Dawn and Peek-a-Boo (GA)
Member Since 2015
As the chaos of the morning is now behind me, this hits me like a ton of bricks...
Yesterday Peek-a-Boo could not pass stool. I managed his chronic constipation with Miralax and lactulose, but yesterday he strained and produced nothing. My nephew had a musical program in the evening, and I decided when I returned, if there still was nothing, I would take him in.
Got home. No stool. We went to the emergency and the vet on duty said he was indeed constipated and a quick sedation and enema, along with small amount of fluids should do it, and we'd be on our way...piece of cake. It was a busy night there and we got home around midnight. I was relieved that he would soon start to feel better, and so I lined my bedroom floor with piddle pads to prepare for the mess that was to come. Peeks crawled out of his carrier and stumbled a few feet before laying down...typical of anesthesia wearing off. Vet said lethargy was to be expected. I knew this.
I checked on him periodically and he moved from pad to pad making a mess, but for most of the night he didn't move much. I gave him a reduced dose of insulin at 6 a.m. but he still had no interest in moving around or eating/drinking. I brought water bowl to him and he put his head in it, but couldn't make the movements to drink. By 7 a.m. I started to get scared.
I called the clinic to ask if his hydrocephalus was having an effect on the anesthesia wearing off. She said Drs. she spoke to wanted him in.
My vet is a bit of a drive and this suddenly became an emergency. His body started to feel a bit cold but he was hanging in there. I talked and sang to him hoping he'd let me get there in time. At the clinic, the staff whisked him away and the Dr. said he looked rough, but they were working on him....
When the Dr. returned, the look on his face said it all. His bg was over 700, 2/3 of his kidneys were not functioning, his blood pressure was so low it would not register. He said he would make efforts to treat him, but that it was "futile" because there was so much going on and shock was setting in. It wasn't likely he'd survive.
I was not prepared to have to make this decision today. I had a small amount of time to say goodbye to my boy, give him kisses, and let him know how much I loved him so. I cradled him while he gently crossed over. I never imagined he would leave me this way. I always thought he would succumb to the acromegaly.
Something went wrong during last nights procedure. It wasn't lethargy at all, his body was shutting down from the point of discharge. Was it from anesthesia? We will never know. He spread his paw apart when I started petting him while we waited to get admitted ...I hope it was because he knew mama was trying her best.
Fly free my handsome boy...11 years gone by too soon. This feels unbearable.
I loved you like there was no tomorrow....
and then one day, there wasn't.
Yesterday Peek-a-Boo could not pass stool. I managed his chronic constipation with Miralax and lactulose, but yesterday he strained and produced nothing. My nephew had a musical program in the evening, and I decided when I returned, if there still was nothing, I would take him in.
Got home. No stool. We went to the emergency and the vet on duty said he was indeed constipated and a quick sedation and enema, along with small amount of fluids should do it, and we'd be on our way...piece of cake. It was a busy night there and we got home around midnight. I was relieved that he would soon start to feel better, and so I lined my bedroom floor with piddle pads to prepare for the mess that was to come. Peeks crawled out of his carrier and stumbled a few feet before laying down...typical of anesthesia wearing off. Vet said lethargy was to be expected. I knew this.
I checked on him periodically and he moved from pad to pad making a mess, but for most of the night he didn't move much. I gave him a reduced dose of insulin at 6 a.m. but he still had no interest in moving around or eating/drinking. I brought water bowl to him and he put his head in it, but couldn't make the movements to drink. By 7 a.m. I started to get scared.
I called the clinic to ask if his hydrocephalus was having an effect on the anesthesia wearing off. She said Drs. she spoke to wanted him in.
My vet is a bit of a drive and this suddenly became an emergency. His body started to feel a bit cold but he was hanging in there. I talked and sang to him hoping he'd let me get there in time. At the clinic, the staff whisked him away and the Dr. said he looked rough, but they were working on him....
When the Dr. returned, the look on his face said it all. His bg was over 700, 2/3 of his kidneys were not functioning, his blood pressure was so low it would not register. He said he would make efforts to treat him, but that it was "futile" because there was so much going on and shock was setting in. It wasn't likely he'd survive.
I was not prepared to have to make this decision today. I had a small amount of time to say goodbye to my boy, give him kisses, and let him know how much I loved him so. I cradled him while he gently crossed over. I never imagined he would leave me this way. I always thought he would succumb to the acromegaly.
Something went wrong during last nights procedure. It wasn't lethargy at all, his body was shutting down from the point of discharge. Was it from anesthesia? We will never know. He spread his paw apart when I started petting him while we waited to get admitted ...I hope it was because he knew mama was trying her best.
Fly free my handsome boy...11 years gone by too soon. This feels unbearable.
I loved you like there was no tomorrow....
and then one day, there wasn't.


