? Food Guide

You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P





Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one Halo Live A Littles
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=halo liv a littles&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqM3npIiF-AIVEYnICh2PtQK6EAAYAyAAEgL--PD_BwE&hvadid=176944855419&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&he

https://www.amazon.com/Halo-Littles...ords=halo live a little&qid=1653847544&sr=8-1

Looks like they have other flavors also
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) thank you for the food chart link! I bookmarked the link for easy reference! I was looking for the food I give Carlton, but wasn't on it. I googled it and it shows 18% carbs :/ that doesn't seem good
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) thank you for the food chart link! I bookmarked the link for easy reference! I was looking for the food I give Carlton, but wasn't on it. I googled it and it shows 18% carbs :/ that doesn't seem good
I did a search on the board and found this posted by 2 members about the Purina DM Wet


Purina DM canned is 6% carbs
Purina DM wet food pate version is 6% carbs,
Look at the food chart Bron gave you most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate of Friskies
One other thing I see you are following SLGS
Anytime Carlton drops below 90 you should decrease by 0.25
Which was advised to do on this previous thread of yours
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...afe-to-give-an-injection.263846/#post-2956620

You should have reduced Carlton's dose on 5-25 to 1.25 units because he dropped below 90 on 5-24 during his night cycle
Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?

Can you please update your spreadsheet

If I were you I would post everyday on the Lantus board , I see you have already posted on there already. Just link the previous days post to the new one

You might want to read about the SLGS dosing method again :cat:
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom most is still a bit overwhelming to navigate. I am still doing 1.5u, at the time I hadn't gotten the syringes with the 1/2u markings. I got the new syringes last week so I can definitely do the 1.25u going forward and see how his numbers look!
Good to know the DM wet is 6%, as I look back it was the dry food! Carlton unfortunately doesn't like pate foods :/ when I got him I had tried Fancy Feast and the Friskies.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom most is still a bit overwhelming to navigate. I am still doing 1.5u, at the time I hadn't gotten the syringes with the 1/2u markings. I got the new syringes last week so I can definitely do the 1.25u going forward and see how his numbers look!
Good to know the DM wet is 6%, as I look back it was the dry food! Carlton unfortunately doesn't like pate foods :/ when I got him I had tried Fancy Feast and the Friskies.
Hi Jennifer , yes it's a bit overwhelming in the beginning, just keep asking questions when you're not sure about something. If I can't help you I will definitely tag someone for you.
Can you update your spreadsheet
Was there any reason you weren't able to test Carlton after his AMPS on 5-21 through 5-24?
@Foster Momma
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Hi Bron if you look at Jennifer's previous post

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...afe-to-give-an-injection.263846/#post-2956620
She was reminded that with SLGS you reduce by 0.25 whenever Carlton drops below 90
On 5-24 and 5-29 he did drop below 90 but she didn't reduce
I reminded her about SLGS dosing and she said she will be shooting 1.25 units, I see it in her SS.She was shooting 1.5 units before .
Should she reduce or do you think she should wait until he drops below 90 again
She is also missing a lot of data on certain days ,I asked her about them but haven't heard back. If you look at her SS there were many many times she should have reduced from 1.5 to 1.25
Thanks Bron
 
Last edited:
unfortunately doesn't like pate foods :/ when I got him I had tried Fancy Feast and the Friskies.
If he ever gets tired of the Purina DM Wet you can try


I did a search on our site and found this posted from one of our members
On the food chart take a look at Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked /Chunky
They are not pates, some are 4, 5, or 6 % carbs
Chunky Chicken Feast - is 4% carbs.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
Dr. Lisa's list says:
FANCY FEAST - Roasted/Flaked/Chunky - Chunky Chicken Feast - is 4% carbs.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jennifer, I see you have dropped the dose to 1.25 units this cycle. Please stay with that dose as the 1.5 units was too high.
You didn’t get a PMPS BG before giving the dose. Please make sure you always do for safety. I can see you got a 98 at+10 so please get some early tests in this pm cycle to see Carlton is safe. I would test until nadir ( lowest part is cycle)
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom originally he was using the Freestyle so I was getting lots of readings for Carlton. Once it stopped I'm limited on how many times I can test him throughout the day since I'm not home :/ on my days off which are 2xs per week I've been testing regularly throughout the day. I am only able to do a few extra tests in the evening before I go to bed. Spreadsheet is updated
 
Back
Top