Food

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph

Member Since 2013
The information on this forum is priceless. It's the best. Because there is so much good info, I wonder if we could have a dedicated page or section for food? (We have such brilliant content for protocols, types of insulin.)
I find myself digging through posts for info on best high-protein dry food, for example. Those brands are pretty few and far between...

Wet food is another issue; with so many new brands, it's a large ocean. Plus, for example, I was told NEVER to use gravy foods because of carbs. But one company's "gravy" may not be carb-loaded.

I'm a health journalist by trade and would be happy, delighted to compile this if I knew where to find all the info here. If anyone thinks this is a good idea, please count on me to assist. I would personally find it very valuable. Thanks for considering. I'm sure our monitors here to tire of us asking the s-a-m-e questions. :()

Oh, and if this page or section already exists and I don't see it, my bad, totally.
 
I'm new here, and I think what you're proposing is intended for site owners and moderators. All of this food issue seems "a moving target." The manufacturers reformulate and relabel at times. So, everything needs to be updated frequently. Have you seen Dr. Lisa's food chart? Janet and Binky have one as well, but it's even older.

I'm more than a little irked that carrageenan is in so many commercial canned cat foods, and carrageenan's implicated in health issues. I guess the best solution is to grind the carcass yourself.
 
Hi guys: This is good. I just wonder if we could set up a page with canned and dry food, aggregated from "everywhere." I would be willing to do the research
and put this together. My cat's sugar has gone up double, and he's totally bored with Merrick pates. I'm trying a few new wet foods I see people mention here, but
I honestly don't know if they're safe: Maybe that's why he's pre-shot at 400! Any ideas? Some of you are nutritionists in your own right, and can do the math much better than I.
Let me know thoughts? Happy to do IF It helps. Thanks so much for reply and support. It's just that this kind of a "nagging thing" for me. If we could set up a "Home" for it on the site,
great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top