Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangerous?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Noodle has needed a dental for many weeks but my previous vet said he had to be "regulated" or it would be "too dangerous." Noodle's BG is running in the mid-high 200s most of the time. I argued that maybe Noodle's gingivitis might be KEEPING his numbers high. He pretty much scoffed at that and with all the other issues we couldn't agree on, I found another vet who, so far at least, seems to be much better. Noodle had a UTI a couple of weeks ago and when he was at the vet, I brought up the dental issue again. He said after Noodle's UTI was cleared up we could proceed with the dental. All Noodle's other blood work was perfect. I know there is always some risk with anesthesia and I guess I'm asking if I'm doing the right thing. I would NEVER knowingly put Noodle in danger but the first vet's dire warnings have me worried. What do you think and also, is there anything specific I should be doing to help Noodle?
This is his first dental since being diagnosed in May. Thanks to everyone for your thoughts. I may be wrong but I just have an idea that his gums being so irritated and having so much buildup on the teeth might be standing at least partly in the way of his numbers showing improvement.

Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

HI Christi,

Our vet actually recommended a dental for Saoirse precisely because it could improve her numbers (not had it done yet). He told me that dental issues can keep numbers higher. He has a sugar kitty himself, and he told me she became much better regulated after she had her dental done.

FWIW, whenever my cats had to undergo general anaesthetic, I always asked for them to get the injection to reverse the anaesthetic as soon as the procedure was completed in order to reduce the time they were under.
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Hi Aine,
Thank you so much for that information--you made me feel much better and like I am doing the right thing. I think that first vet was a poor one and maybe just lazy :-x
I didn't even know that there was a shot to reverse the anesthetic to shorten the time Noodle would be under but I am VERY glad to know about that and will ask my vet to do it. I am so happy you told me--I learned something new today :smile:
I hope sweet Saoirse is doing well and thank you so much for your help.

Hugs to you both,
Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

I was glad to find out about the reversal injection, too. I really don't like general anaesthetics. nailbite_smile

Thank you for asking after Saoirse. I had a wonderful surprise this evening. After her +6 feed this evening she suddenly started chasing one of her mouse toys all on her own. It's the first time she has started playing spontaneously in I don't know how long. She's also getting more sociable, relaxed and purry with each passing day. Best of all, she has started snuggling with me much more often and sleeping beside me. I'm thrilled! I love her so much and I hate, hate, hate having to poke and prod her but moments like tonight mean the world to me because she was able to show me she's feeling better and that all the discomfort has been worthwhile. :-D

(((Hugs))) for you and scritches for Noodle. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

I am just delighted for you. It is so wonderful when those little things start happening again, like the spontaneous playing and cuddling. That shows that she really feels good and is more like her old self. I'd feel like celebrating too, if I were you. That is such very good news! :RAHCAT
One thing that has distressed me about Noodle and the insulin is that it seems to have changed his personality. He used to be really affectionate and cuddly, sleeping on the bed all the time, etc. but he really is not like that anymore and it makes me sad. I hope somehow when we finally get him regulated that maybe the old Noodle will come back. I miss that about my boy.
I am so happy to hear your good news. Give Saoirse a loving pat for me :smile:

Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Thanks so much for the thread about dental work. I am going to read it right now :smile:

Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

I've seen other discussions about personality changes on different insulins, Christi. Caninsulin had a dreadful effect on Saoirse. She was miserable for 9-10 hours of every cycle (hiding a lot of the time) and then she'd brighten up for the last couple of hours before the next dose was due, or when I had to skip a dose. She used to try to hide when it came time for her Caninsulin injections, too. As I noted in her spreadsheet, it was like having 2 different cats. Lantus dampens her spirits somewhat, but nothing as bad as the Caninsulin. Days when she reaches lower numbers are much better.

On those other threads, I remember some members commenting that when they switched their unhappy cats to a different insulin (e.g. Levemir) the cats seemed much happier afterwards.

Have passed on your fusses to my little Munchkin. Send Noodle some fusses from us, too. :smile:
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Yes, there is always a danger with surgery but with diabetes, they can't really improve very far if it's their teeth that put them there in the first place.
Teeth are key for cats so it becomes a quality of life issue.


I do have to add that my own cat stopped sleeping with me as much and that was why I took her in and found out her bg was rising.
I knew something wasn't right. She has more going on than just diabetes, but that was why I found out.
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Thanks, Aine. I remember reading about a lot of people noticing a personality improvement when their kitties switched to Levemir. Noodle's numbers are coming down a little bit on Lantus but overall I'm not too impressed so if I thought I could get his personality back AND have better numbers, I'd try Levemir in a moment. Trouble is, my vet thinks Lantus is the one and the ONLY insulin, so I know he'd fight me every step of the way. I am very anxious to see if Noodle's dental improves things and we'll go from there. But I'm not above getting my own Levemir at some point and throwing myself on the mercy of this board to help me with dosage, etc. One day at a time, I guess. And how is sweet Saoirse today? I understand she gave you some anxious moments a couple of nights ago. Have things smoothed out? Sure hope so :YMHUG:

Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Hi Rhiannon and Shadow,
You know, I have read so many things here on the board about how key the dental issues are in diabetic cats. That's why I'm so surprised that two different vets have kind of pooh-poohed the idea that this might be driving Noodle's numbers up, at least a little. Their comments have been "we'll get to that, there's no hurry" and meanwhile I'm reading and researching how important this factor is. I believe it was Sandy and Black Kitty who sent me detailed information on the impact a dental had on Black Kitty. I just hope Noodle comes through all right. I guess I'm a worrier. :?
How is your sweet Shadow doing? She sure is a beautiful kitty. I love the picture you have on her profile page.

Hugs to you both,
Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Hi Christi,

Things are a bit up and down here at the moment, more for me than for Saoirse but we're getting there slowly.

Christi & Noodle said:
I just hope Noodle comes through [the dental ]all right. I guess I'm a worrier. :?
You're not alone in that, Christi. It's going to take me a while to summon up the courage to get Saoirse's teeth sorted. nailbite_smile

Keeping fingers and paws crossed that Noodle's dental goes fine and that it will do good things for his numbers. You know where to come if you need some moral support. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Hi Aine,
Well, a complication has arisen. In the past 24 hours Noodle has had several episodes of really foul diarrhea so I called the vet and he said definitely we'll postpone the dental. We'll get a fecal on Noodle to take when we see the vet tomorrow. Noodle's numbers had been trending a little better but this afternoon's was a little higher so possibly there's an infection brewing. Something's wrong, because he's been going out of the litter box all day. S-I-G-H.
I'm so sorry you are having some ups and downs. Nothing can ever be easy, can it? Noodle and I are sending comforting pats your way.

:smile:

Christi
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

It certainly is a rollercoaster, Christi. Poor Noodle ... :sad:

Sending hugs for you and scritches for Noodle.

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Forcing Vet to do Dental on Noodle-Safety issue? Dangero

Thanks, Aine. And we're sending some back to you and Saoirse :YMHUG:

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top