could reasonably use 58 as your reduction number, which is 10 points less than the usual 68 AT2.

With that 59 did you recheck him again in a few minutes? That's pretty low on an AT.
 
ok, it's just low enough that I'd want to recheck. If you have to leave I'd be tempted to give him some high carb for him to eat first - like a couple of teaspoons of gravy, and then his regular meal. Just to make sure he's safe.

Since you skipped this morning, you can always shoot early tonight.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) I've left already, I left straight after I fed him. He has extra down cos he is carb sensitive so I know HC food sends him skyrocketing. The pet sitters are coming lunchtime. I'm confused about reductions now. I was using 3.0 (54) as the AT reduction point but when he went low 3 times on the 3 unit dose I was told not to wait. Which is correct?
 
Hi Sue.
With long term diabetics, some folk will use three drops under 50 (human meter). (that could translate as 3 drops under 68 AT)
Single drop under 40 (human meter) (no conversion for this as the comparisons run by many are not linear but the 58 Julie suggested seems sensible, not sure where you got the 54 for a reduction point from that seems awfully low for an AT)

Given that:
If Frankie dropped below 68 AT (but above 58) on three separate days that would give you a reduction.
But dropping below 58 AT on a single occasion would give you a reduction immediately

So looking as the ss,
Given that the 56 a couple of days ago should have earned him a reduction.
Counting back with this mornings 59 he has also had 3 drops below 68 also indicating a reduction is warranted.

What I am not sure about is if you should be using both methods together????
@julie & punkin (ga) could you offer some insight?

It get's quite tricky figuring this out for an AT since there is no reliable direct correlation between that and the human meters, and the protocol has been devised using human meters. :confused: FWIW That's why I opted to use a human meter, even if it doesn't give you a reading that's comparable to a lab reading, in my mind it doesn't matter, what was important to me was following the potocol as closely as I could, and having the human meter made that easier.
 
I got the figure 54 (3.0) as the drop figure of 40 equals to 2.2, therefore judging for an increase in the AT figures, that is why I used 3. It was purely my thinking, not any advice here. I wasn't using both together, I have been told about both and was going for the immediate reduction figure, but was then advised otherwise. At +3 Frankie is still only 7.6 (137), so at PMPS, I may shoot through the inevitable bounce and then reduce tomorrow morning.
 
Wow. At PMPS he is still only 15.7 (283). I will give the reduced dose now. Where is the bounce?
 
Can you assist feed him to get calories in him? When Neko wouldn't eat, I syringe fed some high carb food so that I could give her the shot. They'll feel unwell in higher numbers too.

Remember that kitties undergoing anesthesia (and hence having no food) usually get 1/2 dose insulin on vet's recommendation. I would talk to your vet if he's still not eating.
 
You always want to do what you think is the best choice. Typically, the reduction is like Gill said above for a long-term diabetic cat. If you see that Frankie is holding his reductions, then you might want to take them a first time that he drops into low numbers. I think it was fine to take the reduction this morning - he's held the last one and maybe he'll hold this one.

I'd just be watchful, knowing that you can always take the dose back up if it seems like his blood sugar is trending upward.

Hope he's eating by now! You can find the link about stimulating a kitty's appetite in the lower part of the "New to the Group?" sticky.
 
Yes thank goodness he's eaten now but it is 10.30pm and only 8 hours until his am injection, so I'll skip tonight. At +4 he is 19.0 (342)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top