Food amount

Status
Not open for further replies.

NancyJH

Member Since 2020
My cat, Lenny, is about 11 lbs. I test, feed, then shoot. I know it’s important to eat before the insulin but how much food is necessary? I usually try to make sure he eats about 1+ can of Fancy Feast before his insulin. Sometimes he’s fussy and doesn’t want a whole lot because of daytime snacks. I’m not sure what is an appropriate amount.
Thanks,
Nancy
 
You don't have as much to be concerned about with Prozinc as the other "in and out" insulin since Prozinc onset is not quick. Lenny's spreadsheet will tell you that you start seeing the insulin kick in after 2 - 3 hours. It's fine if he wants to graze.

I'm tagging @JanetNJ since it looks to me like Lenny needs more insulin.
 
as long as he's willing to eat it's fine. My cats never eat a whole can at a time. THey come and go throughout the morning. he does need more insulin. I'm not sure why you lowered the dose from 1.5 back down to 1.25.... If anything he needs 1.75.
 
My spreadsheet is about a month behind. After getting so many 400’s, I have been giving him 1.5. Most of the time his preshot numbers have been in the 300s. I start to panic when his numbers drop into the mid 100s during the day but especially during the night. I should update his spreadsheet and see if you think I should increase it more. Thank you!
 
My spreadsheet is about a month behind. After getting so many 400’s, I have been giving him 1.5. Most of the time his preshot numbers have been in the 300s. I start to panic when his numbers drop into the mid 100s during the day but especially during the night. I should update his spreadsheet and see if you think I should increase it more. Thank you!
I didn't realize it wasn't updated. I should have looked at the dates. You WANT the numbers in the hundreds. Actually you want it around 90-120. Then once you get there you want it around 80-100. Don't keep those numbers high, it will do damage to the organs.
 
When I get a lower number at the preshot time, I tend to get nervous and reduce the dose thinking that it may drop 100 or more which could put it in the dangerously low numbers. If I get a lower preshot number — say in the 200s should I still be giving 1.5?
 
When I get a lower number at the preshot time, I tend to get nervous and reduce the dose thinking that it may drop 100 or more which could put it in the dangerously low numbers. If I get a lower preshot number — say in the 200s should I still be giving 1.5?
Over 200 shoot the full amount. Under 200 stall without feeding for an hour and see if it is going up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top