Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Noodle is supposed to have his long-awaited dental on Friday unless some unforeseen thing would delay it. He gets his shots at 8:30 am and 8:30 pm. The technician originally told me no food or water after 10 pm, and to give him his usual shot of 3.25U when I feed him at shot time. But then the vet said since he is diabetic he could have a little food and water up till 5 am Friday morning because diabetics are a "special case." I always thought that one reason animals had to fast before surgery was so that they didn't possibly inhale stomach contents, which would be dangerous for a variety of reasons, including aspiration into the lungs and subsequent pneumonia. What would be the safest course of action? Do I feed in the night, and leave out water, or take him in fasting? Maybe give him an extra-big meal at 10 pm so he'll have a little extra in his system? Keep the usual insulin dose? He is always very hungry in the morning so he is not going to be happy (his cleaning is scheduled for 8 am) but I want to err on the side of caution. Would very much appreciate the best advice to keep Noodle safe. Thanks so much and hope everyone's kitties are having a good Sunday :smile:

Christi
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 258 12

Because of his comorbities, keeping as much stable for him as possible seems prudent. If he's a grazer, the amount in his stomach may be insignificant. If he's a gulp and go, doing more of the food earlier makes sense.

My vet had me fast Spitzer from midnight on, and give half the insulin dose, as anesthesia can make the glucose go lower.
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Safest is not food after midnight but no restriction on drinking. However, my vet say for diabetic kitties, 1/2 food in morning and 1/2 normal insulin dose if morning PS is normal.
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Thank you so much, Larry and BJM. I really appreciate the tips and advice. :smile:

Christi
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Glad to hear Noodle is having a dental - my Black Kitty is a poster child for the (sometimes dramatic) difference healthy teeth and gums can make.

For his first 2 dentals, he saw a veterinary dental specialist. His vet referred us because his mouth was in a state far beyond what she, a general practitioner, was comfortable with. Once the serious stuff was addressed, his regular vet took over yearly dentals, until there were no more teeth to worry about :cool:

FWIW the dental specialist had me bring him in the evening before so I'm not sure when they cut off food and water. Both times he was not given any insulin the morning of the procedure, in spite of being a high dose kitty' Good thing too - his BG tested at 30 immediately following the first dental - he went without insulin for 36 hours. The second time he didn't bottom out howwever it was 24 hours before I resumed insulin.

Important to remember that a kitty who has just had extractions is likely not going to be in the mood to eat. Also, as BJM mentioned anesthesia very often causes BG to drop out. My BKs PMPS the evening I dropped him off was 349 and I shot his regular (at the time) dose of 13u. As I mentioned his dentist skipped the AM shot , yet BK hit 30 :shock: immediately after surgery.

Not sure if anyone has pointed you to the Information on Dental Procedures post. There you will find all sorts of information on dental cleaning and surgery.

Keep us posted! :cool:
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Hi Sandy and Black Kitty,
Thank you so much for all the great information. I have great hopes that the dental will have a positive impact on Noodle, as it did for Black Kitty. I'm nervous about the BG fluctuations though. What a drop it was, down to 30 for Black Kitty. That's amazing.
Thank you also for the link to the dental information. I went and read through it but will read it again more thoroughly in the time before Noodle's dental so I can make sure I ask all the right questions. Honestly, did you ever see anyone who made such a big deal about their kitty's dental? :shock: But poor Noodle has been through so much this year, and it is my first experience with a dental on a sugar kitty so I want to give him every break it is in my power to do. I must confess I will be greatly relieved when he is home and safe.
Thanks again, I really appreciate your advice.

Christi
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Christi & Noodle said:
Honestly, did you ever see anyone who made such a big deal about their kitty's dental? :shock:
Indeed I have, including yours truly. :cool:
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

With all three of mine it was no insulin in the morning and no food after midnight the day before and no water after 6 am in the morning. Which proved to be the right choice with 2, with Maxwell it didn't matter he was already OTJ.

And YES we all have a small meltdown including myself while my kids were getting ready for and during their dentals. Of course I pace the floor when it is even something as routine as a spay or neuter until I get the call that they are in recovery and everything has gone just fine. Welcome to motherhood...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Thank you, Sandy and Black Kitty :smile: Yep, drama-free is what we want. Given Noodle's recent bout with DKA, the vet wanted me to bring him in today for the pre-anesthetic testing, just to make completely sure that all his numbers were normal and thankfully, they were. So it's a go for tomorrow morning and not much sleep for mama-bean tonight :? Thanks for thinking of us :smile:

Christi
 
Re: Food, Insulin Adjustments Pre-dental? Noodle AMPS 278 12

Hi Mel,
When I pressed the vet today as to THE safest way to balance the insulin/feeding thing, she said exactly what you did and that's what I feel best about. Good thing Noodle's appointment is first thing in the morning because he always REALLY wants his breakfast and of course he can't have any in the morning. So I'm going to give him an extra bit at midnight and hope that sees him through. Thanks so much for your advice and letting me know I'm not the only pacer about these things :smile:

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top