Food charts

Status
Not open for further replies.

funkyou

Member Since 2022
I've recently been told we're meant to go by ME (metabolised energy) carb percentage, not just carb percentage. I've started going through Fancy Feast flavours on the Aussie food info charts here and pretty much all the numbers shown are just for carb percentage, not ME carbs.

One flavour says it's 4%, so is nice and low carb, but the calculator comes up with more than 22% ME carbs. That's not good, is it? I've spent so much money on food and now I'm just upset that I was misled :(
 
Not sure how to move a thread, if you were addressing me..
Hi just copy your thread up top, go to the Think Tank , tap post new thread and then paste it
Also it would be a good idea to set up your signature
It's information about Meika. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray


I'll give you the link just tap on the blue link
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
 
Last edited:
Hi just copy your thread up top, go to the Think Tank , tap post new thread and then paste it
Also it would be a good idea to set up your signature
It's information about Meika. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray


I'll give you the link just tap on the blue link
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

Sorry, I still can't figure out how to copy the post :(

I already had the spreadsheet there but have updated the rest of my signature, look okay?
 
I've recently been told we're meant to go by ME (metabolised energy) carb percentage, not just carb percentage. I've started going through Fancy Feast flavours on the Aussie food info charts here and pretty much all the numbers shown are just for carb percentage, not ME carbs.

One flavour says it's 4%, so is nice and low carb, but the calculator comes up with more than 22% ME carbs. That's not good, is it? I've spent so much money on food and now I'm just upset that I was misled :(
I can try tagging the members again, I see Red & Rover has done above
Tagging a couple people for this discussion.
@Marje and Gracie
@Elizabeth and Bertie

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

I posted for you in the Think Tank

Yes you signature and SS look fine
@funkyou

You need to be testing before every pre shot AM and PM
A lot of skipped and failed
Are you warming the ear, using 26 or 28 gauge lancets?
Is there any way you can get more tests in during both cycles, it's important to see how the insulin is working and how low Meika's BG is dropping
I see you are following SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Last edited:
This might help
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up

Here is a video one of our members did
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
You need to be testing before every pre shot AM and PM
A lot of skipped and failed
Are you warming the ear, using 26 or 28 gauge lancets?
Is there any way you can get more tests in during both cycles, it's important to see how the insulin is working and how low Meika's BG is dropping
I see you are following SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Looking at your spreadsheet on the US chart it says you were giving 0.5 units starting on 4-7 thru 4-22
But on the World chart you were giving 1 unit for all the dates?
Which one is correct?
 
Tagging a couple people for this discussion.

@Marje and Gracie
@Elizabeth and Bertie

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
Also, can this thread be moved to the Think Tank? TIA.
Hi just copy your thread up top, go to the Think Tank , tap post new thread and then paste it
Also it would be a good idea to set up your signature
It's information about Meika. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray


I'll give you the link just tap on the blue link
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
We can’t move a thread to Think Tank when the discussion includes posts that should be in Main Health like dosing, etc. :smuggrin:

I don’t see this as a TT topic. It’s a question which goes back to what she is feeding her kitty in terms of % carbs. Thanks everyone for pitching in! :):)

I've recently been told we're meant to go by ME (metabolised energy) carb percentage, not just carb percentage. I've started going through Fancy Feast flavours on the Aussie food info charts here and pretty much all the numbers shown are just for carb percentage, not ME carbs.

One flavour says it's 4%, so is nice and low carb, but the calculator comes up with more than 22% ME carbs. That's not good, is it? I've spent so much money on food and now I'm just upset that I was misled :(
I’m not sure who told you that but we don’t go by ME carbs. We’ve always gone by % calories from carbs. So I’d disregard that info on ME carbs but I’d still like to know who said “we are meant to go by ME carbs”. Thank you :):):)
 
Looking at your spreadsheet on the US chart it says you were giving 0.5 units starting on 4-7 thru 4-22
But on the World chart you were giving 1 unit for all the dates?
Which one is correct?
 
We can’t move a thread to Think Tank when the discussion includes posts that should be in Main Health like dosing, etc. :smuggrin:

I don’t see this as a TT topic. It’s a question which goes back to what she is feeding her kitty in terms of % carbs. Thanks everyone for pitching in! :):)

I’m not sure who told you that but we don’t go by ME carbs. We’ve always gone by % calories from carbs. So I’d disregard that info on ME carbs but I’d still like to know who said “we are meant to go by ME carbs”. Thank you :):):)

Question on this - I thought % of calories from carbs was the same thing metabolized energy (ME) profile? linking BFF gravies where I got that info from https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/bff-omg-ni/
They have the ME profiles up at the top and the as fed values. I double checked and did the calculations from the forum post showing you how to calculate % of calories from carbs from the as fed values and I get the same results as the ME profile.

but if ME carbs and % of calories from carbs are not the same, would someone mind explaining what the difference is? thank you!
 
Looking at your spreadsheet on the US chart it says you were giving 0.5 units starting on 4-7 thru 4-22
But on the World chart you were giving 1 unit for all the dates?
Which one is correct?

Oh oops! I'll fix it now!

I initially thought I was giving 0.5u from the start, it wasn't until I got a new box of syringes that hold 50u instead of 30u that I realised I'd been giving her 1u (the vet prescribed 1 notch on the syringe, I just wasn't reading the amount correctly).
 
Question on this - I thought % of calories from carbs was the same thing metabolized energy (ME) profile? linking BFF gravies where I got that info from https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/bff-omg-ni/
They have the ME profiles up at the top and the as fed values. I double checked and did the calculations from the forum post showing you how to calculate % of calories from carbs from the as fed values and I get the same results as the ME profile.

but if ME carbs and % of calories from carbs are not the same, would someone mind explaining what the difference is? thank you!

This was in the forum post you tagged:

"With this conversion, we can now see that, for this food, 3.9% carbs on an as-fed basis is the same as 21% carbs on a DMB.

However, the above information still does not actually tell us the % of calories from carbohydrates which is the crucial number we need"
 
I can try tagging the members again, I see Red & Rover has done above
Tagging a couple people for this discussion.
@Marje and Gracie
@Elizabeth and Bertie

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

I posted for you in the Think Tank

Yes you signature and SS look fine
@funkyou

You need to be testing before every pre shot AM and PM
A lot of skipped and failed
Are you warming the ear, using 26 or 28 gauge lancets?
Is there any way you can get more tests in during both cycles, it's important to see how the insulin is working and how low Meika's BG is dropping
I see you are following SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
The skipped tests are when I'm home alone, I can't test her by myself unfortunately.

I got 28g lancets two days ago and am already noticing it's easier to get blood than it had been previously :cat: I do use a rice sock.

Her Libre arrived in the mail yesterday so I'm going to book her in on the 11th to have that attached so I can do a curve and get a better idea of what's happening with her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top